We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Lisbon Calling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lisbon Calling to your Saves list
Lisbon Calling
Rua de Sao Paulo, n 126- Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Love Lisbon Calling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

What can I say that hasn't been said by the reviewers before me? This is definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at and at 20 euro a night including breakfast, probably the best value for money I've ever found. The place is impeccably clean and has a great vibe. We had fun getting to know our fellow travelers.

The staff are lovely and went out of their way to help us. Since we were a couple traveling together they even managed to give us the Blue Room with a View to ourselves for two of the three nights we spent with them. (The loft space is the best....the view of the church across the street alone was worth the 20 euros)

The location can't be beat either - close to the train station, the market, Alfama, the Cathedral, and the bus to the airport and walking distance to everything we wanted to see.

My only caveat is this: be sure to take the hostel's address with you because there are no signs on the door or buzzer. We had a map and we knew the street name but not the number and ended up wandering around for an hour. Also - be sure to ask the hostel which buzzer you should press (I think it was 3D) or you might buzz one of their neighbours by mistake.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

This place feels like home. A big shared flat, very clean and cozy rooms. The living area is super cozy with portable laptops with high speed internet, a videoprojector with a dvd, lots of books and magazines, very cool comfortable couches.. the place has style; and is very charming in its smallest details. The staff are incredibly friendly. The kitchen area is wide; so we had the possibility to cook. There is no curfew, which some [--] hostels have!
Location is amazing, at Cai do Sodré which is amazing ! The train,metro,bus station is at 3mn walking, and you have the amazing Barrio Alto area with all the cool pubs at 10mn walking!
And all that for 20euros! so.. i would highly recommend this place..!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon weekender
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Lisbon Calling Hostel, was very relaxed, with pc's available at no extra cost, the Interior colours all complimented each other with some walls left with it's origanal art paintings and there was plenty to glance at with the roving eye on all types of random furniture and pictures which again all complimented each other. The beds and duvets were clean and comfortable also the shower/toilet room kept to a high standard. There is a small chill out area then a larger chill out with dining table and open plan kitchen leading onto a small ballcony for us die hard smokers or just to sit with a book. The kitchen had every utensil and pot required to make yourself and friends a fantastic meal which is what we did as theres an indoor market right across the road to pick ypurself some fresh fish caught that morning. I found this place a truly remarkable experience and had never stayed at a hostel before but have worked aqt some of the finest Hotels and cruiseships and truly mark this experience far higher. The hosts were all very friendly and are more than willing to guide you on a truly remarkable experience whilst staying in Lisbon. xxxxxObrigada xxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Realy nice cool funky hostel to stay at , very friendly and helpful, very chill and a nice place to be.

And realy cheep!!

Hope to end up there agen.xx

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC/Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

OK, not technically my first, as I stayed three nights in a hostel in Madrid directly before visiting Lisbon, but it was my first trip during which I stayed in hostels, as a solo traveler, too.
The hostel was not hard to find. The interior was as good as it looks in the pictures on their Web site. This is key. I like getting what the marketing implies. In this case, they had tons of hi-quality pics that were accurate.
The style was a warmth of old Lisbon brick, tile and wood, mixed with clean, modern touches. The kitchen and common area is very inviting. I learned quickly that there is a sense of sharing here. Breakfast was modest but enjoyable, with good bread, preserves, meats, cheeses, tea and probably a few other small things I am forgetting. There was wifi and even a "house" mac set up that we could use.
The beds were way better than I expected of a hostel -- sturdy design, spread out enough to not feel cramped. The view out the front window was charming.
The few days I was there were quiet, as the weekend holiday (Immaculate Conception) had ended, and many hostelers left. However, I had a great time hearing stories from this one guy from Japan who had ridden his bike across Europe from the far coast of Russia to Lisbon! I suppose meeting interesting people like this is commonplace in the world of hosteling, but it made for great entertainment.
Likewise, the staff were very nice and accommodating to me, although I had trouble at first figuring out who worked there and who didn't. Rita, Sofia, Joaquim and the others were all really friendly, chatting with me in English, calling Portuguese-speaking businesses for me (I had a good phrasebook, but I would have never survived on the phone), setting me up with special Fado reservations and suggesting some cool walks for me to take in various neighborhoods.
I really wished I could've stayed longer, and I would definitely go back to Lisbon Calling.
Oh, the only minor negatives were the fact that you have to ring the buzzer outside to be let in. They never complained when I came back at 3am or later, but I felt uncomfortable ringing at that hour. it's their job, but I still felt weird doing it. The other was that the crowds left after the weekend, and I was really looking forward to meeting more people from all over, as I did in Madrid. However, I relished the quiet sleep. In fact, there was no noise from the street, yet it was a short walk to the crazy nightlife in Bairro Alto. I found the location perfect for me. A little off the beaten track, but within a very cool walk from everything I wanted -- the train station (for a trip up the coast an hour), the Rio Tejo and the view across the water, Alfama, Barrio Alto, Chiado, Baixa. I rather appreciated having to walk a little bit (from .25 mile to maybe 1 mile) to get to places I wanted to go. i got to walk through quaint neighborhoods, past the steep-hilled trolley line (elevador they call it, I think) and through the hustle and bustle of daily life and melodic Portuguese conversations. I wouldn't have wanted it any other way.
As you can see, many things contributed to my experience in Lisbon, but the foundation of it all was the Lisbon Calling hostel. Where you stay greatly impacts your experience, and all was comfortable, historical, friendly and charming here. Not to mention that Lisbon and her little neighborhoods are terribly romantic. Thank you to my friends at Lisbon Calling.

  • Liked — style, friendliness, location, comfort
  • Disliked — buzzer-only entry
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freixo de Espada a Cinta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

It's a house full of taste.
Stylish and very friendly, immediately feel like home. A good surprise of my trip to Lisbon.
Well located, seems to be the centre of Lisbon centre! Everything is around.
Give a try and you won't forget.

  • Liked — The house decor and how confortable you feel there
  • Disliked — Don't remember!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Address: Rua de Sao Paulo, n 126- Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Calling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.