We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Rua Da Gloria ,43 | Lisbon, Lisbon 1250-115, Portugal
+351 939 615 623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 2,539 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We have facility to provide Halal also on demand.
Lolo, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our group tried 6 different dishes and everything we ordered was fantastic! The service is top notch and atmosphere nice and cozy. This might have been my favorite place to eat while we were in Portugal! A definite must if you go to Lisbon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    89
    29
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Food was delicious, it was fresh and many menu choices. We arrived late to lunch (2:30 pm) just as they were closing and they opened it back up for our group. great service very accomidating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“AMAZING INDIAN! Great for all especially vegetarians.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staying in Lisbon for 5 days and SO HAPPY to find Tamarind! A much needed break from horrible vegetarian options at typical Portugese restaurants and the so-so "vegetarian specific" restaurants we have unhappily tried again and again. It was the best indian food I have ever had! It is conveniently located behind (below) a beautiful lookout on Liberdade Avenue and is just north of Rosio Square. It was less than a 10 minute walk to the Bairo Alto / Chiado bar area after dinner which was great. I couldn't find the hours online beforehand but the waitress told me lunch is from 12-3 and dinner from 7pm on. We went at 6 and had to bide our time at the beautiful lookout point which was a nice way to pass the time. Great experience overall!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent food, friendly and skilled service. Was a great break from a steady diet of meat/fish in Portuguese restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very fresh and nice Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

But the wines are expensive.
The food is fresh, modern, light, full of flavour - better than many restaurants in India.
English spoken. Nice staff.
It is located in a back street- just behind and along Avenida da Liberdad. The tram is on the beginning of this street. The restaurant further away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.