We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price and Location, but Needs Major Renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIP Inn Veneza Hotel

Save Saved
You added VIP Inn Veneza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
VIP Inn Veneza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 136 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Price and Location, but Needs Major Renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel is in a good location (with public transportation right there), and the price is good...but don't be fooled by the pictures on their website, they need to do some major renovations.

The room was large and so was the restroom, so at first glance we were happy, but as soon as you actually look at the carpet or chairs in the room you can see just how old and unpleasant they are. There were stains all over the chairs, parts of the carpet that were beyond worn out, and an overall feel of "old" in the rooms. Also, the bathroom was just embarrassing! The sink leaked onto the counter. All of the creams and toothbrushes that we placed on the counter were wet. We used extra towels just to keep the water under control. The toilet seat on our toilet bowl did not FIT! Who installs a toilet seat on a toilet bowl where every time you sit down you feel the bowl on your legs because the seat is too small? It was also loose! Seriously, that's just rude to do that to your guests.

And finally, we had a major ANT PROBLEM in our bathroom. There were three of us and on the very first few days we EACH saw (and/or killed) about 4 ants, so I can only imagine how many of them we didn't see? We should have said something the very first day (and wish we had), but I think it is IMPOSSIBLE that the maids (and probably management) did not know about this problem. I mean, if you were in the bathroom for more than a few minutes you'd see the ants, so we assumed the maid had to know! We finally broke down and told them about the problem, and they said we could move to another room. We didn't want to move at this point, and the ants did seem to disappear after we told them (I wish I knew what they used to get rid of them, or was it coincidence?), but I still feel that there is no way they did not know about this problem (which is why we didn't bother to say something in the beginning).

We took the breakfast a few times and it was decent. Not great (and I think overpriced for what you get), but should be fine for most people.

Overall, I guess it's true what they say: you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is more modern (if they have one) and that doesn't have an ant problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    111
    61
    28
    5
See reviews for
16
80
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in 2008 and we had a comfortable room. So we returned in October this year and were given a garret with a sloping ceiling, a shower that did not function and the room was stuffy. The breakfast was second rate and the coffee was undrinkable. To top it all, the staff on reception were surly. We shall not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I arrived a day earlier in Lisbon than my wife and friend and needed a conveniently located hotel at a reasonable price for one night. As the title or the review states, you get exactly what you pay for. The cost was 50euros for a single room (single bed, TV, shower, and bathroom). It is not a 4 or 5 star hotel where they are going to wait on you hand and foot...there is not going to be someone there to turn down your bed, rub your feet, and ensure that it is the best hotel you have ever stayed at. The room is not going to have new furnishings or flat-screen TVs in every corner. However, for 50euros I had a clean room, a bed (bring your own pillow as this one was basically like a thin piece of paper...but all european pillows seem that way to me coming from the US), a TV, and a private bath. It was easily walkable to the center of Lisbon. It was easily accessable from the AeroBus #1 coming from the airport or by car (had to do both). There is parking nearby, a couple of outdoor bars/cafes, etc. I spent most of the day walking around town and only used the room to shower and sleep. It fit all of my needs at a price that was reasonable. Would I stay here for more than one night and not on a budget...no. But, if you are just looking for a place to rest your head and get cleaned up...than this is the place for you. FYI..don't get the breakfast....for 8.50euros, go walk around and get something else.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

we have choosen this hotel becose of the good location but you can choose any hotel in the downetowne close to a metro or bus station, you don't need to bee about 1,6 km away from st Georges castel for example. even if you are 3 km away it's not a problem because the transportations are great in lisbon. The hotel is too old and it's not very clean. However the stuff was helpful.
Portugal is great with so much things to see... I love it

Room Tip: Not close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We visited Lisbon and stayed in this same hotel before. it is clean and comfortable with a reasonable price for the location. The room we had this time was a bit small, but for two adults, it was not a problem. The only issue was parking as we were told there we not any spots in the lot and had to pay for public parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Set on the tree lined Avenue da Liberdade, this small hotel offers good value for money. Our room was small but well appointed. Breakfast was OK. Parking is reasonable considering it is in central Lisbon. The hotel is situated near a range of restaurants, many of which are reasonably priced

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had noticed this place many years ago when last in Lisbon with it's spectacular staircase seen throught the glass street doors, the bar , restaurant and reception areas echo this feeling of opulence. Sadly this promise was not reflected in the room. The room supposedly a double, was tiny, the furnishings were tired, faded, and dirty (especially the net curtains were filthy), the bathroom was grim and unatractive with cracked tiles, stained surfaces and tatty towels - though the shower worked well the wall mounting for it could not hold it. The whole affair very shabby. The only good things about the room were the reasonably comfortable bed and the very effective sound proofing of the windows.
The staff were unfriendly and downright rude at times and we were supprised to be asked to pay upfront on arrival when our confirmation email said pay on departure - this was obviously because they knew the room was a disgrace. On departure they tried to say we had not paid for breakfast ( the breakfast was good) when we had paid and to charge us for mini bar items we had not had. Wifi was ludicrously expensive- a lot of hotels with star rating do it for free.
This hotel needs a major makeover of it's rooms to realise the promise of the entrance.

Room Tip: Don't pay on arrival view the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to VIP Inn Veneza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Veneza Hotel

Address: Av. da Liberdade, 189, Lisbon 1250-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Veneza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect combination between the present and the past, the VIP Inn Veneza Hotel with 35 rooms is an old small palace from the XIX Century with a unique design, offering comfort, enchanting beauty and quality service. The VIP Inn Veneza Hotel is ideally located in one of the main avenues of Lisbon - the “Avenida da Liberdade”, and at just a few minutes from the Historical Centre and commercial area. At just a few meters from the main public transportation services, such as subway (Avenida), “Santa Apolónia” train station (1km) and bus stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your VIP Inn Veneza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIP Inn Veneza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.