We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Das Letras

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Das Letras to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eurostars Das Letras
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Castilho, 6 - 12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 219 hotels in Lisbon
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 Stars?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Decent hotel in a decent location but hard to say its 5 stars worthy. My wife and I recently spent two nights here on the top floor. We arrived a little early and our room wasnt ready and we didnt get in until about 3pm. The front desk staff are nice and helpful but the cleaning staff dont know what a do not disturb sign means. When we first arrived, we put the sign on the door and someone walked right in to do a tally of the minibar. Each morning while the sign was on the door, the cleaning staff would walk in and didnt speak any english at all so all I could do was point at the sign. She seemed to want to kick us out of the room so she could clean, it was odd. The room was for the most part clean but worn and not maintained as well as we expected. The windows when opened are right over a plumbing stack which smelled like sulfur and farts. As a result of this, the room really stunk bad. The room itself is nice and modern with a little stereo that lets you plug your mp3 player in which was nice. The breakfast was decent but a little crowded. Probably wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe a room overlooking the entrance would be better to avoid the awful smell coming from something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    304
    70
    6
    8
See reviews for
107
427
38
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Of course, it helped that the hotel was full so we had the benefit of an upgrade. Nevertheless, we certainly feel that we made good choice here. Reception staff, breakfast arrangements, cocktail bar, overall cleanliness and efficiency, location. You name it. Spot

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is very central making it easy to get around the city. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a suite, brilliant ! .Just wish we could have stayed more than one night..
Thought it was good value for money too.

Room Tip: If your going for a special occasion try the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is not far away from historic downtown area. It's actually in a better & quieter distance from it. I did like the hotel overall. The hotel has a simple design but clean. The staff is courteous, polite, & efficient. The room is clean & well equipped. However, they don't have early arrival arrangement and their TV is really not good. I arrived early from airport, tired & sweating around 10am. They did not give me the room until 1:30pm. The TV has very limited stations and bad reception. The breakfast was OK, but the food from room service was not desirable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I did not think this warranted four or five stars here. It's a nice hotel and centrally located but it lacks any sort of personality, and anything is a hike up or down hill, which is Lisbon of course. I thought the breakfast was OK, the pancakes were always cold, and the coffee was instant which I don't drink. The room was rather dark with only one window although great view. I went to use the sauna and it was off with no way to figure out how to turn it on. The maid service was poor, there was no soap the first day, and no bath gel the last two. It's the first hotel I ever stayed at where there was no shampoo and conditioner, and body lotion. Wouldn't you figure it's the first time I didn't bring my own going to a nice boutique hotel. The room was extremely quiet which saved this review from two stars. It was OK at best, but the hotel was pretty desolate other than breakfast, and I'd rather pay more to get some sort of bar or lobby or people activity, or a pulse so to speak.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Eurostars Das Letras, and I have only one thing to say… EXELLENT!!! Helpful and very friendly staff, very nice big rooms with comfortable beds, no traffic noise during night, wireless internet was working without any problems and the breakfast was supreme.
I can for certain recommend the hotel for both business and vacation.

And here is a tip for you. Try out the Solar do Vinho do Porto (Port Wine Institute) at Rua de S. Pedro de Alcântara, 45 just 10 min. walk from the hotel and the park just to the left of the Solar, head down to the lower level of the park for a stunning view over Lisbon.

Room Tip: Room 810 is located on the top floor with a view to the botanic garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in Das Letras in July this year, and were quite frankly astonished when we saw the price - and wondered if there had been a mistake on the internet. We arrived at a very nice hotel with great service and a cool lobby with a very pleasant bar tender in the lobby bar. The rooms were nice and large, very clean and with a great bathroom. It is situated just a block away from the main street, and just a short walk away from very nice restaurants, bars and nightclubs. The famous little yellow funicular is also in walking distance. This was a very nice hotel, and we will stay there again next time we come to Lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Das Letras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Das Letras

Address: Rua Castilho, 6 - 12, Lisbon 1250-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Estremadura > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#27 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Das Letras 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Eurostars Das Letras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Das Letras Lisbon
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel Lisbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Das Letras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.