We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, choose somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal (Formerly VIP Inn Veneza Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #161 of 227 Hotels in Lisbon
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, choose somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room 108 - terrible, wardrobe like a cubby-hole, shower very small and dirty, plastic curtain, I waited till we returned home. Breakfast - very strange coffee. Reception: did not want to know, referred us to tourist office rather than giving simple info. Police station next door to Tourist office: many tourists waiting to have their tales recorded. A few steps down from the hotel: druggies/winos - they were peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    75
    53
    22
    6
See reviews for
16
88
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is my second stay at the Veneza. Last stay I was with my family four years ago, and our two rooms faced the main street. We found the rooms then a bit noisy due to traffic. During this stay, I was travelling solo and was given a room on the ground floor facing the back alley. It was much quieter but a bit dark as the sun did not reach the window where my room was located. Nothing to complain about in the room, but nothing to rave about either. The accomodation was adequate. The breakfast buffet was a bit leaner than what I remember from the previous stay. In fact, for the price they charge for the breakfast, I think you could do a bit better by eating down the road. There is a fascinating little place on the same side of the street about a block and a half away. All the locals seem to eat there. Many grab a bite and stand at the counter. Anyways, I tried it after having the hotel's buffet for a couple of days and being a little disappointed.
For me, the best part of this hotel is the location. The drop off and pick up for the bus to the airport is just a few metres away. Plus it is an easy walk to the historic area .
The front desk staff were okay. Some were friendly and helpful. Others were a little stiff. My stay lasted 4 nights so I experienced a variety of staff.
Would I stay here again? Probably. But definitely I would suggest to grab breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I wrote about Veneza before.
Well, we went back again, and the status is the same: Good price, clean room, nice staff. The rugs are still a little bit worn out, but so are mine at home too, so I guess I´m used to it....
OK, the air condition did not work optimally, but I am glad for that: It is easy to turn it on all the way up when the temperature is above 25 C, and that´s when you really get sick. So thanks for not working so well.

Otherwise the breakfast is still overpriced, we get a good one in a coffeehouse some 100 m down the street.

The staff is very helpful too, we had a light problem when we needed to extend our stay for a week, but the General Manager dona Carla solved our problems in a blink.

I still cannot understand why some people complain about the staff... In Portugal, you need to give a smile to receive one. That shouldn´t be difficult to achieve?

Room Tip: As usual: Second floor and not facing the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The positive side of this hotel is the location. The rooms are relatively clean.
However, I did not like the staff at the reception desk. They first put us in a tiny room with a window looking at other windows - in the sense that you could literally reach the windows opposite your room just by stretching your arm. (They did change our room to a better one - although not a really nice one - when we requested it). One male concierge was really awkward: he did not speak to me (a female), but only spoke to my male partner even when I was the one speaking directly to him. We asked him to suggest a nice, relatively cheap, non-touristy place to eat near by, and he gave us a leaflet for an obviously very touristy, very expensive place across the town. All in all, we felt that he really treated us like we were stupid tourists just waiting to be scammed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in late May 2012 as a start to our month long trip through Portugal.

We enjoyed our stay here.

The hotel is clean and the room we had was a good size.
Although the hotel is on a busy street, there are trees that act as a sound buffer.
There was a small balcony that served as a clothesline for our laundry; it dried very well.
A great positive is that the bus from the airport stops about 2 blocks from the hotel. The bus fare is only 3.5€ per person, much cheaper than a cab.
The location is ideal for sight seeing; only a 10 minute walk from the water front.

On the negative side,

they charge 8€ per person for breakfast which is really expensive. As you exit the front door of the hotel, turn right and there is a fabulous pastry shop 100 yards down the street on the same side as the hotel where you can have a breakfast of pastry and coffee for 2 for about 6€.

they charge for internet access. Hotels have to get over this policy. Even small family run B&B's in rural northern Portugal provided free WiFi in common areas.

the bed was rock hard. Both of us had sore hips after spending 4 nights here

all in all a pretty good place to stay in Lisbon. Include breakfast in cost of the room, add WiFi for free in common areas, soften the mattresses and it would be an excellent choice far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked in for three nights; first night got a tiny rooftop room with single pane windows and heard every car going down the avenue. Second night had a room in the back hoping for quiet night.

When I returned from dinner after a rainy evening, found the carpet soaking by the window and the rather unpleasant stink of wet flooring. Had a friend booked to stay here too but their room was also flooded so had to be re roomed in another hotel.

Staff was very friendly and offered breakfast for my inconvenience but not sure I will be up in time to enjoy there offer as it is almost three in the AM and disco music has been blaring for the last few hours...

Too many good hotels in Lisbon to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel

Address: Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal (Formerly VIP Inn Veneza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 227 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel is located on Avenida da Liberdade, one of the main arteries of the Portuguese capital. Its privileged location allows you to reach the historic center and emblematic areas as Baixa, Bairro Alto and Alfama in a few minutes. The hotel benefits from the proximity to renowned local businesses and shops of the most famous international brands as well as monuments, bars and pubs, typical restaurants, recreational spaces for culture and leisure. All provided with an excellent network of public transport (train, bus and metro). Lisbon Airport is at approximately 10 minutes away either by taxi or car. In the Hotel's surroundings, you can also enjoy the belvederes that provide an amazingly panoramic view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ever Lisboa - City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.