We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Rio Coura

Restaurante Rio Coura
30 Rua de Augusto Rosa, Se, Lisbon 11000, Portugal
218 869 867‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #606 of 2,352 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Alton Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Passed by on way down from castle. Saw Trip Avisor sign showing 4 blobs. You must be joking. My wife and I, wanting something normal, each ordered an omelette. They took a longtime to arrive, and they were greasy, over cooked and cold and served with lumpy cold rice and poor quality fries. Avoid at all costs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    129
    30
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I miss grilled octopus in my life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Fresh seafood for that price? I'm sold. I've tried grilled octopus, grilled squid and mix grilled fish so far — no complaints. Everything is perfectly cooked, and even though the presentation is miles away from haute cuisine, that's not really the point here. You should also be ready for things like drops of soup on the sides of the plate or wet bottom of beer glasses — but again, not the point. Family run tiny restaurant with homemade portuguese cuisine for ridiculous price and with cozy atmosphere, gotta love it.
At nights tends to be pretty busy, but around 6pm almost empty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good for a quick dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Fresh seafood with very modest service. Good value for money place. We had grilled salmon and grilled chicken. Definitely the fish won! Service is very modest with some language barrier. Have not tried the sweets but table wine (white) was excellent. The restaurant has good location but no open air facility. Recommended for couples or max 4 people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Local, cheap, great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We found the place walking up to Castello, and were attracted by the restaurant being full and good prices. 10minutes waiting inside was very worth the experience! Interior is nothing special but tHe seafood and the house white wine was just amazing!
Definitely recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

When we travel we want to meet the locals and experience the places that they like to go for a meal. This restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel staff. There is nothing fancy about this place but it was good. Service was not very quick but we weren't in a hurry. Basic portuguese food without the tourist price tag.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Rio Coura also viewed

Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 
Lisbon, Estremadura
Lisbon, Estremadura
 

Been to Restaurante Rio Coura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Rio Coura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.