We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HF Fenix Garden

Save Saved
You added HF Fenix Garden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HF Fenix Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Newark, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Fine Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The HF Fenix Garden Hotel, 3 Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, Lisbon, Portugal

This hotel is fabulous – modern and impeccably clean. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortably large. The bathroom is modern and spotless. Everything works perfectly. The location is convenient, close to the blue line Metro with only two or three stops to the downtown attractions and four stops to the Alfama district. Specifically, the hotel is a 4-minute walk from the Marquese de Pombal Metro Blue Line station. It’s also a 4-minute walk from the airport bus stop. A local bus can be found one block away that goes directly to Belem (be sure to see the naval museum there). The hotel’s breakfast is delicious, with full warm and cold buffets and a full selection of beverages. The reception desk staff is extremely friendly, helpful, multilingual, and attentive. We paid 87 euros on the weekend and 70 euros on a Sunday night. We would definitely stay at the Fenix Garden if we return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    413
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
135
398
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights here. Hotel is in good location, very clean with good size rooms. We had great view from 6th floor and even though our room was facing a busy road we were not bothered by road noise in the night. Great breakfast. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a very nice 2 night stay at this hotel. Very easy to get to from Lisbon Airport on the metro.
The hotel is right by Marquez De Pombal circle and Metro Station. It's 50 cents for a ticket and 1 Euro 40 cents per journey so very cheap and it was a very clean metro system.
The Hotel itself was fine for a short stay. The Room was comfortable clean and the shower room was clean and functional.
Our Room 302 was on the third floor overlooking the rear of the property and was fairly quiet. The bed was comfy. A safe in the wardrobe,No mini bar, but there are vending machines in the lobby and in the coridoor.
The location was great. About a 15 minute walk downhill to the centre of town and a minute from the Metro station.
The breakfast was not bad, standard buffet with hot and cold items and coffee machines etc. but we did find the breakfast room very busy.
All in all a good stay and good value for money, i'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, Cheshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 10 nights here whilst exploring Lisbon, and slept well every night. Breakfast was very good each day with a wide choice of hot and cold food. The Metro was only a minutes walk away, and buses to all parts of the city were 1-5 minutes walk.

One of us was in a wheelchair, so the push up the hill top the entrance was quite hard work, but the friendly staff had put our 2 rooms together and gave us an extra card to the wheelchair person's room, all without asking. They even showed us how to enter/leave on the breakfast (1 floor down) level to save some of the push, but to be honest it was simpler to us the front door.

Often when arriving back at the hotel we ere greeted by name from the reception desk as we entered, and all staff were very friendly and helpful.

We bought Viva Viagem cards for 50 cents at the local Metro station and used the Zapping option to load up money (all from a machine win English). This allows you to put up to 15 Euros on the card, and then just ZAP the card on any bus, tram or Metro (deducting 1.25 Euros) or trains to Sintra and Cascais (deducting 1.80 Euros).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook a quite garden, those at the front the Lisbon traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is located at the Marquez de Pombal circle. The entrance to the Metro is about a minute's walk from the hotel. From the airport we arrived to the hotel by Aerobus 1 which costs about 3.50 euros per person. (We decided against the Metro because we had two large suitcases). We spent five nights at the Fenix Garden. To return to the airport, since it was early morning, we opted for a taxi which was called by the Hotel staff. It costed 19 euros and took about 20 minutes to arrive with no traffic. The hotel rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. The hotel reception staff was helpful, especially Claudia who always greeted us with a friendly smile. We used the Metro every day, always taking the blue (Azul) line two stops to Restauradores, or occasionally three stops to Baixa/Chiado. From these two locations, most of the tourist sites, activities and restaurants were easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enjoyed a short break here, Sunday till Weds. Beds very comfortable & buffet breakfast had a good selection to choose from. Breakfast staff very friendly each morning. Hotel very well situated for sightseeing bus terminal. No pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The room was modern, clean and very comfortable. The room was much better than another in Lisbon that charged 50E more per night. Our only complaint was there was no printer to print boarding passes.

I would highly recommend this hotel. We were in room 221 and it was a very nice room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HF Fenix Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Garden

Address: Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Fenix Garden 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban haven where the commotion does not enter.To enjoy the city does not mean you need to do without some peace and privacy.The HF Fénix Garden provides the desirable paradox of staying in the heart of Lisbon and feeling protected from all stress.The referential acoustic insulation allows you to observe the city bustle from the window as if it is not real. A strange feeling of seclusion kept in the wide aisles and common areas where, even if the hotel is full, you can feel peace.The decoration and comfort of the HF Fénix Garden make you forget the city and even that you are in a three star hotel. Something that you will only remember on check-out. Very closed to the hotel is Marquês de Pombal, several of Lisbon's main points of interest and all the transportation networks in the city.The HF Fénix Garden offers several free services, such as Internet access in the entire hotel. But the most surprising offer is the feeling of staying in an oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your HF Fenix Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Garden Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HF Fenix Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.