We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there unless you don't care how much you spend.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parreirinha de Alfama

Parreirinha de Alfama
Beco Do Espirito Santo, 1 | Near by Fado Museum, Lisbon 1100-222, Portugal
+351 21 886 8209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #554 of 2,625 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $39 - $45
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oldest Fado House in Alfama, with 64 years old.
Mortagua, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there unless you don't care how much you spend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a waiter at another Lisbon place that we have frequented several times to our satisfaction, as a good place to hear Fado music. We made a reservation and were told that it was a minimum charge of 15 euros, which was acceptable. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive, the venue small and interesting. The music was better than some we have heard, but not stunning. We were not shown a menu, just told what dishes were available, rice and vegetables being the vegetarian option. In fact, the dish was only rice and green beans, really OK with me as I like simple food. The other members of the group were happy enough with their meals. The shock came when the bill was produced, which came to 189 euros for 4 people, including 40 euros for the rice & beans!!!! We were so shocked that we didn't even know how to begin arguing. We also felt incredibly stupid for not having asked for a menu or price list before ordering. Honestly, we've had such lovely experiences in Portugal over the 3 years that we have lived here, this was completely out of character and unexpected. It seems a real betrayal of the "tourists" who provide these people with a living and after they had been so "genuinely" friendly. It made us very sad and we will certainly never go there again and will tell as many people as possible about this rip-off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    20
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicoutimi, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive and not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place was recommended in a travel guide, so we searched for a while before we could find it (pretty hard to find a place in Alfama!). Staff wasn't particularly friendly and almost didn't speak English (which I never mind when people are friendly!). No vegetarian option and it didn't seem like they wanted to make an effort to accomodate. Everyone's meal was pretty average and in the end, turned out to be very expensive. Wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The definition of terrible! Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had been to this restaunt in 2008, and at the time I liked it a lot. So in 2013 I was on a trip to Lisbon and decided to take a friend there. I read the reviews here before and thought "it can´t have gotten so much worse!".

BAD MISTAKE!

I went there and had the worse service, food and music ever. Actually, the music is OK, but by the time they start singing the rudeness of the staff and the terrible food have already ruined the experience.

I arrived early, at around 8pm, and the waitress kept coming to our table and insisted we order someting. So we ordered an expensive wine, to justify the cover, and after she brought it, she still insisted we ordered food. We said we could share something, because we were not hungry, and she said it was not possible, each of us had to order something. So we did. I left 99% of the food on the plate because it was terrible. I´m sure it was a leftover from a previous day, because it tasted like microwave. So an hour later the waitress came to pick up the dishes and she demanded an explanation as to why we left so much food on the place. It was unreal!!! Oh, and at last, we asked for the COMPLAINTS BOOK (as stated on the menu) and they said we could only write at the exit. Since the show ended up late and it was raining, we left quickly to get a taxi, and didn´t write on the book. DO NOT RECCOMEND! Trust Trip Advisor!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It is ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I guess it is difficult to find a place with Fado that is not catering to tourists unless you know some locals.
The restaurant is in the Alfama and we meandered through it to get there.as we were staying near The Castelle. Quite an adventure even with very detailed directions. Of course I am sure there are easier ways to find the place. We did it at night and are not young anymore and felt safe though one of the locals told me to watch my purse.

It is a relatively small restaurant where they pack you in. They are definitely there for the tourists. The waitress was not that friendly and quite pushy trying to get us to order more dishes and wine. There were two large groups there and they were quite busy. The food was good but served lukewarm.

The show is pleasant,.there were 3 singers, taking turn and 3 musicians. They perform several times during the evening. It was just ok. The price are higher than a regular restaurant but that makes sense since it includes the show.

I should think that there are better places for Fado.in Lisbon

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A saccharine tourist experience - the death of Fado”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were quite looking forward to being exposed to Fado and with a big recommendation from Lonely Planet we were happy to have a reservation for this place. Finding the PdA in Alfama's bico area was the highlight and sadly it was all downhill from there. The restaurant itself is a lovely cellar space but the service was cold and austere and the food relatively bland. We did have an interesting seafood stew (prawns and fish with rice in a fish stock spiced with cloves and cinnamon) but it needed something more to break the monotony. Then the Fado started.....
Two old gents provided guitar and mandolin backing for a variety of singers who did sets of 3-4 songs. During the fourth set one of the patrons in a large tour group kept on talking (obviously Fado was not his thing) this ended with the guitarist abusing him as the performers walked off. Everyone sensing a somewhat awkward moment abandoned the place and the evening ended abruptly and very early.
I had the impression that the Fado performers had a high sense of the respect that the audience should provide and all of us were punished for the rudeness of one person. Given that the audience was entirely made up of tourists and probably at their first Fado experience a bit of background/context would have been good and could have helped set their expectations of the audience. As it was it was fairly fake experience and I got the sense that if this was Fado, then it is a dying genre being kept alive in a theme experience for tourists. Hopefully I am wrong and suggest that you look for a place with some locals present.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parreirinha de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Parreirinha de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parreirinha de Alfama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.