We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been disastrous” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments to your Saves list
Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Largo Conde Barao 18, Lisbon 1200-118, Portugal (Formerly Feel Good Apartments Conde Barao)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could have been disastrous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Booked this accommodation via ebookers and managed to secure a refund - because despite calling Portugal Ways ourselves a couple of days ahead of travel, and getting ebookers to contact them on our behalf, no entrance code was emailed as promised, no directions, no information, nothing...we travelled on a Sunday and phoned both offices again on arrival at the airport - nobody answered the phone! Booked into the Holiday Inn instead, and had a lovely holiday in Lisbon. But it could have been a disaster. Rated 1 out of 5 for customer service, since we never saw the apartment we booked.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
15
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

A week or so prior to travelling out to Lisbon, we thought best to read some reviews on a different site other than the one we booked with (namesake in the name).....Some would say why not do your research properly, well this time - i didn't and seriously regretted it.

As I write this, we are 3hrs into our stay and have already decided enough is enough and booked an extra day stay at our next destination in Evora.

Reading the reviews the other evening prompted me to attempt to cancel the booking and re-assess. No chance with the current policy of this accommodation operator.

Instead, I discussed with my partner and we agreed we'd have to just suck it and see....
So - that evening i contact the operator (portugalways) and expressed concern that not only had we had no details about arriving and gaining access, also that i was very apprehensive after reading other reviews but at least a few of them mentioned we'd have to contact the operator to get the entry codes.

These did come through quite timely - but i wonder what would have happened (or not) if i had not contacted them.
There was also some pretty good information in the pdf they sent - this was helpful.

However on arrival, we collected the hire car and punched in the details to the sat nav.

1hr and 30 minutes later and several heated discussions in the car - along with a 6yr old that was exhibiting sickness (albeit nothing to do with the situation - just a cold etc), I pulled over and asked a gentleman who was running a bar if he had any idea where this place was.

He was magic, he knew the unit which had pretty much had no sign-age and without him, would have been near impossible to find.
Ali even watched over the car whilst we unloaded and nipped up to the unit to unload.

Following this, I had a drink with Ali whilst waiting for a space to become free. This went on for some time. Following another half an hour i decided to have another drive about.
1hr 15 minutes later on - I was just at the end of it and dumped the car on the front of the promenade by the train stop.

10 minutes walk later, I Arrived at the unit - surprise there was loo roll, but nothing else.

I did joke to some colleagues this morning prior to flying out to Lisbon that we may be staying at Guest house Paradiso - I would rather have done so. Things where relatively clean in the apartment - the common stair case was a bit grotty...but....No facilities - not even basic milk, tea and coffee, kitchen roll.
Noise was pretty bad - but can't blame the operators on the behaviour of other guests.
WIFI was ok and pretty fast so that was the good point - this enabled an escape which essentially left us leaving 1 day early but this was going to ruin the holiday.

The apartment in general (despite being years old with lots of character) has not been looked after, having a sit down wee resulted in nose on opposite wall in the bathroom and generally reminded me of something out of the rising damp. Actually was thinking I felt less clean after showering than before :(.

Due to nothing being in the room i.e.. tea, coffee etc, and being 1230am in the morning, I ventured out and got some food, and some goodies from Ali's next door.
Had a wander around - the area would be OK if you were with a stag or hen party and still at uni.
Mind you there were quite a few mine sweepers and elder chaps zig zagging along the pavement - one of which tried to get in the main door when I unlocked it, so individuals beware. This certainly isn't and area to bring a 6yr old.

Please don't get me wrong - I'm not a moaner - but feel that a justified complaint is worthy of being penned.
Hopefully the operators / owners will either do something about the state of the place, visibility so visitors / guests can find it and better advice on parking etc.
I'm now looking forward to getting out of here prior to 8am when I believe a parking attendant may be dropping a fine on our rental motor.

On the back of this - I'm going to ring Booking.com tomorrow as this place certainly is not worthy of their name on the booking at present. Pretty disappointed that we're essentially wasting the money spent on the 2nd night - but either put up with it and probably ruin another 24hrs / potentially the holiday or get over it and get on..somewhere suitable.

Hope this helps somewhat.
Regards
Carl.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Do not be fooled by the ‘Feel Good’ name or by the photographs for these apartments, they were taken years ago! The apartment was disgusting and the smell of dirt and dampness was awful. Portugal Ways refused to help us even though the apartment was uninhabitable. We had to move out into alternative accommodation for our weeks stay in Lisbon which was costly but we had no choice. Our clothes were wet and stank of dampness, the table and chairs were black with dirt and the plug sockets with wires hanging out were disgraceful. The building and apartment is accessed by a code but for ourselves and many other guests, the code was not sent to us prior to arrival which resulted in numerous phone calls to Portugal Ways to get into the room. There was construction work taking place directly below our apartment for 14+ hours a day, our beds and the floor was shaking with the vibration and noise of the equipment. On top of that, the apartment block is very noisy anyway as it’s all wooden floors so you can hear every movement. There were no smoke alarms which was of no comfort as the building next door and facing were both burnt out by fire. It was impossible to stay there. Conde Barao itself is slightly out of town but within walking distance. It’s a very old part of town which is run down, the taxi driver didn’t even know where it was when we arrived! Lots of graffiti on buildings and rubbish lying about the streets, very different from the stunning town area of Lisbon. If you can put up with noise, dirt and dampness then book here but there are much better places located centrally and probably cheaper. A complete rip-off and spoiled our Anniversary trip. Not a good word to say on this place and certainly nothing to ‘Feel Good’ about.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the fourth floor. The apartment was quite shabby. The chairs were dirty, the table was made of plywood and table top was badly chipped so wouldn't use it. The apartment was not as pictured in the management photos. There were no tea towels in the kitchen so difficult to dry crockery. Could clearly hear other people entering and leaving the building. My main concern is that there were no smoke alarms in the apartment (I didn't even see any in the staircase). The door in to the apartment wasn't a fire door. There was even a hole in the door, and there was no fire escape. Heaven help anyone staying on the forth floor in the event of a fire. Felt very uncomfortable. Glad we only stayed 2 nights. Derelict buildings for the front and rear. Would recommend Lisbon but not these apartments. Emailed Portugal Ways of fire risk but had no reply.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were a party of 10, stayed in two apartments.

The apartments are nice and convenient, the kitchen and living room are spacey and equipped however the water in the tub were not running well. In general I think that 1 tub and 1 toilet for 7 quests is scarcely enough,,
everything was clean and in good order.

The building and the street was not very welcoming, the stairways was always dark however it is close to the center and to some of Lisbon attractions especially if you have a car (which we did).
Parking place was never a problem.

To summarize - nice apartments, building and street could be more appealing..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Unfortunately, I'm struggling to think of any aspects of this apartment that I'd describe as anything better than "OK".

We received an email with a map of the apartment that showed the offices right next door. It said we could drop off our luggage at the office if we arrived before check-in. Upon arriving in Lisbon, we headed straight to the address of the apartments to do so. It turns out that the map is completely inaccurate, and the office is nowhere near the actual apartment. We were pacing the block looking for the office. Eventually we gave up and were standing outside the apartment trying to figure out what to do, when the cleaning staff thankfully showed up. Without this stroke of luck, we would have been stuck with our luggage for 4 hours! The staff members let us in while they were cleaning to drop off our luggage even though were were early, and were very kind.

Given that the office is not nearby, it would be helpful to have some system of communication in place between the apartment and the office. When we asked the cleaning staff how to contact they office, we were told that we can call them. I'd prefer not to have to pay international cell phone rates to get some simple customer service!

A tip for getting in - you use your code on the outside door to enter the apartment building, and again on the door to your apartment. Ignore the boxes inside the main door with keypads on them.

The apartment itself was OK. The decorating was nicely simple. The beds were fine. Noise level is completely dependent on other travelers - the walls are thin and the building is echoey, so whether or not you can get a quiet, peaceful sleep is left up to luck. Our first night was noisy, but the rest were OK. The free wi-fi was inconsistent in signal strength.

I have traveled pretty extensively in Europe, and I know that some of the standards for what is included with lodging are quite different than what we expect in the US. However, this apartment provided zero toiletries - not even a small bar of soap for the shower. No kleenex either.

We spent 5 nights here, and were not visited by the cleaning service during our visit. We were lucky to find them cleaning up after guests who had left the room across the hall on the day we ran out of toilet paper! It is possible that they may have been intending to come by our room next that day anyway, but it would have been the only time.

The location is fine if you plan to leave in the morning and return at the end of the day. It was a bit far out of the way to return to throughout the day to rest, freshen up, etc. The street was pretty dilapidated, but didn't feel dangerous.

In summary - if you're looking for a fine place to sleep and can get a good rate, it's not terrible. But don't expect too much convenience or comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkelljunga, Sweden
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This unmanned apartmenthotel is at a good location if you want to go to Santos like we did. Reading the reviews made us contact them in advance to be able to send them an email so they could send us our codes to get in through the front door, another one to get the key and the number of your room. There is noone there so when your key stops working, like ours and its not clean you cant tell anyone. You need to buy your own toiletpaper and the beds are really hard. The flat had two bedrooms and to get to the toilet you need to go through one of them. The flat was big and had a fridge. Around the corner you can get a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments

Address: Largo Conde Barao 18, Lisbon 1200-118, Portugal (Formerly Feel Good Apartments Conde Barao)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Barao Apartments stand just next to Tagus River. From here you may stroll until Lisbon famous Praça do Comercio or feel just like a "Lisboeta" by getting on tram 25 that stops at our doorstep. We are sure you will be delighted with the old alleyways and cobbled streets during your stroll until Bairro Alto and Chiado. Conde Barao Apartments are right in the middle of "Santos Design District," an area that contributes greatly to an authentic city; a place that looks more like a village when the bells ring and when you see the puzzle of colourful clothes hanging on the clotheslines covering part of the tiled facades of the typical Lisbon buildings. The building was opened to the public in October 2008 after a major refurbishment. It has a large wood staircase and lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portugal Ways Conde Barao Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.