We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Londres to your Saves list
Hotel Londres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Fausto de Figueiredo 279, Estoril, Cascais 2765-412, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Estoril
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A word of warning if planning to walk from the train station with luggage, it is quite a hill!

That in itself is nothing the hotel can do anything about. However, the hotel itself was disappointing. I was staying in a single room but even so it was very small. Despite the website saying all rooms have a balcony it did not. It actually felt like I was staying in a child’s bedroom and as there were two rooms within a shared second door I suspect I was!

There was a step up into the bathroom and an apparently lowered ceiling which meant that anyone taller than around 5 foot 10 would struggle to get under the fixed showerhead. This is a shame as the shower was powerful although it proved too much for the plughole so I had to keep turning it on and off!

Breakfast was below average in terms of choice and quality.

Overall feels more like a 2 star than a 3 star hotel.

On the plus side the public areas including pool are nice.

Room Tip: Ensure you are given a newly renovated room and it actually has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    107
    71
    20
    12
See reviews for
60
101
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel Londres is ideally placed if you wish to combine Lisbon City with a beach holiday. it's very convenient to all public transport. The rooms are very clean and adequate. Breakfast was tasty, fresh and plentiful. Staff were helpful when we asked to move room as there was quite alot of traffic noise outside our room in the early morning with cleaners accessing equipment and guests departing,.There's nothing to do in Estoril outside of the hotel. Pinto's restaurants nearby are disgraceful and are not not reflective of good quality in nearby Cascais.It's so worth the walk along the promenade to Cascais to get a decent evening meal.
I had a horrendous experience in the shopping centre in Cascais. I had to strip down and empty my bag as a shop assistant in the perfume shop called security guards. I hadn't even sprayed their products as I suffer from allergies and carry an anapen. i was speeechless and extremely upset. Thankfully my friend was with me. It was sooo alien to me to be treated as a potential thief, a suspect, not a potential customer. My advice is DO NOT ENTER perfume shops. i can't imagine how the Mc Canns got through their ordeal. It really spoliled my memory of Portugal. Often, in the past I have holidayed alone but this unsavoury experience put the fear of God in me.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you wish to sleep until 9am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved to stay in this hotel due to its great location, great accommodation and friendly staff. My room was very nice and modern and with a great view to the hotel’s swimming pool.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I loved the launch room and the bar and I spent some pleasant time in that common area.
The breakfast was also nice with different qualities of bread, sweets, scramble eggs, cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit. The only negative aspect I can point is having a sort of ‘express machine’ with cappuccinos, powdered milk, coffee with milk, and so on, and not having real hot milk (in milk heaters) and coffee.
I had the opportunity to have dinner in the hotel’s restaurant and the food was delicious. It was self service with two different dishes at our disposal, several deserts and beverages for 15 euros.
It is important to say that with the payment of a bail (which is returned at the end if all is OK) we can have access to a hairdryer. In the hotel’s website this is not clear and for me it is very important aspect when I am looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

myself and partner stayed at the hotel on the 26/5/2012 we found the hotel very dated but clean the staff are very friendly the food was OK.had three evening meals 15 euros per head with a bottle of wine and it was OK.the downside of the stay was the hike up the hill.and not much to do in estoril.if you go to the train station at the bottom of the hill you can get a train to-Lisbon.com cascais. witch is a nice place to visit.on the way back to the hotel if you don't fancy walking up the hill get a taxi for 4 euros. the pool area is not very private it is in a residential area but don't worry about sun beds nobody used the pool while we stayed there.when arriving at airport the taxis charge 49 euros for a half hour drive.if you get the air bus to lisbon it will cost you 4 euro then 4 euros for train to estoril then 4 euros for taxi up the hill to the hotel.but on your return journey back to airport book a taxi from hotel at a standard charge of 37 euros.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking pool would be better try to avoid rooms on roadside single glazing so very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is a walk out of town up a steep hill. I booked this place based on the reviews I’d read on Tripadvisor. I have to say I didn’t entirely agree with many of the Tripadvisor review. I found the place to be unremarkable, bland and dull. Reception staff were polite and checked us in quickly and explained everything quite accurately. The room was on the ground floor and horrible. Really depressing and featureless. The beds were so hard it was a joke. The tv was placed at such an angle it was almost impossible to see it. The whole room smelt like sweaty feet. The balcony overlooked a road. I went to reception and complained, they were quite gracious and gave us another room the next day which was on the first floor – Another unremarkable, featureless room but the beds were softer and there wasn’t such a bad smell. The room overlooked the garden.

We were on a half board basis, the buffet dinner was never hot enough and the food wasn’t very good. There always seemed to be a scramble though at meal times. Breakfast was average.

I wouldn’t stay here again nor would I recommend it. I would suggest the staff and owners stay a few days in one of the rooms and then they will understand my points above.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Like a previous review we stayed at Hotel Londres for a week as part of package with the Travel Department and I must say this package was excellent and a special mention to Teresa our Tour Guide! Hotel Londres is what it is a bit dated in decor but clean and comfortable and the staff efficient and friendly. We were in a room with a view to the garden which was lovely and peaceful. On our free days we walked along the seafront to Cascais and enjoyed both the town and the people watching on our walk there. If we were to go back it would probably be independently and we would be happy to stay in the Hotel Londres.

Room Tip: obviously rooms to the pool and garden side are preferably. we were in room 135 (garden view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel was used for a weeks package with the Travel Department whose package overall was good value with good included excursions. The hotel is up a steep hill from the "centre" of Estoril where there are few shops and not much to see but walking the long promenade to Cascais is very pleasant, great sea and beach views and this bigger resort has all the shops pubs and restaurants you could ask for.
Hotel Londres is a tourist hotel,mainly for "older" bus parties, not really a family hotel, a bit dated, 70's style balconies; rooms at the front numbers100-103, 200-203, 301-303 overlooked the busy street where there was a lot of traffic noise early and late, but the rooms further along overlooked the pool and gardens; we had a street view!
The hotel staff were pleasant enough and fairly efficient with most queries dealt with although the bar was not always covered. The meals were on a buffet basis so there was plenty of food but it was a bit boring and uninspiring. For the diet concious there was always plenty of veg, salads and fruit although the latter was mostly of the tinned variety.
Breakfast was a bit caotic with cutlery in different places, hot plates not obvious, sausages were of the tinned hot dog variety and but there was a range of breads/rolls, cereals, cold meat and salads and fruit. The variety of teas was good but all the coffees from the machines were very strong and the "milk" creamy; pretty horrible. Take a travel kettle!
The ensuite bedroom was again a bit dated and basic, but clean and comfortable with good air-con. The power points were obviously sited for the benefit of hoovering; the ones under the dressing table weren't easily accessible. The shower was off the mains so the temperature fluctuated quite badly so a scauld was as possible as hypothermia! Expect to flood the floor too!
The pool and terrace were quiet places to relax and the lack of young children was a bonus.
A visit to the Casino left us underwhelmed; smokers at machines and in bar areas, drinks and coffee more expensive than prom ones, and mostly wall to wall fruit machines, not the luxurious and glamorous interior we expected and the staff uniforms like 70's air hostesses; not flattering at all; give it a miss.
The public transport is very efficient and cheap although a bit dated but it still puts the UK's to shame.
Lisbon centre in 35 mins for 2.5 euros each way! There is a lot to see in the "downtown" area with lots of street cafes and bars but don't expect fast service (unless you're a local) or haute cuisine and you will be plagued by street sellers (sunglasses and scarves etc) and "buskers" harassing you after playing something tuneless beside each table. For a good meal leave the downtown area and wander up hills and side streets for old traditional establishments and very reasonable fare.

Room Tip: ask for a higher number room away from the front of hotel/ street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Londres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londres

Address: Avenida Fausto de Figueiredo 279, Estoril, Cascais 2765-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Londres 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL 118 ROOMS REFURBISHED SINCE APRIL 2015! Location: The newly rebuilt Hotel Londres is an intimate quality hotel in the heart of Estoril, minutes from the train station, beach and congress centre. Europe's largest casino, set in magnificent gardens, is a top quality entertainment centre and only 500m from the Hotel Londres. Rooms Each of the tastefully decorated 118 rooms has a balcony, free wifi by Cisco, cable TV, individual climate control, hairdryer, USB port and a safe. The hotel has no full carpeting. Restaurant and bar An open plan bar overlooks the pool area and there's a play area for children in the garden. The American buffet style breakfast is served in the restaurant where lunches and dinners are also taken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Londres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londres Hotel Estoril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.