We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget choice in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisbon Calling

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lisbon Calling to your Saves list
Lisbon Calling
Rua de Sao Paulo, n 126- Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best budget choice in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

In this hostel i’ve found a familiar and inspirational environment. The rooms are really nice looking, both the dorms and the doubles, which i found amazing. Apart for that, it’s clean and pretty quiet considering that is located very close to the most interesting venues for Lisbon’s nightlife. For my specific purpose, which was a mix of sightseeing and home-spotting, the location proved very strategic both in terms of walking distances and public transportation. On top of all this, the staff is amazing. I recomend talking to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
48
46
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in Lisbon Calling for a night with a few friends on a surf trip through Europe. Wonderful place, very cool interior, tons of space and looks like it would be a lot of fun during the high season. The layout of the bedrooms were great (queen size solid bunk beds) and it is very easy to find after a night out because everybody seems to know where it is. I only stayed one night and accidentally left my GoPro camera, they returned it to the US no questions asked...thanks so much JP! Highly recommend this hostel if you find yourself in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Room Next Door which are self contained rooms attached to Lisbon Calling. We stayed in room "1979" which is the only en-suite room.
Our stay was fantastic from the moment we arrived and were greeted by the very friendly J.P. who then gave us a tour of both Lisbon Calling and Room Next Door, both were spotlessly clean with quirky decor. We were then shown to our room which was decorated in a seventies style with a fab velvet covered bedframe and funky chest of drawers and a fantastic selection of lamps. The bed was one of the most comfortable i've slept in and was huge. The bathroom was rustic with exposed brickwork and a powerful wetroom style shower.
Each morning a bag of fresh rolls was hung on our doorframe which we then made up in the shared kitchen.
The location is also fantastic, close to Cais De Sodre which is the transport hun, with trams, trains, local and the airport bus. The location was also in the centre of the trendy Bairro Alto district with lots of great shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room "1979" only en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hostel I have been to. The dorm have original and nice decoration and the common area is perfect to chill out. Try the double rooms you won't be disappointed! Service is nice and have perfect advice to discover the city.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I came to Lisbon on holidays, for the new year's eve. We were a group of 7 and together we decided to stay in a hostel, a little bit against my will.
The truth is that the place is extremely cozy while intimate at the same time. I felt truly at home. The staff is top, space decoration very creative and with good taste. Thus, yes, it was my experience in a Hostel, but certainly won't be the last, thanks to the Lisbon Calling Hostel. Thank you all, guys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is such a brilliant hostel - it has the excellent social vibe of most hostels without the sometimes clinical atmosphere of others. It genuinely felt like home! Super friendly people, really clean, inviting, and colourful! I travelled alone and to be staying in a place where I felt comfortable and at home was really wonderful. The location is also excellent as it is right next to the station and since I went there for the Optimus Alive festival, having that direct link was very helpful. Not only that, its accesible to everywhere else simply by walking or trams (I walked everywhere and it was fine)! I will be coming back to Lisbon again soon to explore this lovely city more and without a doubt be staying here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

After hours of traveling, arrived at the place and it felt like home! It's cozy and comfortable environment and greeted by friendly and helpful hosts. Especially for myself, traveling solo and wanted a relaxed trip. It was perfect. The place is beautifully interior decorated with the rustic and retro concept, it felt inspiring living in the space. Lastly, thank you for making my solo a trip an awesome one!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisbon Calling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Calling

Address: Rua de Sao Paulo, n 126- Floor 3D, Lisbon 1200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 246 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a 250 year old building we're all about fit to size. Standard isn't our thing, so you can sleep in huge tailor-made wooden bunkbeds or raised sleeping platforms. In the heart of the old city, we're few minutes walking distance from everywhere. Be our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Calling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisbon Calling, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.