We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-hidden jewel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Bairro B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Bairro B&B to your Saves list
Casa do Bairro B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A well-hidden jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our room was spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The bathroom was exquisite. The breakfast was satisfactory. This B&B was terribly difficult to find as the address is a a small lane which doesn't seem to be on street maps or the GPS. Even taxi drivers seem to be unable to find it. The directions should incorporate the relevant house number and street name of the nearest residence in the neighbouring street. It was a shame that this B&B had no one in attendance on the premises for the afternoon and evening during our stay. When there the young man was helpful.

Room Tip: Ring before arriving to clarify the exact location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    59
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
311
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Soto del Real, Madrid
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

...from the rooms (which are beautifully decorated), to the location (within walking distance to everything you want to see in Lisbon), to the breakfast (a wonderful variety of delicious homemade baked sweets and savories) and most importantly your host, Magna. For us, she truly made the trip special! She was a wealth of information and always greeted us with a smile. We left knowing that we had made a new friend. Being Bed & Breakfast owners ourselves, we highly recommend staying at Casa do Bairro!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Have just spent the last 4 days, 5 nights at Casa do Bairro in Lisbon. The team who look after you at this B&B are quite something. Without exception, they are all charming, polite, unbelievably helpful and friendly. We just returned to our room after having dinner on our last night here at their nearby property Belvedere ( a 5 minute stroll from Casa do Bairro) where Zulmira cooked us the most delicious 4 course meal and Daniel served the food and accompanying wines ( green, white, red and Port to finish.) We have eaten in several places in Lisbon in the days we have been here, but nothing could beat this wonderful, warm experience. Our stay in Lisbon has been made all the better by the team at this great B&B and we would like to thank them all. You must stay here and you MUST have dinner cooked by Zulmira on one of your evenings in Lisbon. One of life's lovely experiences!

Room Tip: We did originally have the room at the top of the property but the sloping ceilings were an issue fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautiful spot right next to Bairro Alto. Rooms are clean, modern, quiet, warm, and very comfortable. Our room had a beautiful view out to the water as well. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

magda is a loving and very welcoming person , she advised us to exelent restaurants and venues
we are very happy to have stayed in casa bairro exelent condicions for a fair price
hope to come back tyo lisbon soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a sweet B&B in the middle of Bairro Alto. The location is perfect. We were able to walk everywhere! However, the best part of this place is the staff. Everybody was extremely friendly. They helped us with everything and made us feel at home.
The breakfast was great too. They had amazing little cakes :)

We are coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast (everything homemade: jam, chocolate, bread, fresh juice), very comf. rooms, beautiful place in general, with a big lemon tree and very nice design. super location to explore Lisbon. nothing to complain at all :)))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Bairro B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Bairro B&B

Address: Beco do Caldeira, no 1 | Cruzamento com Rua Fernandes Tomás, Santa Catarina, Lisbon 1200-084, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Bairro B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, wireless internet, Cable TV. Open-air patio and terrasse. 5 minutes from Chiado and Bairro Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa do Bairro B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Do Bairro Bed And Breakfast And Apartments
Casa Do Bairro b&b And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Bairro B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.