We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fado experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Linhares

Casa de Linhares
2 Beco dos Armazens do Linho, Lisbon 1100-037, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,322 of 2,538 Restaurants in Lisbon
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Fado experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a great experience! The setting is beautiful. The restaurant is place is a renovated palace and the decoration really contributes to the experience. The food is good, but not exceptional. The fado singers on the oher hand are exceptional! They have a good range of Fado singers (male, female, modern, classic) and the gitar players were awesome! Some of the portugese guest started crying during some of the performances. Apparantly we even had a Fado singeres celebrity preforming to us (according to our portugese friend). This was a great experience and I can recommend it to anyone who wants to listen ot Fado music,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    27
    12
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fado in a cool setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I traveled to Lisbon with 17 high school students and we set aside an evening for dinner and fado at Casa de Linhares. We weren't sure which place to choose for fado, but knew we wanted it to be in the Alfama neighborhood and not solely for tourists. I was extremely pleased that we chose this place as we all enjoyed our food and the music. We had an 8:30 reservation and stayed until 11:30 or so. Although this was relatively pricey for us (around 60 Euros per person), that includes the music, which was excellent. All of us (even the picky eaters) enjoyed the food and the performances are spaced out throughout the evening. A singer would perform 3 songs and then there would be a period of time for dinner service before the next performance of 3 songs and so on. Throughout the evening, we saw 5 different singers with the same talented musicians. All were very talented and they saved the best for last - so stick around! It was a great way to see several singers (male & female) to get a good sampling of the way different performers approach the intense and heartfelt music. It was truly a special evening. Don't worry if you do not understand Portugese, the emotion conveyed really gets the message across! Additionally, the room itself adds to the experience, the high,vaulted brick ceilings make you feel as if you are back in time. Check out the wine cellar tucked in the back of the room. Service was professional. Not a place to rush through dinner. We had a hard time finding the restaurant, so give yourself extra time to wander the streets in search. We enjoyed the adventure as the Alfama is a cool area to wander. I'd go back again if I was in Lisbon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great first fado experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I had gone before to tascas to listen to fado vadio, but never had a meal at a fado house.
Have to say I really liked the experience. The ambience is great and the fado was awsome!
They have really good fado singers here, like Fábia Rebordão, and guitar players like Jorge Fernando. Also is really nice to listen to Cidália Moreira, an older and well known fado singer because of how she interprets the lyrics of the songs. She is a character! And puts on a show!
The only thing I was afraid of was the quality of the food. Have to say I was really surprised in a good way. The food is simple but really well done. I shared the "Bacalhau à Gomes de Sá", the "Bochechas de Porco de coentrada", and for dessert the "Mouse de figo com rum". It was a really yummi dinner for around 35 euros per person.
It's really worth going. An experience to repeat!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to enjoy an evening of Fado music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We read a number of the reviews and the fado places recommended in several travel books but settled on Casa de Linhares at our hotel's recommendation. It was nice, the food was good and the prices were reasonable in comparison to other evenings out in Lisbon. The performances were good, each about 10-15 minutes so that the servers could continue to serve. There were 4 different singers. It was easy to get to, a few blocks from the metro. All in all, it was a nice evening, not glamorous or the best meal we've ever had, but it was a nice and reasonable place to experience Fado.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Upscale Fado place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was a great experience for someone like me that takes music seriously. Here you really listen to the music, immerse in the feeling and are occasionally invited to join in singing. At least on this evening the feeling was rather good with about half of the tables filled with Portugese people.

Many different artists during the evening performing with the same two guitar players. All singers and the players were excellent!!!

Regarding the food, the filled mushrooms were good, the Portuguese styled veal absolutely excellent and the pannacotta with raspberry jam ok. It came to abut 60 € with drinks and cover charge. There is also a fixed price menu for 45€ including cover and drinks. The only complaint I have is that one liter bottle of water (if you don't take the menu) is 4,50 and it is a little hard to refuse it.

The service was nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Linhares also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Casa de Linhares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Linhares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.