We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best bed ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Altis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Altis Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 11, Lisbon 1269-072, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best bed ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was there for a full week conference. Rest is essential and the bed was just fantastic.
The hotel personnel was very flexible and helpful even when we kept adding break-out rooms until the last minute. They even put frosted stripes on the glass wall of one meeting area to make it more discrete.
Convenient central location for visits to the old town centre and quick transfer to the airport in peak tim (20').
I also used the services of the hairdresser (open at 8 AM). The lady at the business centre was also very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    328
    112
    48
    17
See reviews for
144
311
24
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The Altis hotel is a great deal to sleep in a comfy and a bit luxurious place in Lisbon. It is very well located, close to Avenida Liberdade and close to a metro station. The rooms and bathroom are spacious and clean with all facilities you can expect from a 5star hotel. Breakfast is excellent too. We had dinner at the rooftop restaurant once. It is a bit expensive, better to go for a drink on the terrace with a lovely view. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were in this 5 stars
hotel for 5 nights.
Every worker at your Hotel was always professional, smiling, helpful and charming, especially the staff at the Reception Desk and The Barman Mr. Philipe.
They offer excellent breakfast in a huge panoramic hall. They have a great variety of gluten free food... That's fantastic for those who need a gluten free breakfast!!
Rooms are spacious, confortable and the I loved the shower!
The hotel is situated in the town centre but also silent residential area, so it was always easy to move and come back..
I really suggest this hotel because the average cost/quality is really at the top!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms in this hotel are good . for the first time i saw the concept of 2 doors. It was quite silent (once I shut the 1st door and the 2nd inner door). breakfast hall is huge with good varieties. Rooms are spacious so is the bathing area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently stayed here for an anniversary and was delighted with the service i got. I was given free breakfast with my rate even though this was not included. When i arrived they me a king size room and gave us a bottle of champagne and fruits for the anniversary . I have never experienced such a great time in any hotel.

The rooms were spacious , modern and very central , about 10 mins max walk right into the very heart of the city .

The breakfast was nice and simple and tasty.

I couldnt fault the place and Ruben thanks again for looking after me and my wife

Room Tip: 832 was a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltisLisbon, General Manager at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay, it was a great pleasure to have you with us on such a special occasion and I am glad you have enjoyed the champagne and service.

Hope to welcome you back soon to Lisbon and to the Altis Grand Hotel.

Best regards,

Ruben Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are fabulous. It was silent (once I shut the windows and the 2nd inner door). Great bed and decor. I loved the shower and the spacious bathrooms. It was just a wonderful hotel. We walked miles and miles to see the town and never felt that we were too far from our hotel. It was fantastic. We were there for a conference and some of the conference rooms on the upper floors were very awkward to find. You had to go through several rooms to get to another and the elevators did not reach some of the rooms. It was not laid out well, but the rooms themselves were nice. I would absolutely enjoy staying here again.
The breakfast service was really the only thing that could improve. If you are staying there with a large group, then be prepared to wait. They don't have enough coffee servers or wait staff to clear tables. They will not allow breakfast to leave the room (even if there are no chairs) and that includes taking coffee out of the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The rooms are great with a big bathroom including a nice bathtub, and very quiet.

But... They were making renovations and the workers were really loud, and we could not change room.

I appreciated the design and the hidden (but not working) tv behind the mirror !

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho, 11, Lisbon 1269-072, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 216 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altis Grand Hotel, five star Conference & Business Hotel, combines elegance, sophistication and comfort with the best location in Lisbon’s city centre. Recently renovated the hotel has 300 bedrooms and suites, including the brand new deluxe rooms, with great views over the cultural and historical quarters, Internet access, Full HD LCD TV and mini-bar, a fully equipped business centre and 20 multipurpose meeting spaces with capacity from 8 up to 750 people, suitable for the most demanding events. There is also a covered heated swimming pool, fitness room and 3 bars giving guests the chance to unwind. To enjoy the Portuguese excellent cuisine, there`s a panoramic restaurant on the top floor - the D. Fernando Grill, for a casual meal the coffee-shop in the lobby or for a private group meal the Girassol restaurant. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Hotel Altis is member of the Luxury collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Altis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.