We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, good service, decent atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas 28

Tapas 28
Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1000-1900, Portugal (Encarnação)
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,169 of 2,538 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Encarnação
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor food, good service, decent atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Don't be fooled by people sitting outside the restaurant. Food was below average. Very bad value for money. Service was good but wAiters were almost standing over u while u eat. Skip it!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    24
    28
    108
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disgusting food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The food and service is terrible. If you want to enjoy your meal out then DO NOT GO HERE !!
We ordered Patatas Alioli, Sausages and Tortilla.
The patatas were below luke warm, the tortilla was edible, and the worst were the sausages. They were absolutely disgusting. When I explained to the owner that the patatas were cold, she explained that perhaps the mayonnaise cooled them down. I was pretty shocked to hear that. Then I explained that the sausages were not like sausages should be at all and were disgusting. She wasn't impressed with this at all and proceeded to give out to - not once did we receive an apology or recommendation od something else.
The sausages and patatas were taken away from our table. 5 mins later the patatas were brought back - looks like they were just reheated. We felt very uncomfortable in the restaurant.
When we asked for the bill we saw that we were charge for the disgusting sausages - (they were taken away without us asking and they never brought back anything as a replacement). They said we would have to pay for them seeing as we broke a number of the sausages apart (indicating that they usually would resell these onto other customers).

All in all this was the worst dining experience I've ever had. The food and service here is terrible. Also - for a tapas restauaraunt - the food is incredibly overpriced

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“You can do better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We ate at this restaurant last night because the one that had been recommended was closed (it was Sunday). This one was quite disappointing. Out meal was more expense than any other we've had in Lisbon over the past 3 days, and the food was less enjoyable. The service was not very good, and the worst of the worst we saw them re-use uneaten food. Our table was right in front of the entrance to the kitchen. When you arrive, they serve you bread and 3 little bowls of the following: olives, carrots in oil, and a mayonnaise spread. When people didn't finished these items, they dropped them back at the kitchen where they would be re-used for the next guests. It was quite horrifying.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Popular Tapas Restaurant – no complaints at all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a popular restaurant – all the tables outside were taken when we stumbled across the place. We had an inside table and had good service. There was a wide variety of food on offer and we had 6/7 dishes all of which were good. While it might not be as good as some similar restaurants in Spain, we would definitely go back despite reading the other reviews but it appears that consistency may be an issue here– not bad for a total bill under Euro45.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go to this very bad restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It's a very bad restaurant. They are very slow in give the food, the house green wine is a robbery (21 € per 1 litre). The octopus tapa it was to smal for 9 € and was horribly.

For me experience, i think is a very bad idea to go to this very bad restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapas 28 also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tapas 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas 28, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.