We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima to your Saves list
Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Santo Antonio, Fatima 2495, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Serene stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I travelled on the bus from Lisbon to Fatima. Although the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the bus terminal, I found it a bit tricky finding my way to the hotel having looked unsuccessfully online for a local map showing both the hotel address and the bus station. However I asked a shopkeeper for directions and she was most obliging. After finding the hotel it was a pleasure from there on. The lady at front desk gave me a different room so I could check in early. The hotel room was quiet and spacious with a large bathroom - all newly fitted out to good specifications. Other reviews I read described the hotel as sterile but I disagree, the room was uncluttered, calm and understated but this did not mean it was lacking at all with the requirements of a 4 star hotel, plus beautiful meaningful artwork and a simple bedside book giving details of the apparitions. The hotel itself is cleverly designed to make maximum use of natual light from above which made the interior feel open and serene. The Basilica is very close - only a few minutes walk away. The hotel dinning room was large and I compliment the way they place the tour groups together in a lower section. I travelled solo and in the past in hotels in places like Lourdes it can be overwhelming dining in a noisy dining room next to tour groups. The food was adequate and very reasonably priced (eg: 2 euro for a bowl of soup) although I only ate soup for dinner and the set breakfast so cannot comment on the rest of the menu. Overall I found the hotel calm and serene while still provinding all the comfort of a 4 star hotel. A special mention and thanks to the kind barman America Graca who made great hot chocolate after a cold evening candlelight procession.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
80
68
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is very close to the Sanctuary. I made an error with my booking and came a day late but staff at reception very helpful. Room and bathroom spacious very clean. I asked for a quiet room and away from lifts and this was honoured. Would recommend this hotel very highly and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Hope to see you soon!
Our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is operated by the Marto family members. It has been rehab'd and is very comfortable. It is very close to the Sanctuary and offers indoor parking.
The restaurant was excellent- usually we try eating out, but the availability of a good restaurant leaves something to be desired; so- we decided to eat in. A great choice !
Good rates, good rooms, good location and good food. That is a great starting point and what more can I say ?

Room Tip: We had no problem. Our room was in front, over entry. Would take the same again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We apprecite your review!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I chose Santa Maria because of location. Having been there 20 years ago, I knew it was within walking distance to the Basilica & Chapel. The renovations make this hotel a 4-star experience. The staff was very friendly & pleasant, the rooms were clean & well done, and the lobby was handsome. The hotel breakfast buffet included freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, and plenty of choices inclg scrambled eggs, croissants, and cakes. I remembered the hotel restaurant as being extremely good at dinner also so we visited this time and found it to be the same: two cloth table coverings at each table, good dishes and silverware; attentive waiters; an elegant dining experience. Directly across the street from the hotel is a small place where you can have a pastry or sandwich inexpensively for lunch. I recommend Santa Maria Hotel for its friendly attendants, good rooms, location,and restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Santa Maria Hotel when you visit Fátima.
We hope to be able to serve you always with our highest standards.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were so impressed by the excellent 5-star customer service given to us by the restaurant staff, the front desk guy, lobby attendant, and the hotel manager of Hotel Santa Maria. In this sleepy and holy town of Fatima, we were treated so well, we thought we were billeted in a 5-star resort.
Aside from the 5-star customer service , the facilities of this hotel is simply great. Clean rooms with modern furnishings, wide spacious lobby, and large dining area that serves daily delicious continental breakfast. You can also order ala carte lunch or dinner from the same restaurant/bar.
We had a concern with regard to our room, and the hotel manager immediately solved the problem. We had questions about how to go about visiting key tourist spots within Fatima, and the front desk guy immediately helped us by giving us tips on where to go. Thank you to the friendly and sincere accommodation given to us by the hotel staff.
We would highly recommend Hotel Santa Maria for their excellent customer service and clean modern facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review.
Hope to see soon again!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The location was only a short walk from the sanctuary so the location was excellent. The common areas including the bar were large and inviting. The weather was cool and rainy so the wood burning fire place added an inviting cozy smell there. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel which was fairly standard. The place was fresh, new and modern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for the review.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Santa Maria Hotel in Fatima is a new and a very nice hotel with a modern twist. Room rate is very moderately priced and affordable. You get a room that is big for european setting, very spacious and clean, bed is comfortable, bathroom is huge. Free in room Wifi, Buffet Breakfast (not that extravagant but better than a continental breakfast). What else can you ask for.
Although, they got only a handful of staffs, they are friendly and accomodating. Guest should be flexible enough to get a cup or glass at the dining area since the dining staffs are few and not all understand english that well. One should also know that they are Portugese and not Spanish, so speaking spanish is of little help not only in the hotel but also outside the hotel.

Going to the Basilica is just less than 5 minutes walk. From the front entance you can exit to your left walk straight ahead it will bring you to the Holy Trinity, Chapel of Apparition and the Basilica. You can ask from the front desk for a map which includes the schedule for the regular mass, rosary and procession. You can find a lot of religious articles and souvenirs near the Holy Trinity and prices are almost the same in each store.

Should you wish to have lunch or dinner, I suggest you look for a restaurant near the souvenir shops which normally will close around 9pm. Since the hotel is very quiet and staffs are few it may not meet the expectation of their guest.

Getting to Santa Maria hotel from Lisbon (Lisboa) airport is about 1 hour and 30 minutes by car about 80 kilometers. You can also take a bus from the central station, which will be less than 2 hours ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSousa, Gerente de relações com clientes at Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Santa Maria Hotel.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima

Address: Rua de Santo Antonio, Fatima 2495, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fatima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fatima
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santa Maria is located in the heart of Fátima, close to the Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Hotel Fatima

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Maria Hotel -- Fatima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.