We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in lisbon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnies Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Johnies Place to your Saves list
Johnies Place
Calcada da Graca no 18F 1, Lisbon 1100-265, Portugal (Graça)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Lovely place to stay in lisbon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Really nice place. Lovely furnished and clean. The neighboorhood is so caracteristic and charming, that you can stay in that area at night to eat and drink.Its not possible to reach it very well with a wheelchair. And you have to be very good by feet, cause its on top of a little montain. But if that doesnt matter for you: perfect stay and localization.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    17
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
30
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can raccomend this hostel to everyone wants to feel home, enjoying a wonderful city as lisbon is.
Johnies Place has the cheap prices of an hostel, the comfortable and the cosy atmosphere of a guesthouse and the proper and clean spaces of an hotel (even more).
Ana, one of the owners, is the sweetest and more disponible person i ever met, she manage everything by herlself and she does a great job!
And of course i cannot forget to talk about the location, cause if you ever gonna stay in Johnies place, you'll have the chance to enjoy one of the most beautiful spot in Lisbon, Miraduro da Graca, an amazing view of the whole city from one of the highest point, right in front of the hostel.. After your day walk in lisbon, you just have to get out the hostel around 8.00 pm, choose your place at the bar and have your drink in front of a spectacular sunset (i did it almost every night, i couldn't miss it)
You'll have lots of others nice things there, like the tuesday and saturday's huge flea market just around the corner, some tipical portughese restourants where you can eat really good food for a really generous price, you'll have busses goes directly to the main station, one metro station at 10 min, a nice walk that brings you one way to the centre and the other to the castel and all the tipical neibourghood around it, supermarkets, and last but not least, for those of you are "tourist inside", in Graca square, the stop of the famous 28 tram that makes a tour through all the nicest spot in Lisbon!

I had a great time in Johnies Place, hope you'll have the chance to stay there and enjoy it as I did :)

S.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June! Ana who owned the hostel was very friendly and helpful! upon arrival we were greeted and she introduced herself and gave us a map and pointed out various things for us to do. There was also food in the kitchen left from the festival before which we were told we could help ourselves to!
I stayed in a 6 dorm and had no problems whatsoever! There were lockers in the room, all big enough for big rucksacks so felt comfortable leaving my stuff in there!
Location wise, it was perfect! a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Lisbon. Only downside was the hills but that can't be helped!
The location for Johnies Place was lovely! Not too loud either and just across the road is a lovely viewpoint where you can see Lisbon from high! Highly recommend checking this out, especially on a warm evening, a great place to relax!
No complaints about this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff is very friendly and open minded. When we arrived they gave us tips for the sights of Lisbon. The rooms are clean and the location is great. We had a great time at johnie's place and we really recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Johnies Place made my holiday in Lisbon special and enjoyable so much.
The place was converted very tastefully from 17th centuries palace. It’s walking distance to many interesting places in Lisbon, especially Miradouro de Graca is just in front of you and a few minutes walk to Largo das Portas do Slo and Miradouro de Santa Luzia and Castle. The stop of 28 tram is close to Johnies Place. I traveled alone and the area was safe to walk around late evening.
The hostel has a kitchen where you can cook and take free tea/coffee all day and free breakfast, free internet and nice smoking area and every room is very spacious with nice furniture and everything is clean and well maintained.
The most appreciate thing for me is Ana (the owner)’s help and friendliness. She is very approachable.
I was planning to stay there for three nights and stay for two nights at other rather expensive hotel as I had a deal but I cancelled it because I felt Johnies Place is much more attractive and nicer to stay!
I’ll go back there when I visit Lisbon next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very pleasant, unique and characteristic place.Very well located, with easy access to the historical center of the city and situated right next to a lookout with an excellent view, ideal to relax having Lisbon as sight.

Room Tip: best price/quality place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this hostel is perfect, it´s in the old center of Lisbom, next to a wonderful miradouro, where you can have a nice view of the whole city. The hostel is big, with a lot of sun light, the rooms are comfortable, and all the instalations are very clean and cared about all the details.
You will feel as at home because the environment the people create there is very home-loving.
I would defenitly recomend this hostel to go, i would sure come back there...it is a nice place to know and to enjoy.

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but specially the couple one, it is so beautiful, quite and great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnies Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnies Place

Address: Calcada da Graca no 18F 1, Lisbon 1100-265, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Graça
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Johnies Place you will experience more than just staying at a hostel. Located in Graça one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Lisbon, and inside a unique and exquisite palace from the 17th century, we'll make all the efforts so that you can feel yourself at home in this cosy hostel. It's at walking distance to many interesting spots of Lisbon, like São Jorge Castle, Feira da Ladra (flea-market), three of the greatest viewpoints of the city : Miradouro da Graça, Senhora do Monte and Santa Luzia, etc. Nearby you also have a lot of bus stops and subway to all city directions, and the stop for the famous and rustic tram in the city, the 28 - locally known as "the yellow" - , just one minute walk from our front door. At Johnies Place you will enjoy Lisbon not just as one more tourist but as a longtime neighbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Johnies Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnies Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.