We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much the best hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Home Lisbon Hostel to your Saves list
Home Lisbon Hostel
Rua de Sao Nicolau, 13, 2Esq, Lisbon, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty much the best hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Located in a great location (a few steps away from a subway station), Home Hostel lives up to it's ratings. It's a great hostel. The people are amazing, the alcohol is cheap, there is wifi and also a lovely nightly dinner to meet fellow travellers. The rooms are quiet, the beds are decent and the bathrooms are clean. I can't say enough about this place, really. It's great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
101
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I´ve stayed here the last days and while I haven´t been in a hundred different hostels, I can easily say this is the best one I´ve been to yet. I´m writing this on one of their two high-end Mac computers (free of charge) and that itself feels a little surreal for a hostel costing 14-20 euros a night. A bar open 24/7 that also serves food, TV (with playstation and a lot of DVD:s), an Ipad is some of the other maybe unecessary, but great features of this hostel and the staff has been really helpful when you need anything. There´s a washing crew here (at least, from what we have seen) twice a day so it´s very clean, and feels very safe. Overall, I'm amazed by the quality of this hostel. I'm sounding like a bought review, I know, but it's that good. Try it out and see if I'm lying yourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Home Hostel was great! All the staff were friendly and helpful and there was lots of opportunity for socialising. The breakfast was pretty good. You could have a home cooked dinner for 10 euros which apparently is excellent (I decided to go cheap and cooked my own). The common room has a huge tv with lots of dvds and the wifi is pretty good. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and was very happy with it. The beds are very private and wide and comfortable, with a little shelf and a reading light each. The room light was just a couple of lamps, which is good if you're trying to sleep and someone comes in late and switches it on, as it wont disturb you, but bad if you actually need to see the finer details of what you're doing. The lockers under the beds were lovely and big and it was good having the room key in the form of a bracelet. It did get a little noisy at night as people could be very noisy in the hallway but that's not really the hostel's fault. The bathrooms were fine - clean and private with lots of hot water. The shower heads were waist height which was a little annoying, but I think that's quite common in Europe. The location was very good - a few minutes walk from the station, and about 15 minutes walk to one of the major stations for intercity trains. There is a supermarket fairly nearby so cooking in the kitchen is very do-able. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've been in Lisbon few times, but is no other home than Home Lisbon Hostel. Localisation, atmosphere, food (Mama's dinner), service - everything is great. And hostel quality - sad to say, but in some suppose to be good hotels is not so nice, clean and comfortable.
And... I fell in love there ;)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, null, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

First of all, to find it was extremely easy soooo much, that we literally bumped into it, when we were going to start looking for it. Second is the PERFECT location, blocks away from everywhere, the beach, restaurants, subway, and tran... I really did feel like at home, the people, not just the staff but the whole ambiance was marvalous! We played the guitar, had dinner and chatted with everybody, chilled in the extremely complete and cozy entertainment living room, and of course did the walking tour with an awesome tour guide, mad a lot of friends and just in 3 days... The rooms are trendy, clean as well as the bathrooms. We even got to try the home made dinner and wine they offer. Deffinitely a great deal, by far the best hostel ever. Thank you to all of the staff for making it such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Yes, it can be a party hostel but in my experience, most hostels are turning into party hostels. It's not the hostel's fault but rather the sheer number of young people out for a city hop weekend away from university.

Mamma's dinner was excellent, although I did find it a tad expensive for my budget. I participated nonetheless and was glad for the experience.

Home Lisbon's rooms were very good, very clean and when it came to sleeping, I had a very good night so what more can one ask, really?

Breakfast was the typical hostel breakfast of bread and too sweet jams and chocolate goo. I would like to see some protein offered which could be easily accomplished with a simple boiled egg. No need to have a grill on the go; a boiled egg would be a special touch for those who like something a bit more for breakfast.

The free laundry service was awesome! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheongju, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As soon we walked in, there was music playing loudly and the guy at the front desk was chatting away with his coworker for a good 5 minutes before acknowledging us.

At that time, the wifi was not working. We booked for three nights but decided to stay for one because the music was too loud and the environment of the hostel was a party place.

The good thing was that hostel was overall clean, there were lockers provided for you and it was in a great location.

Take it for what it's worth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Lisbon Hostel

Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau, 13, 2Esq, Lisbon, Portugal (Formerly Lisbon Easy Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located in Lisbons historic center with the main attractions within walking distance. We provide a great atmosphere and many activities, like walking tours, pub crawls and the very famous Mammas Dinners where you can easily meet many people and socialize even if travelling alone. In a 200 year old building we have a lovely comfortable living room, a dinning room with a bar, a great kitchen, a patio and most importantly, great beds in spacious rooms, all with balconies or big windows. We provide big lockers to keep your valuables. Come experience our unique atmosphere and discover Lisbon with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Home Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Lisbon Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.