We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a 4 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anjo de Portugal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Anjo de Portugal to your Saves list
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Anjo de Portugal, 24, Fatima 2495-415, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a 4 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a while at a 4 star hotel that is really up to its stars. This hotel is new, modern, clean, in great location, the value is incredibly economic for a 4star and the service is fantastic. I wish they had more 4 stars hotels like this in the world! Totally recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    78
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
90
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is very minimalist, and feels a bit like a barracks, probably in keeping with the pilgrimage theme. However, the rooms contained all of the essentials and are reasonable spacious with nice bathrooms. The staff was very helpful. It is a 5 minute walk to the basilica and in a quiet neighborhood. Also, it is excellent value for money. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This seems to be a fairly new, modern hotel....minimilist design. Close to the Fatima Sanctuary. I would rate it as an excellent 3-star instead of a 4-star because the rooms were somewhat small and there were limited facilities (no gym/pool). However, rooms were extremely clean, bathroom was well equipped. Excellent fast and Free internet :-))) . There was safe in the cupboard, but it was not fixed to anything, so rather useless! Good rate out of season, but I suspect that the rate will be very different during the high season, or the pilgramage to Fatima.
Breakfast was OK, did not try the dinner facilities although the restaurant loooked nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Sactuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My mother and I found this to be perfect. The location was a short walk to the Basilica. We had a view of the church from our 5th floor room. The color scheme felt clean, minimalist, new, and relaxing. Breakfast buffet was excellent, but even better was our dinner. The food was surprisingly good and interesting, with kind and helpful service at a very reasonable price. Amenities are good; we used the electric kettle and enjoyed the bath. Wi-fi was a bit spotty, but staff happily reset it, and then it worked. We highly recommend this lovely hotel, and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: High floor with view of the Basilica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There are two ways of ranking this hotel: value and amenities/service. We have ranked it on value. The amenities/service criterion would not have been so high because it definitely falls short of four-star expectations. The room is generally under-supplied (e.g. kettle & tea but no coffee and no way of getting any because the dining room was closed) and is decidedly short on storage space. There was no help with bags. But when it comes to value it is quite outstanding and the shortcomings elsewhere become insignificant.

Our fifth-floor room was about 266 square feet and looked on to the basilica. The room and the entire hotel was bright and fresh. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We had an excellent dinner but breakfast was as minimalist as the decor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A real 4 star hotel at 2 - 3 stars price (we paid Euro 52 through Bookings.com, incl breakfast). Quite modern and new, clean, well equipped (TV with foreign channels, fridge, kettle) spacey enough comfortable bathroom, excellent beddings, amenities. Very well located (5 minutes walk away from entrance of the sanctuary). Underground parking included. Helpful and friendly staff (although in few number, but at this price this is understandable). Complete buffet breakfast. From what we experienced (light late dinner upon arrival) the restaurant serves well prepared dishes at very reasonable price. In a nutshell, a place we highly recommend considering the price in a high "touristic" location where such establishments could easily take advantage of the situation. Note: service is rated average only because the tight number of staff obliged us to carry to and from our room our luggage ourselves both upon arrival and departure. Otherwise staff was excellent, notably in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The colours are cool and you can focus on your pilgrimage.
A good hotel and with the right room (like ours), you can see the church from your bed.
At weekend nights everything gets a little noisy at night, with people yelling in ecstasy in the streets ( no fun!) and processions walking by all the day.
So if you are not here for the holy mother maybe another hotel with a nicer bar ( see my restaurant choices in Fatima) will bring you more fun...
If you are here for pilgrimage that is the place to be. Everything was clean and new and the professional staff remained friendly and helpful when we had complains.
Very good!

Room Tip: Room with view to church in the 4th or 5th floor, great experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Anjo de Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anjo de Portugal

Address: Rua Anjo de Portugal, 24, Fatima 2495-415, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Fatima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Fatima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anjo de Portugal 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Anjo de Portugal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anjo de Portugal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.