We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Rio Coura

Restaurante Rio Coura
30 Rua de Augusto Rosa, Se, Lisbon 11000, Portugal
218 869 867‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #605 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Skivarp, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“By the castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

very nice little restaurant close to the castle and the cathedral. Perfect service, good seafood and a perfect place to sit down for a lunch and a beer after the long climbing to the castle. despite that this is in the middle of the tourist stream most of the visitors were locals and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    129
    30
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I disagree with the nice comments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After reading the nice comments on trip advisor, I decided to go to this very traditional restaurant.
Maybe is just me but there's a very characteristic smell inside the restaurant, the food is not fresh at all, it's cheap but I really can't recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A small, modest restaurant, with good food and good sangria, at a decent price!
We had the starter, cod fish meat loafs, a traditional soup and a sea shells soup ( that I loved ) and a mix fish plate for two, consisting of salmon, sea bass, sardinas and a squid. We also had potatoes with the fish, everything was delicious! We also had 1 liter of white sangria, an almond cake and 2 coffees and we paid 45 euros, including the tip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Seafood Rice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The restaurant was decorated in a very local style! The food are mostly typical Portuguese which involves lots of seafood! Try the seafood rice especially! On top of it, don't forget the white house wine too ;)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pay attention to the bill! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The seafood rice that we ate was really nice, but later we got 26 euros bill instead of 19, 5. Every meal and drinks we took were charged with a higher price, plus we were asked to pay for a starter, which we didn't order - bread and cheese. Anyway, we said we not gonna pay the "extra" and the owner was acting like it was a mistake, which obviously wasn't the case.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Rio Coura also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante Rio Coura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Rio Coura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.