We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the Mark !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altis Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Altis Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Altis Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 11, Lisbon 1269-072, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hits the Mark !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and hated to leave ! We actually tried to stay a 4th night but they were booked. And for good reason... the location is perfect, the staff amazing and the rooms very very comfortable. This hotel has all the extras without the price. From the welcome screen with your name on the flat screen tv's to the turndown service with the amazing candies ! The breakfast is a great value . We used it as our base to explore Lisbon and the surrounding areas and could'nt be more pleased. For the price this hotel exceeded our expectations !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltisLisbon, Gerente geral at Altis Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your stay and to let us know we made a difference on your stay in Lisbon.

Hope we can welcome you back soon to Lisbon and to the Altis Hotel.

Best regards,

Ruben Paula
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    328
    112
    48
    17
See reviews for
144
311
24
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first visit to Lisbon and we will return (4 days was not enough). Altis Hotel is about 20 mins from the airport and in a good location for Metro/restaurants/park. It is a pleasant walk to the railway station down the treelined Avenue Liberdade. We were on the 11th floor in a good sized room (still to be renovated) which was clean with a comfortable bed. Check in staff were efficient and polite. The small indoor pool was a treat after a day's sightseeing. Buffet breakfast was really good and Mr Oscar Correia, F & B Manager, went out of his way to welcome us and he gave us many sightseeing recommendations. Unfortunately the G.Spot restaurant was closed when we visited Sintra on the Sunday. Oscar, I have to say the Altis Hotel's custard tart was far superior to the one we had in Belem!! Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

a very good place to be. A bit old and claiming for some renovations especially on the room where the breakfast is served. Very helpfull staff. Well located in the city center, near metro station, sgopping el corte ingles and others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

At the time of booking the Altis we specifically asked for a room with a good view on a upper floor. Also before we booked we ensured that WiFi was available in the room ; but to our disappointment we told that there were no rooms available in the Hotel and we were given room in the Altis Suites which of course was much spacious than a room BUT the room was facing a BLANK WALL!! 5A It was gloomy because of the blank wall of another building and one could see absolutely nothing. Then again there was no WiFi in the suites. This was a huge disappointment.
The gentlemen at the reception ( Mr Arthur ) was extremely helpful and went out of his way to,help us to get a better room but it did not work out.
Overall the front desk staff were courteous and helpful. The room was cleaned every day and overall cleanliness was good.
All restaurant staff were not very friendly but the breakfast was very good.

Premila Jayatilleka

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face a blank wall of another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, Portugal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went to Altis for a conference. Very nice staff, very good bars and lobbies. The room is not very big, but it is very quiet and has a very confortable bed. A nice place to do business and to see the city, with restaurants and transportation nearby.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the 12th floor. No view, but very quiet. Be sure to go to the restaurant at the 12th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is an excellent location and an easy walk to catch site seeing tour buses, and you can even walk to the old city centre and waterfront. The service and food were very good. The staff is very friendly and speak some English. We had no issues at all. We loved it and am sad to see poor reviews. Give them a try.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is listed as a 5 star hotel and is really barely a 3 star. Originally given a smelly old room on the 4th floor with no internet service, wired or wifi. Went to desk to address and was told sorry, but we are full. I asked for a refund and would find another hotel and magically a room appeared where the internet service would work. Again given a small, tired, room with minimal amenities ( no tea or coffee capabilities, no unused electrical outlets, worn carpets, poor lighting, etc.). Breakfast was passable but certainly nothing enjoyable and the lobby bar was also mostly vacant and expensive. For the rate I paid, I would definitely find something providing a better value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Castilho, 11, Lisbon 1269-072, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 217 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altis Grand Hotel, five star Conference & Business Hotel, combines elegance, sophistication and comfort with the best location in Lisbon’s city centre. Recently renovated the hotel has 300 bedrooms and suites, including the brand new deluxe rooms, with great views over the cultural and historical quarters, Internet access, Full HD LCD TV and mini-bar, a fully equipped business centre and 20 multipurpose meeting spaces with capacity from 8 up to 750 people, suitable for the most demanding events. There is also a covered heated swimming pool, fitness room and 3 bars giving guests the chance to unwind. To enjoy the Portuguese excellent cuisine, there`s a panoramic restaurant on the top floor - the D. Fernando Grill, for a casual meal the coffee-shop in the lobby or for a private group meal the Girassol restaurant. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Hotel Altis is member of the Luxury collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Altis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altis Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.