We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel B. Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel B. Mar to your Saves list
Hostel B. Mar
Largo Terreiro Do Trigo, 16, - 1, Lisbon 1100-603, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 160 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Toulouse, France
1 review
“Lovely guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in Beira Mar bed & breakfast and we spent a very good time. It's a traditional buiding very cozy. The staff is really friendly and can speak several languages. They were always there when we needed. Also, the bedroom and the kitchen were everyday clean. We had television and internet free. It's in front of the river and at 7 minutes from the underground. There are lots of restaurants just besides the hostel where you can listen to Fado.
So, enjoy to stay there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hostel was in a nice location, our double room was really spacious and nice and bright. The ensuite bathroom was also good. The only downsides would be that it was fairly noisy with other people coming & going, especially as our room was next to the kitchen. Breakfast was fairly basic, but ok!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Amazing view over the river, very nice and couzy. The staff is great and my only complaint goes out to the cleanliness of an otherwise very good room on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Loved the view from the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The walk to this b'n'b seemed a bit dodgy at first, but don't let it put you off. Beira Mar is a funny little place and is worth the stay. Located at the top of 4 very steep flights of stairs, is the small guesthouse run by some kind ladies, who were friendly and enjoyed a joke. There is free internet available in the foyer, which was great. We had a large room (it had 2 double beds in it) with a view of the water. The walls were brightly coloured with patterned wallpaper and the furniture was cheap and cheerful. Both the room and the bedroom were kept nice and clean and the free breakfast was enjoyable. Beira Mar is reasonably well located, close to the Alfama district. We enjoy walking and so were able to walk most places we wanted to go and we never had any trouble even though we had noticed some questionable people hanging around the street on arrival. Trams and buses are close by too. Overall, Beira Mar has a happy vibe and, at the current prices, is a great value place to stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stayed at Guesthouse Beira Mar in late January this year for three nights and had a wonderful time. THe staff were lovely and very helpful. The location was fine - close to the Placa were lots of buses and trams stops (can't remember the name!!) As the owners very clearly state, the Guesthouse is at the top of 4 flights of quite steep stairs, so do be aware of this when you book your stay there. It would be VERY difficult for disabled people or those with a lot of luggage to negotiate their way to the Guesthouse. There is no lift.

The breakfast that was provided was good - bread (that could be toasted), plenty of spreads, cereals, milk, coffee and tea. The rooms were spacious and brightly coloured. Our room had a shower and basin in it which was great. We were also povided with a heater which did a great job in keeping us warm. The beds were very comfortable and the room was cleaned daily.

Along with the very steep climb up the stairs, you should be aware that as the Guesthouse is in the 'old town' section of Lisbon, you are not allowed to flush your toilet paper. This may come as a bit of a shock to some!! A bin is provided and is cleared regularly. It was really not a problem at all and you should not let this stop you from staying at this Guesthouse.

  • Liked — Bright colours, nice breakfast
  • Disliked — No flushing toilet paper, lots of steep stairs to get up to the Guesthouse
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I must admit I did not spend any night in there, but that was not because of my fault.
I received a confirmation mail directly fro the owners, printed and showed at the reception girl and, when arrived at night in Lisbon after a 2.000 Km trip I received the notification my room was not available because I did not have any confirmation number. The only problem was THEY did not send me any.
Moreover the tried to say they told it to me by phone, but I never phoned them.
In addition they were not able to make me have any phone call (they say they don't have any telephone, even if the give you a phone number to call in case of late arrivals) and their public phone was broken.
I fortunately find the last available room in a cheap hotel, since many others were fully booked, but what should I have done late at night if I was not able to find one?
Maybe this will not happen to you, but if it will. In my opinion these peolple should not be chosen as your host.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — People trying to say it's your fault instead of helping you trying to find a solution after their fault
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Charming place! Very friendly, English speaking staff welcomed us with big smiles. They even remembered my request (some weeks before by email) for a room with a view. We had exactly that: a wonderful view of the river and river front (Make sure you specify a room on the front when you book).
Breakfast was very practical and cosy (in the kitchen). The kitchen (with fridge+microwave) was also available for guests' use. The reception also has internet access for guests.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel B. Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel B. Mar

Address: Largo Terreiro Do Trigo, 16, - 1, Lisbon 1100-603, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alfama historical neighbourhood, Hostel B. Mar offers breakfast in its dining room overlooking Tejo River. The centrally located guest house is a 2-minute walk from the nearest bus station The property features double, triple and quadruple rooms with either a private bathroom or access to shared bathroom facilities. Some have wooden-floors and a balcony with a river view. Alfama is known for the small popular restaurants where you can hear the Fado, the Portuguese national song. These restaurants, which serve Portuguese traditional meals, are accessible through a short 3-minute walk from the property. The guest house has an equipped kitchen, accessible to all guests wishing to prepare their meals at their own leisure and enjoy them in the dining room which overlooks the Tagus River. Free WiFi is available in the lounge area and it also has 2 working computers for guest usage. The lounge features a flat-screen TV, sofas and a seating area overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel B. Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel B. Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.