We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent tourist hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HF Fenix Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HF Fenix Garden to your Saves list
HF Fenix Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 226 Hotels in Lisbon
UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Decent tourist hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Decent tourist hotel next to Marques de Pombal metro station. Pleasant room with very comfortable beds. Good choice at breakfast. Nice small bathroom. Good price (69 euros) for what we got. Some restaurants in the area but having a metro stop outside makes it easy to get most places in Lisbon including the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    531
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
177
512
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had room #511 on the fifth floor with a lovely view over the park. It had double glazing so we didn't have any noise at all from the busy traffic far below. The room was well furnished, very clean and had all of the things to make your stay a comfortable and pleasant one - except a little fridge (which would have been very useful). The bathroom was good with lots of hot water, shower, good toiletries and sufficient towels - but I really think frosted glass doors on bathroom facilities are a negative!
We had a few initial problems with accessing the internet but these were eventually solved and the reception was constant and good.
Breakfast was buffet style and was abundant, fresh and varied. The breakfast room staff were smiling, attentive and hard working.

We took the Aerobus from the airport (3.50 euro p.p.) and the drop off point was was only about 200 metres from the hotel - fantastically cheap and convenient. . We returned to the airport the same way. The hotel is very close to the Marques de Pombal Metro (very easy to use) and lots of buses run frequently into Rossio Square and beyond. If you like walking, the hotel is about 25 minutes from the centre. We made use of a one day public transport pass (6 euro) which allowed us access to all the trams, buses, lifts and metro - but not the ferries.

We liked the Fenix Garden very much and would recommend it as very good value in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very good hotel with good price. Staff were friendful and helpful.
Quick check-in/out,calling the taxi with very cheap prices!
Room was clean and comfortable with nice design. Breakfast was excellent.
Location is very good. Near the Park Eduardo VII.
This is one of the best hotels with such kind of prices!

Room Tip: We lived in room no.502. Near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed there for one night and that was more than enough...

Lisbon was unusually cold and unfortunately rooms only have air conditioning to make it colder inside, not warmer. Our room was on the first floor, right next to the lifts. And it was freezing, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We initially tried raising the temperature on the air conditioning controls, but we noticed that it would make no difference whatsoever. I got it up to 32 degrees Celsius on the little screen, and it didn't affect the air temperature at all.

When we called reception they confirmed that that would not help anyway, that all we could do to warm up the room was to turn the air conditioning off. We did, but told them as we were leaving for dinner about how cold it was, and they said they would send someone to check.

Once we got back, not only the room was as cold as it was before, I found out whoever went in there only turned the air conditioning back on (that's a customer service for you...) ! So all the time the room could have had to 'warm up' was lost. It was so cold we had to keep coats and jumpers on the whole time, and at 2am we asked reception to bring me extra blankets. It was a cold, badly slept night. The room was still freezing the next morning, and it was extremely unpleasant to stay there. That only cost a little more than 50 pounds...

My mother in law's room on the second floor was much warmer, so it must have been bad insulation in ours. Nothing was done to improve the situation, afterall why would they?

The internet connection was also a problem. The wifi in the room would not work on our phones. When I went down to the reception, it would work perfectly. So I told the concierge and his reply was "Well the wifi is working on my phone, so it must be a problem with your phone". And we turned our phone off and on time and time again, and it would never work. So at one point he said he would send someone to check the router on my floor, and when I got back to my room late that evening, the wifi was finally magically working.

So considering we stayed in youth hostels that have better internet and better room temperature in the same area, I thought this kind of experience in a 'proper' hotel was extremely poor (to stay polite).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is in a great location at the busy marques de Pombal where the tour buses start and finish. The subway is just around the corner which is easy to use and navigate. The hotel reception is clean but basic . The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great for the price (4 euros) and the choice was excellent. the hotel is annexed to Hotel Fenix which has a bar, a snack bar and resturant which guests of the the fenix garden can use. We found it great after a long day out. The only thing to complain about which we English miss is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The price was great for our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: A garden room means it is on the front by the road overlooking the park, not a garden as i thought a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

good value modern hotel not tto far from the old town if you donot mind a 20-30 mins walk, we had a room overlooking the park which was very clean but a shame there no tea/coffe makeing facs, breakfast was a good value buffet and the breakfast staff were very nice,hotel close to metro station and aerobus stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed on this property two times, and had a very good stay on both occasions.
The property is adjacent to Marques de Pombal and Eduardo VII Park. While the main tourist attractions require a subway ride (or a pleasant 30 minutes walk), the location is excellent for anyone using public transportation, with lots of options to chose from - subway, lots of city buses and sightseeing buses.
The hotel has a reasonable service for a business-oriented 3-star property, the staff is generally courteous but won't go out of their way to assist you if there's a bunch of tourists asking for directions and you need to checkout asap...
It has nevertheless a very good value - the breakfast is inexpensive and highly recommended. Stayed on two different occasions, once in a room on the top floor facing the park and on a room facing the inner patio. Both rooms had modern furnishings, with a good bed, excellent shower and spotless cleaned.
But by all means ask for a top floor room - they are simply excellent, featuring a huge balcony with a lounge chair and table, facing the park, with a huge floor-to-ceiling window/door combination, allowing plenty of sun to enter the room - but with a electric blackout blind to keep the light out if one wants to.
Highly recommended for both business and tourism - and with a very good value when compared to similarly priced properties around Marques de Pombal.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the park! Only a handfull of rooms (5 or 6 IIRC) on the top floor fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HF Fenix Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Garden

Address: Rua Joaquim Antonio de Aguiar, 3, Lisbon 1050-010, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#63 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HF Fenix Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban haven where the commotion does not enter.To enjoy the city does not mean you need to do without some peace and privacy.The HF Fénix Garden provides the desirable paradox of staying in the heart of Lisbon and feeling protected from all stress.The referential acoustic insulation allows you to observe the city bustle from the window as if it is not real. A strange feeling of seclusion kept in the wide aisles and common areas where, even if the hotel is full, you can feel peace.The decoration and comfort of the HF Fénix Garden make you forget the city and even that you are in a three star hotel. Something that you will only remember on check-out. Very closed to the hotel is Marquês de Pombal, several of Lisbon's main points of interest and all the transportation networks in the city.The HF Fénix Garden offers several free services, such as Internet access in the entire hotel. But the most surprising offer is the feeling of staying in an oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your HF Fenix Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Garden Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HF Fenix Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.