We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very helpful staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amazonia Estoril Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amazonia Estoril Hotel to your Saves list
Amazonia Estoril Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Engenheiro, Alvaro Pedro de Sousa 175, Estoril 2795-191, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Estoril
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not very helpful staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Between arriving at the hotel and getting to the room it took us 1 hour. First, there wasn't anyone in the reception for 20 minutes. After, there was a communication problem between the hotel and Booking.com. Instead of giving us the room and then solving the problem (it was their problem) the guy made us wait for 40 min. Getting to the room, we saw that there were two single beds instead of a double bed. We asked to change rooms, but he said that he would have to charge an extra to change to another room (this information wasn't available in the website we booked).
Aside that the hotel is very modern and clea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The apartment had everything we needed and more. It was very clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet residential area, but there is easy access to the beach, the railways station and buses. It is a lovely walk from Cascais and felt safe at all times. I would definitely recommend it to anyone, but if you have walking problems be aware the this is a hilly area and there is a walk uphill from the beach to the hotel. I think it would be difficult to negotiate the pavements with a wheelchair owing to the condition of some and the number of cars obstructing them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Spent 6 nights here at the end of October/early November. Had a top floor studio which had a large balcony and sea view. Room was large, simply furnished, clean, good twin beds, and fully functional. Good selection of English language channels with entertainment on TV.
Breakfast not included, but the room came with a small kitchenette area with fridge and microwave.
Plenty of free parking on site. Free room safe (slightly unusual one, no instructions, so better ask reception). I managed to lock it, but not open it - reception were happy to come and do that, and explain setting procedure. The safe was not actually secured to anything, but I suppose it is a fairly heavy thing to carry away!
Took the train into Lisbon each day (35 minutes). Seemed to be a much better option than struggling with the traffic.
Excellent restaurant very close (just before the casino) - the one with a large glass terraced area for dining.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Considering I just left a "less expensive 5 star" hotel on the Atlantic with superb service and amenities, this was by far a GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT. Come on,,,,foam pillows and towels that looked like they were taken from a local gymnasium and breakfast that for the most part came out of a can. Yes there were a few pieces of fresh fruit, but they were mixed in with canned fruit and there was a limited selection of pastries that for sure had been there for a few days. The lady at check in was less than helpful when we inquired about a dinner place. I've traveled the world and only once did I leave a day earlier than planned. Amazonia you were disappointia....

Room Tip: The Cascade in Lagos was awesome..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Spent a week in one of the studio apartments. It was decorated all in white, including the furniture and was very spacious. It was very modern and clean. There were two balconies and two televisions, one in the bedroom area and one in the living area. The kitchen area was fine for making tea or coffee but there wasn't much equipment if you wanted to cook there all the time. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a quiet area, not far from the seafront and the station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Good location, less than 10 minutes walk to the beach and railway station, but away from main centre, so pleasantly quiet.
Compact, some 35 rooms, exceptionally clean, spacious, friendly staff and pleasant lounge / public areas. Decent pool area with plenty of sun loungers, tables and chairs. Towels provided at no extra charge. Pool unheated and quite compact.
Breakfast - same options each day, self service hot and cold selection – nothing fancy but quality o.k. Watch out the coffee can be very strong!
Evening meal options available, but we didn’t try these so unable to comment.
Bar and snack prices very reasonable for a 4 star hotel and service good.
Wi-fi available at €1.50 per hour, which is reasonable, although free would be nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room complete with kitchenette and the room proved ideal for us. Plenty of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We found this hotel ((eventually) a stones throw from the Estoril Casino ((but don't let that put you off....it's very quiet). First impressions were slightly odd, not the usual reception area you might expect, a bit more 'discreet' we found. However, after 24 hours we discovered the staff to be very friendly and helpful but not 'in your face'. Hotel is modern and minimalist but had most things you would need. We stayed on a B&B basis and found the breakfast to be very good with both hot and cold dishes. Room service was daily and car parking was free. It was an 8 minute walk each morning down to the seafront and 20 minutes or so into Cascais....a pleasant walk. The walk back from the seafront was a little slower as the hotel is uphill. Not too strenuous, I'm 62.

One criticism. Athough the pool and surrounding area was pleasant, grab your sunbed early as there were, at times, not enough.

Overall though, if you're looking for a thoroughly modern hotel, central and quiet, I can recommend this one.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building, not the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazonia Estoril Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazonia Estoril Hotel

Address: Rua Engenheiro, Alvaro Pedro de Sousa 175, Estoril 2795-191, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazonia Estoril Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amazonia Estoril Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazonia Lennox Hotel Estoril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazonia Estoril Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.