We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisboa Central Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lisboa Central Hostel to your Saves list
Lisboa Central Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 160, Lisbon 1050-282, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Best hostel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Excellent location extremely well set up hostel. We have been travelling for more than 6months and this is by far the best hostel we have found. We were made to feel incredibly welcome by the very friendly staff and were very impressed with our super clean 6bed dorm room and the rest of the hostel was also immaculate including the fantastic and modern kitchen and bathroom! We were given so much helpful information by both the staff and the information boards around the hostel making our stay streamlined and able to see the sights we wanted to.
Great atmosphere in the hostel, the breakfast is amazing and we were even spoilt with delicious soup sometimes too! The layout of this hostel teamed with the fantastic helpful staff made this hostel feel so much like home we were so sad to leave. If we have any excuse to come back to Lisbon there is no doubt we will be trying to stay at Lisboa Central hostel again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
38
116
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This hostel is absolutely fantastic! It is not only the cleanest hostel that I have ever been, but one of the friendliest and most hospitable. The owner is an amazing woman, who takes care of the travelers as a mother would. She just got done making everybody one of her amazing soups. Tonight was cod soup and like all of her soups that she makes, literally everyday, was absolutely amazing! The staff is friendly, intelligent, multilingual, and interesting to talk to. I would not stay anywhere else in Lisbon ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The owner oulette is like my 2nd mother..cooking everyday for every one for free and an amazing free breakfast with the best pancakes! Staff are amazing and cleaning staff does a great job! Location is perfect in great neightborhood.will be back for sure!! Dont stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here for a week in Lisboa, and I have nothing but good things to say about this hostel! The staff was friendly, informative and by my final night there, we were laughing and joking like friends! (especially at all of the useless phrases in my Portuguese / English phrase book).

The rooms are updated and clean, There is always breakfast in the morning and sometimes even some soup on the stove for dinner! They were super accommodating when I decided that I wanted to switch to a private room and even gave me a small discount since it was the off season. (No fault of the hostel, I'm a light sleeper) The staff here is really what makes this place the best in Lisboa, and every day they recommended places to eat, sights to see and marked them on my map. They even helped me to plan some alternative public transit options to get around a metro strike.

In short, book at this hostel, even if you are considering a hotel instead. Stay in a private room here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I spent some days here when I was just arrive in Lisbon, it was great! Everyone is so kind! They help a lot in everything, all the rooms are fantastic and so clean! The position it's perfect for every movement around the city and you will always find something to eat!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this one was by far the best hostel I've stayed in, they give you free breakfast with the most delicious pancakes you'll ever eat and on weeknights there's free soup which is also delicious and perfect for the cold winter nights. The staff are extremely friendly and happy to help with any questions, they were even helping me practice my portuguese. They have movie nights with free popcorn and pub crawl nights too. the hostel is very clean and well maintained and in a nice area of town. It really feels like a home away from home, if you come to lisboa you should definitely stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights which was more than enough to see how comfy, warm and well organised this place is. As soon as I arrived, showing me around, asking if I needed anything at all up until I left; making you really feel at home makes it easy to see why this is one of the best rated hostels in a city full of amazing spots.

Aside from the breakfast and snacks; the hospitality the staff give you from the moment you get in the door is really what makes this place worth every cent.

A must stop for people in search price quality balance!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisboa Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisboa Central Hostel

Address: Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 160, Lisbon 1050-282, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisboa Central Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a fun, fresh and friendly place to stay then look no further: Lisboa Central Hostel is the ideal place for you! Excellently located in the heart of city in Marques de Pombal and the famous Avenida da Liberdade this international hostel provides you with the perfect base for sight-seeing by day and partying by night. All of Lisbon’s major hot spots are easily accessible on foot thus saving you the cab fare home at night.Our friendly, local staff will be more than happy to provide you with plenty of information about the city and how to get around, ensuring you are able to make the most of your stay in Lisbon. The hostel is owned and run by a local Portuguese family and travellers who are able to offer you a good insight into this magical city as well as some insider’s tips on the best places to go and where to eat out.In short Lisboa central Hostel is the perfect place for any traveller, whether they be the student backpacker, the young family or the more mature couple looking for a relaxing stay. As well as dorm style rooms the hostel also caters for groups and families looking for private rooms complete with en suite bathrooms.The Hostel hosts a number of activities and cultural events including weekly film nights. And be sure not to miss out on Milkshake Monday where we will be providing each guest with a free tasty milkshake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lisboa Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisboa Central Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.