We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Lisbon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Family Macedo B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Family Macedo B&B to your Saves list
Family Macedo B&B
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Rua Palmira, 44, Lisbon 1170-289, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 150 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Lisbon
1 review
“A night in Lisbon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very friendly and with very good information before arrival and when we arrived. Perfect for budget tourists that wants to prepare their own meal and stay close to the town centre. A very open feeling between the rooms. That means if you are sensitive to noice or want to be very private it´s nothing for you. Still during our visit there was a very quiet situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
29
27
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The B and B is fantastic.
The location in very central in the city and also very close to the Metro.
The owner is a great host, he gave me a lot informations where to go, what to see.
I ll come again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were impressed by the helpfulness of the owners; we slept in a room full of antique portuquese furniture; the facilities were just like having the run of somebody's house. If this sounds good to you, we are sure that you will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed here in winter and received a warm welcome. I chose this place for its wonderful old ebony furniture and wasn't disappointed. They are old apartments, each room sharing a bathroom and kitchen which are adequately equipped with fresh bread left each morning, and there is also a communal area which is probably a good meeting place when it is busier. Well positioned for the trams but off the main road.


See more room tips

Room Tip: Room Tip: There are several floors up winding stairs so ask for a lower one if you have problems. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here in winter and received a warm welcome. I chose this place for its wonderful old ebony furniture and wasn't disappointed. They are old apartments, each room sharing a bathroom and kitchen which are adequately equipped with fresh bread left each morning, and there is also a communal area which is probably a good meeting place when it is busier. Well positioned for the trams but off the main road.

Room Tip: There are several floors up winding stairs so ask for a lower one. I asked for a calm room and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good:
Mr. Macedo is really a nice guy and helps us a lot. Apartments are decorated with high quality antique noble furniture as website showed. within 5mins walking to two metro station and Tram 28E is also near by !! There is a BBQ chicken restaurant on Avenue Reis (on the way fm Family Macedo to Intendente Metro station) which is very delicious and cheap.

Not good:
I wasn't noticed the apartment locate 2nd floor to 5th floor and unfortunately my room was in 5th floor without lift. 5 rooms share one bathroom, waitting time very long. Self Catering means you put the frozen toast into toaster and boil water for tea/coffee by yourself. Besides toast, there is only butter. Although they have washing machine but you have to pay 7 Euro for one load.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked two nights at this B&B which were confirmed by email, we then changed the dates as our flights changed and the amendment was again confirmed by the B&B on an email. I happened to email them 2 days before our arrival to confirm our booking, only to be told that due to someone at their end not writing the reservation change down they could not accommodate us as they were already fully booked on the first night.

If I had not bothered to double check our booking we would have turned up at 9pm on the day of arrival only to be told we had no room. When I phoned to verify the email the gentleman on the phone was faintly apologetic and offered to help us find another hotel, which I declined. I do not believe that we were offered a reasonable solution; he was very vague about finding us somewhere else to stay and we would have been entirely in their hands so could have ended up anywhere.

Confirming reservations without checking the bookings diary is not on at all. We have had to find alternative accommodation at the last minute due to an error on the B&B's part, which meant time wasted researching areas and travel solutions. I am severely disappointed as all of the other reviews say how great the place is but we have only received poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Macedo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Macedo B&B

Address: Rua Palmira, 44, Lisbon 1170-289, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Family Macedo B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Family Macedo B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Macedo B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.