We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses to your Saves list
Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 170 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here in July. As mentioned in previous reviews, it's hard to find. Despite having the instructions from the website printed and giving them to the taxi driver, he still didn't seem to know where it was. Eventually got there - taxis in Lisbon are cheap. We were greeted by Magda who showed us our rooms and then sat us down to explain what we should do and see in Lisbon. We followed up on a lot of her recommendations.

We had two rooms which were individually decorated. Both rooms were a good size and very clean. The breakfast was adequate. We were usually down for breakfast towards the end of the sitting and found that we had to ask for plates or bowls and sometimes for food too as there wasn't much left some morning. Cakes were good.

Location wise, it's ok. Be aware that its at the bottom of quite a step hill. We found that we generally walked around the corner and got a tram up the hill. It was entertaining trying to buy the tram tickets from the shop around the corner because we spoke no Portuguese and they spoke no English.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    67
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
107
338
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from a lovely trip to Spain and Portugal. In Lisbon we stayed at Casa do Bairro for 5 nights and it became our home almost overnight! From the first meeting with Juao, Magda and Hugo to our last goodbye (when Magda lugged my heavy suitcase single handedly up the stairs), I I can only say good things about this gem of a B&B. We were initially booked into the Alfama room at the top of the stairs but after a casual conversation with Hugo about whether all the rooms had the same rate, he instantly called up his reservations and switched us to a roomier suite (203) with views of the sea (at the same rate we booked at). The perfect daily breakfast with homemade treats and the espresso on hand made it feel just like home. We would highly recommend Casa do Bairro to anyone looking for a good base in Lisbon to explore, eat and shop. (The only warning would be that you should be relatively mobile as it is at the base of a steep cobbled stone street that may prove difficult for some). Oh yes... and let me not forget the delicious meal by Zulmira at their other property Mount Belvedere down the road. It was the perfect introduction to fine Portugese cooking and a range of amazing wines. Thank you Magda, Joao and Hugo once again.. we will be back!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the top are more private though the stairs with luggage take some maneuvering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our room was spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The bathroom was exquisite. The breakfast was satisfactory. This B&B was terribly difficult to find as the address is a a small lane which doesn't seem to be on street maps or the GPS. Even taxi drivers seem to be unable to find it. The directions should incorporate the relevant house number and street name of the nearest residence in the neighbouring street. It was a shame that this B&B had no one in attendance on the premises for the afternoon and evening during our stay. When there the young man was helpful.

Room Tip: Ring before arriving to clarify the exact location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soto del Real, Madrid
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

...from the rooms (which are beautifully decorated), to the location (within walking distance to everything you want to see in Lisbon), to the breakfast (a wonderful variety of delicious homemade baked sweets and savories) and most importantly your host, Magna. For us, she truly made the trip special! She was a wealth of information and always greeted us with a smile. We left knowing that we had made a new friend. Being Bed & Breakfast owners ourselves, we highly recommend staying at Casa do Bairro!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have just spent the last 4 days, 5 nights at Casa do Bairro in Lisbon. The team who look after you at this B&B are quite something. Without exception, they are all charming, polite, unbelievably helpful and friendly. We just returned to our room after having dinner on our last night here at their nearby property Belvedere ( a 5 minute stroll from Casa do Bairro) where Zulmira cooked us the most delicious 4 course meal and Daniel served the food and accompanying wines ( green, white, red and Port to finish.) We have eaten in several places in Lisbon in the days we have been here, but nothing could beat this wonderful, warm experience. Our stay in Lisbon has been made all the better by the team at this great B&B and we would like to thank them all. You must stay here and you MUST have dinner cooked by Zulmira on one of your evenings in Lisbon. One of life's lovely experiences!

Room Tip: We did originally have the room at the top of the property but the sloping ceilings were an issue fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful spot right next to Bairro Alto. Rooms are clean, modern, quiet, warm, and very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful view out to the water as well. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

magda is a loving and very welcoming person , she advised us to exelent restaurants and venues
we are very happy to have stayed in casa bairro exelent condicions for a fair price
hope to come back tyo lisbon soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Britania Hotel
Britania Hotel
#2 of 228 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
0.1 mi away
Casa do Patio - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Whatever Art Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Late Birds Lisbon
The Late Birds Lisbon
#2 of 170 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 170 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses

Address: Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses started in 2007 and is a trademark for "refined" guesthouses, combining the provision of comfort and elegance with a customer service completely dedicated to each of its customers. The Casa do Bairro by Shaidu, only a 5-minute walk away from Chiado, Bairro Alto and the No. 28 Cable Car to Alfama, opened in the spring of 2009. It was in that major apartment complex, with its 11 double, triple and family-sized suites, that our first guests got a taste of our very characteristic Lisboan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Bairro - Shiadu Boutique Guesthouses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.