We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Home Lisbon Hostel to your Saves list
Home Lisbon Hostel
Rua de Sao Nicolau, 13, 2Esq, Lisbon, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I loved Home Hostel. It's really great value for money. The rooms and entire hostel in general had a very nice, warm decor. At dinner you can pay just €10 for a nice 3 course home cooked meal by "Mama." Going to Mama's dinner is a good way to meet other people at the hostel too, in addition to getting a cheap meal. I really loved the personal locker storage under the bunkbeds, which was big enough for me to put my entire big backpack and other stuff in. It was comfortable to be able to sort of unpack without worrying about leaving my stuff out (since it was all scattered within the storage locker). I stayed in the lower bunk and had a curtain, which I really liked.
The staff was definitely super super friendly! The bathrooms were really clean, as were the rooms. Great location. The free breakfast was amazing as well. It went beyond the basic bread & jam - there was also scrambled eggs and sausage!!! As well as an extensive selection of jams, nutella, different types of bread, juice, tea, coffee, milk, cereal, and some apples.

Truly a great hostel and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    32
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
119
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Where to start with this hostel!

After enough travelling you tend to expect hostels to be a bed and a shower without much else, so walking into Home was a massive (positive) surprise! From the super friendly and helpful Barbara who checked us in, to the maids who made the bathrooms cleaner than the ones in my own house, Home Hostel stands head and shoulders above the rest.

And that's without even mentioning Mamma! This feisty Portuguese superstar turned what would have been a lovely time into a completely unforgettable one. Her cooking is sublime, and the fact that she takes the time to sit down each dinnertime to chat with some weary travellers makes this place so much more than your average hostel.

A must stay, and Mamma's dinner is a must do! If I'm ever back in Lisbon, there's only one place we'll ever call Home!

Muito Obrigado Mamma!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located in a great location (a few steps away from a subway station), Home Hostel lives up to it's ratings. It's a great hostel. The people are amazing, the alcohol is cheap, there is wifi and also a lovely nightly dinner to meet fellow travellers. The rooms are quiet, the beds are decent and the bathrooms are clean. I can't say enough about this place, really. It's great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I´ve stayed here the last days and while I haven´t been in a hundred different hostels, I can easily say this is the best one I´ve been to yet. I´m writing this on one of their two high-end Mac computers (free of charge) and that itself feels a little surreal for a hostel costing 14-20 euros a night. A bar open 24/7 that also serves food, TV (with playstation and a lot of DVD:s), an Ipad is some of the other maybe unecessary, but great features of this hostel and the staff has been really helpful when you need anything. There´s a washing crew here (at least, from what we have seen) twice a day so it´s very clean, and feels very safe. Overall, I'm amazed by the quality of this hostel. I'm sounding like a bought review, I know, but it's that good. Try it out and see if I'm lying yourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Home Hostel was great! All the staff were friendly and helpful and there was lots of opportunity for socialising. The breakfast was pretty good. You could have a home cooked dinner for 10 euros which apparently is excellent (I decided to go cheap and cooked my own). The common room has a huge tv with lots of dvds and the wifi is pretty good. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and was very happy with it. The beds are very private and wide and comfortable, with a little shelf and a reading light each. The room light was just a couple of lamps, which is good if you're trying to sleep and someone comes in late and switches it on, as it wont disturb you, but bad if you actually need to see the finer details of what you're doing. The lockers under the beds were lovely and big and it was good having the room key in the form of a bracelet. It did get a little noisy at night as people could be very noisy in the hallway but that's not really the hostel's fault. The bathrooms were fine - clean and private with lots of hot water. The shower heads were waist height which was a little annoying, but I think that's quite common in Europe. The location was very good - a few minutes walk from the station, and about 15 minutes walk to one of the major stations for intercity trains. There is a supermarket fairly nearby so cooking in the kitchen is very do-able. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've been in Lisbon few times, but is no other home than Home Lisbon Hostel. Localisation, atmosphere, food (Mama's dinner), service - everything is great. And hostel quality - sad to say, but in some suppose to be good hotels is not so nice, clean and comfortable.
And... I fell in love there ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, null, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all, to find it was extremely easy soooo much, that we literally bumped into it, when we were going to start looking for it. Second is the PERFECT location, blocks away from everywhere, the beach, restaurants, subway, and tran... I really did feel like at home, the people, not just the staff but the whole ambiance was marvalous! We played the guitar, had dinner and chatted with everybody, chilled in the extremely complete and cozy entertainment living room, and of course did the walking tour with an awesome tour guide, mad a lot of friends and just in 3 days... The rooms are trendy, clean as well as the bathrooms. We even got to try the home made dinner and wine they offer. Deffinitely a great deal, by far the best hostel ever. Thank you to all of the staff for making it such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lisbon Hostel

Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau, 13, 2Esq, Lisbon, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located in Lisbons historic center with the main attractions within walking distance. We provide a great atmosphere and many activities, like walking tours, pub crawls and the very famous Mammas Dinners where you can easily meet many people and socialize even if travelling alone. In a 200 year old building we have a lovely comfortable living room, a dinning room with a bar, a great kitchen, a patio and most importantly, great beds in spacious rooms, all with balconies or big windows. We provide big lockers to keep your valuables. Come experience our unique atmosphere and discover Lisbon with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Home Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Lisbon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.