We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa to your Saves list
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Particular, Estoril 2769-504, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Estoril
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights on our recent trip to Portugal. We got a good value deal on Trivago and my bf's parents had stayed here previously and had recommended it to us. We were certainly not disappointed!

The service is excellent, the staff friendly and efficient. The breakfast was an extensive buffet with lots of variety, with every taste catered for. I especially enjoyed the champagne each morning and the pancakes! The pool area was beautiful, very peaceful and well kept, a lovely spot to pass an afternoon in the sun.

Location is very central, beside Estoril station and in close proximity to bars restaurants and the casino.

The one negative for us was the room; although clean and well-appointed, it was quite small, especially considering the hotel's 5 star status.

Overall the hotel is a wonderful place for a couple of nights rest and relaxation!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    90
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
191
8
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfect location, very attentive staff. In case you have the budget, I can only recommend to enjoy a stay at this classic, historic grand hotel. Not only the hotel, but also the food is amazing there and the amenities like the pool are also recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huncoat
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is truly 5 star from the excellent spa and gym facilities to the wonderful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for 6 nights on B&B. Breakfast was very good standard buffet style with egg orders delivered to your table. Silver teapots with superb Ahmad London Tea, served by waiters in white jackets!
Rooms are traditional style rather then contemporary which is fitting with the hotels age ( built in 1930 ) and history. Molton Brown & towels replenished daily, beds turned down around 6pm with a chocolate each
Given the Ian Fleming link you must try a 007 Martini in the Spies Bar, but be ready to pay about 15 Euros.
The hotel is within walking distance of Estoril Beach ( 5 minutes ), train station ( 5 minutes ), Monte Estoril ( 15 minutes ) and Cascais ( 30 minutes )
If we return to Estoril then I cannot imagine staying elsewhere, 10/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

the hotel is a nice hotel but nothing extraordinary really in comparison to other 5 star hotels. i was staying there at a preferential rate because i was there for work as part of a conference but if i would have stayed at the full rate of 475euro per night on holidays i would have been much more vocal about my dislikes and probably very disappointed.

my room was facing the street and they had work on the road with some noise all day starting from early morning, breakfast was average, you had pretty much everything but everything of average quality. the outdoor pool was very nice and the staff also super nice and helpful. the service to the pool lounge very slow, one day the menu but gave up on ordering when realising how it would have taken to get a sandwich...another day they forgot to clean my room and when they did they never hoovered it, considering that they had carpet all over and that it's a 5 star hotel i would have expected a different attention to these type of details. outside my window there was also a lot of birds poo...
the indoor dynamic pool is also nice but went twice - once it worked, the next time the guy could not get it to work so i end up swimming instead of relaxing in the jacuzzi. i have also asked if i could have taken a fitness class at the gym and they asked for a 20 euro fees for 50 mins spinning class...overall nice but nothing to rave about. if you go on holidays youcan surely find better quality at a better deal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We got off the cruise and from the first moment we stepped into this hotel we were impressed.
Yes: all the adjectives have been used and how can I heap more praise on this extraordinary establishment? This is a truly 5-star hotel with incredible staff from every department: from the gentleman Jose who had been the doorman since 1951, to the chambermaids who did a superb job everyday, to all the dining venue attendants: they never missed a beat and attended to every detail. This type of professionalism is hard to find this day and age. We took meals in the grand breakfast room, lunch in the Terrace Café, dinner in the Four Seasons Grill: all wonderful experiences. The Golf Sales department also deserves a "thankyou" :it rained for two solid days when we could not golf on our golfpackage, and they made special arrangements for us to have complementary dinners which we really appreciated. We look forward to returning to this very special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived from the airport and were told our room was not ready which I had expected. We were asked to wait but were told "We have a wonderful room for you". When we returned we were shown the room which was 126. I said I had booked a Deluxe Superior room and I did not think this was in that category. After some discussion and phone calls we were shown another room 328 which was bigger and told there was nothing else available. I later on went on to the website and on reading the descriptions would suggest 126 was a Classic room and 328 was a Superior room. Neither was a Deluxe Superior which is what I booked with my agent. I complained to my agent and when I paid my bill they had agreed to reduce my bill by 30 euros a night. Would they have done this if I had not complained?

I look at it this way:

If I went into a BMW showroom and ordered and paid for a BMW 7 Series and they delivered a BMW3 Series I would say I had not been given fair value.

The Hotel public rooms are stunning and the pool area very attractive. The staff worked hard and worked well and I am sure had I got the level of room I had expected I might have written a different report.

This report is here as a warning to others.

Room Tip: If you book a Superior room 328 has a balcony which I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Palacio Estoril Hotel for nine days in September. This really is a five star hotel. It is a beautiful building, maintained to a very high standard. The staff are well-trained, extremely professional and courteous. The hotel has a lovely pool, which is in superb condition.

The hotel sits in beautiful grounds in the centre of Estoril. There is little to do in Estoril and the choice of restaurants is poor. However, the train station is only a 7/8 minute stroll from the hotel, and regular trains run from there to Cascais, which is a beautiful place with an extensive choice of restaurants. In the other direction, the train runs to Lisbon.

We had a superior room which was fairly large and well-appointed. Unfortunately, the television, was old and offered a limited choice of channels.

Breakfast was very good, I did not dine in the hotel and bar prices were on the high side..

The only negative feature of our stay was a wedding which was held in the hotel on the Saturday. No problem at all until just after one o'clock on Sunday morning, when we were wakened by deafening music. This continued until four o'clock. I did not anticipate that in a hotel of this class.

Room Tip: Pool-facing rooms have the best views - but if there is a wedding on during your stay, opt for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Rua Particular, Estoril 2769-504, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
#1 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
#1 Spa Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the glamorous Palácio Estoril,with its splendid classical surroundings offer the height of elegance and comfort, distinguished by our worldwide renowned hospitality. Situated in the heart of Estoril, just a 20 minute drive from Lisbon, the Palacio is a luxury five star hotel enjoying beautifully landscaped gardens and magnificent sea views. The Hotel Palacio offers its guest’s special privileges to play the Estoril Golf Course, owned by the hotel, and located only one kilometer away. Following services and facilities are available within the hotel: a 4000sm wellness centre with Banyan Tree Spa and thermal waters.Renovated utdoor swimming pool with a poolside snack bar.All facilities for reception parties, banquets, meetings and conferences in a most distinguished atmosphere. On its doorstep, a wealth of leisure and cultural activities include the famous casino, modern congress centre as well as white sandy beaches and exclusive golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Escapio, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf Hotel Estoril
Palacio Hotel Estoril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Estoril Hotel, Golf and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.