We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Inn Veneza Hotel

Save Saved
You added VIP Inn Veneza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VIP Inn Veneza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 141 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stay elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Booked in for three nights; first night got a tiny rooftop room with single pane windows and heard every car going down the avenue. Second night had a room in the back hoping for quiet night.

When I returned from dinner after a rainy evening, found the carpet soaking by the window and the rather unpleasant stink of wet flooring. Had a friend booked to stay here too but their room was also flooded so had to be re roomed in another hotel.

Staff was very friendly and offered breakfast for my inconvenience but not sure I will be up in time to enjoy there offer as it is almost three in the AM and disco music has been blaring for the last few hours...

Too many good hotels in Lisbon to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    67
    50
    20
    5
See reviews for
16
80
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I read some of the reviews from other travellers, and I really do not understand why people are so negative.
Well, it´s thrue that the hotel has seen better days, and the carpets are a bit worn-out. On the other hand, the rooms were clean and the personal were kind – being born in Portugal, I know how Portuguese people think, and they are not rude unless the guest is rude towards them. My advice is to smile when you talk to them, even if you know that you are right and they are way out wrong. It helps, believe me.

Positive: Clean, helpfull staff, central in town.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that they charge €8,50 per person for breakfast. Not far from the hotel, going down the street, stop at the nearest coffee shop. Ask for a "galao" and a "tosta mista", and you´ll get a glass of coffee with milk (yes, a glass) and a toast with ham and cheese for less then €4 per person.

And if you like good Portuguese food at a low price, just keep on walking down the avenue until it gets narrow. Then cross the street and walk in the small street in front of you. On the right hand there is a restaurant called Sol Dourado. My favorite.

Room Tip: The higher up in the building, the better. And if you don´t mind, choose a room that opens to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel was booked by the love of my life and following our stay I loved her just a little bit less. We stayed here for the first 3 nights as part of a 7 night stay in and around Lisbon. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very young chap in an ill fitting suit and his demeanour was somber and uninterested to say the least. Our room was on the small size and the air con unit blew a token gesture breeze that meant I would at least shed a few pounds during the stay. When we mentioned that the air con unit was not working correctly were we met with two grunts and a shrug of the shoulders by the 666 scribed teen. Upon requesting a fork and knife one evening I was informed that it was 'against hotel policy' to lend such items. The location of the hotel was good and the customer service of the young chaps actually became quite an amusing experience. Were they just uncomfortable in their changing bodies or were they just rude, unhelpful gits? Wht underpinned the stay was the feeling that we were not welcome and our comfort was bottom of the staffs list of concerns The nice staircase is ropped off also, nicht gut.

Room Tip: Not at the VIP Veneza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel is in a good location (with public transportation right there), and the price is good...but don't be fooled by the pictures on their website, they need to do some major renovations.

The room was large and so was the restroom, so at first glance we were happy, but as soon as you actually look at the carpet or chairs in the room you can see just how old and unpleasant they are. There were stains all over the chairs, parts of the carpet that were beyond worn out, and an overall feel of "old" in the rooms. Also, the bathroom was just embarrassing! The sink leaked onto the counter. All of the creams and toothbrushes that we placed on the counter were wet. We used extra towels just to keep the water under control. The toilet seat on our toilet bowl did not FIT! Who installs a toilet seat on a toilet bowl where every time you sit down you feel the bowl on your legs because the seat is too small? It was also loose! Seriously, that's just rude to do that to your guests.

And finally, we had a major ANT PROBLEM in our bathroom. There were three of us and on the very first few days we EACH saw (and/or killed) about 4 ants, so I can only imagine how many of them we didn't see? We should have said something the very first day (and wish we had), but I think it is IMPOSSIBLE that the maids (and probably management) did not know about this problem. I mean, if you were in the bathroom for more than a few minutes you'd see the ants, so we assumed the maid had to know! We finally broke down and told them about the problem, and they said we could move to another room. We didn't want to move at this point, and the ants did seem to disappear after we told them (I wish I knew what they used to get rid of them, or was it coincidence?), but I still feel that there is no way they did not know about this problem (which is why we didn't bother to say something in the beginning).

We took the breakfast a few times and it was decent. Not great (and I think overpriced for what you get), but should be fine for most people.

Overall, I guess it's true what they say: you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is more modern (if they have one) and that doesn't have an ant problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in 2008 and we had a comfortable room. So we returned in October this year and were given a garret with a sloping ceiling, a shower that did not function and the room was stuffy. The breakfast was second rate and the coffee was undrinkable. To top it all, the staff on reception were surly. We shall not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I arrived a day earlier in Lisbon than my wife and friend and needed a conveniently located hotel at a reasonable price for one night. As the title or the review states, you get exactly what you pay for. The cost was 50euros for a single room (single bed, TV, shower, and bathroom). It is not a 4 or 5 star hotel where they are going to wait on you hand and foot...there is not going to be someone there to turn down your bed, rub your feet, and ensure that it is the best hotel you have ever stayed at. The room is not going to have new furnishings or flat-screen TVs in every corner. However, for 50euros I had a clean room, a bed (bring your own pillow as this one was basically like a thin piece of paper...but all european pillows seem that way to me coming from the US), a TV, and a private bath. It was easily walkable to the center of Lisbon. It was easily accessable from the AeroBus #1 coming from the airport or by car (had to do both). There is parking nearby, a couple of outdoor bars/cafes, etc. I spent most of the day walking around town and only used the room to shower and sleep. It fit all of my needs at a price that was reasonable. Would I stay here for more than one night and not on a budget...no. But, if you are just looking for a place to rest your head and get cleaned up...than this is the place for you. FYI..don't get the breakfast....for 8.50euros, go walk around and get something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIP Inn Veneza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Veneza Hotel

Address: Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Veneza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect combination between the present and the past, the VIP Inn Veneza Hotel with 35 rooms is an old small palace from the XIX Century with a unique design, offering comfort, enchanting beauty and quality service. The VIP Inn Veneza Hotel is ideally located in one of the main avenues of Lisbon - the “Avenida da Liberdade”, and at just a few minutes from the Historical Centre and commercial area. At just a few meters from the main public transportation services, such as subway (Avenida), “Santa Apolónia” train station (1km) and bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and HostelBookers so you can book your VIP Inn Veneza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Inn Veneza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.