We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar dos Presuntos

Solar dos Presuntos
Rua Das Portas de St0 Antao, 150, Lisbon 1150-269, Portugal (Baixa)
(+351) 21 342 42 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 2,625 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $168
Cuisines: Seafood, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants we went to during our stay in Lisbon. We ordered garlic and oil clams for starter, which were delicious. Ham, speciality of the house, was already on the table as an appetizer, together with other meats, and it was also very tasty. For main I had a special fish of the day, baked cod, which was superb and really generous portion. My husband ordered lobster curry, which was ok, lobster was tasty but the sauce was less so. We finished the meal with ice cream (very good almond ice cream) and baked custard (similar to creme catalana). The bill was quite high in comparison to other places we ate at in Lisbon but the quality of the food and the service in the restaurant were definitely worth it. You even leave with a carnation!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    595
    149
    61
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Classy place with classic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This place has style. Alll the way from the service to the dessert. Sure it cost more. But all in all it is worth it. Please go for the portuguese classics on the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

An absolute must for fish lovers! A bit pricey for Lisbon, but worth it! Traditional Portuguese cuisine served by traditional moustached waiters)))) huge portions, good wine selection and nice interior ( nothing special, though). As everywhere in Lisbon they bring you small compliments and then include in your bill - but take their cheese and jamon anyway) great with vino verde -it'll make your evening!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not among the best restaurants in Lisbon!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

First impression was very good, but it was all down hill from there. Got starters as soon as we sat down. We had not ordered it, but it was good to start of with a snack. Taking our order and receiving the food went very slow.. It took an hour to get the main course. Nothing special about the food here. Many other places to explore for a much more decent price. This was below average for me..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great seafood and dessert, especially the dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was there with a group of 8 businessmen. We had a variety of different seafood dishes including the sea bass, sole, cod and some had the shared seafood assortment tower. Everyone was very pleased with their seafood choices. Some had veal which was reportedly also very good. The wine list contained many Portuguese wines, some had whites, I shared a bottle of Duas Quintas which was excellent. We ending up going there on two consecutive nights, for the seafood but mostly for the outstanding Chocolate Meringue [Merengue de Chocolate] dessert, which the restaurant proudly boasts in the menu "the Best in the World". I would have to say that if it is not the best it is certainly close to the best and if you like chocolate and meringue, the combination served here is exquisite! The restaurant has been open since 1974 and was quite crowded with locals so we knew it was a great choice!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solar dos Presuntos also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Solar dos Presuntos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar dos Presuntos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.