We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feliz Ano Novo in Lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Bairro B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Bairro B&B to your Saves list
Casa do Bairro B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 146 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Liebefeld
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Feliz Ano Novo in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Lisbon around new jears 2012/13. We had a very good time at the Casa do bairro. Its is in the lover Bairoo alto and pretty good location (close to a cool mirador overlooking the Tejo). We`got a drink, a very warm welcom and a lot of information before we settled in our room. Very nice interior with a lot of cool and funky art. The breakfast is good, with a choice of Portugiese sweets some ham cheese, .... on sundays even with some extras. Theres a selfservice bar and fridge outside on the roof theres a small but nice terrace ( if weather is warm), Thats would be my prefered "green room", while the indoor space for everyone (front desk breakfast area ist a bit small, and less cosy to sit when coming back at night. But this really is detail! The staff was very freindly and there for when we dah questions, or reservations to make. About Computer and all that jazz. The is one device and a W-Lan but that one was not strong enough to serve the room. I used my smartphone anyway. Iwould go back right away

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    59
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
307
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good location near train, tram and metro connections - and yet in a nice and quiet resindential area. Short walk from interesting shops, bars and restaurants.

The room was spacious, clean and cheerfully colourful. The breakfast was good, especially if you like sweet things.

The B&B manager was very active in offering help and advice (maps, restaurant hints and reservations, etc.).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a quirky B&B decorated with an eclectic mix of modern and shabby chic furniture and various works of art in a part of town that was not too salubrious as the surroundings were covered in graffitti.
In fact most of Lisbon was covered in graffitti which does not give a great initial impression to any visitor.
At the bottom of the steep hill there is the tram stop number 28 which is very quaint and it passes several landmarks.
The Lisboa Viva card was great value at 6 Euro daily,as it allowed non stop travel on the excellent metro service and the trams and cable cars.

The room was simply and tastefully decorated and clean.
The bed was a standard double and there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the form of a kettle in the room,but this may the norm in Portugal, so I would advise a travel kettle.
The bathroom was lovely with a fantastic power shower and loads of piping hot water which was great after a days walking around the sights.

Unfortunately sleep quality was not very good as there was a couple in the room next door who would be very noisy as they tried to open their room later at night as well as loudly closing various bits of furniture and arguing at the top of their voices,which is no fault of the establishment but just bad manners on their part.

Breakfasts were taken downstairs in the rustic dining area.It was a self service with a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad and lots of homebaked pastries and bread with butter and honey.
The hosts were charming and nothing was too much bother for them and they went out of their way to offer excellent service and advice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Casa do Bairro for two nights on our way to Sintra. I would rate this B&B a little above average. The building itself is tastefully decorated and is clean. Our room was comfortable and we were able to get a good night's sleep. We also found the managers to be very friendly and helpful.

On the negative side is the location. It is very difficult for taxi drivers to find. Also, I wouldn't consider the neighborhood to be the best. There is graffiti everywhere and the adjacent building is abandoned and collapsing. (There are steel girders surrounding the building so the falling walls will fall inward instead of on someone's head.) However, it is easy to get the trolley from there although you must be aware of pickpockets on that particular trolley. We were targeted twice on the same day by two different groups. Luckily we were able to thwart their efforts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Absolutely perfect place to stay if you don't want the hotel scene. We arrived quite late as our flight was delayed and were warmly greeted by Marco, who checked us in and gave us a run down of the neighborhood, restaurant recommendations and directions to the nearest transportation. The place is tastefully decorated with fabulous art, and Marco explained the honor system for the stocked fridge complete with beer and wine.
The room we stayed in was spacious yet cozy and the shower was fantastic. In the morning we met Hugo who was extremely helpful and charming, and there was an array of breakfast treats including croissants, pastries, breads, cereals, fresh melon and pineapple, coffee, juice and tea. It was raining and they offered us an umbrella so we could go out and stay dry.
I would highly recommend Casa do Bairro for it's warm, friendly service, cozy and clean atmosphere and you can't beat the location. 10 mins walk from Baixa-Chiado metro, around the corner from the famous 28 tram. There is a great wine bar up the street as well as restaurants, coffee shops and a miradour with a fantastic view of the river and the bridge. Seriously, if you are going to stay in Lisbon, stay here. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arriving at night, weaving through dark lanes, we weren't sure what we had got ourselves into. Though Casa do Bairro turned out to be a real find. If you want something deep in the real Lisbon, with a lot of local feel, this is perfect. An old home restored and Newly curated with sympathetic style. there is a tram close by though most attractions are within an energetic walk.
Magda and her team were warmly and genuinely helpful and very welcoming.
Great continental breakfasts with scrambled eggs fr the non continental types. good sized rooms and vey quiet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here in July. As mentioned in previous reviews, it's hard to find. Despite having the instructions from the website printed and giving them to the taxi driver, he still didn't seem to know where it was. Eventually got there - taxis in Lisbon are cheap. We were greeted by Magda who showed us our rooms and then sat us down to explain what we should do and see in Lisbon. We followed up on a lot of her recommendations.

We had two rooms which were individually decorated. Both rooms were a good size and very clean. The breakfast was adequate. We were usually down for breakfast towards the end of the sitting and found that we had to ask for plates or bowls and sometimes for food too as there wasn't much left some morning. Cakes were good.

Location wise, it's ok. Be aware that its at the bottom of quite a step hill. We found that we generally walked around the corner and got a tram up the hill. It was entertaining trying to buy the tram tickets from the shop around the corner because we spoke no Portuguese and they spoke no English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Bairro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro B&B

Address: Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, wireless internet, Cable TV. Open-air patio and terrasse. 5 minutes from Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa do Bairro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Bairro B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.