We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estoril Eden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Estoril Eden Hotel to your Saves list
Estoril Eden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Saboia 209 | Monte-Estoril, Estoril 2769-502, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Estoril
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“October break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently spent a week in the Estoril Eden Hotel with a group of 26 people. We had a great time and enjoyed our stay in Estoril and Cascais very much indeed.
The Eden is very close to the seafront and is pretty much in the centre between both towns.
The train station is in front of the hotel with regular connections to Lisbon.
However, the hotel is on a height and one has to cross a highway and railway line through downhill underpasses to get to the promenade which could be a problem for people with walking difficulties. There are 46 steps down to the beach from the underpass directly in front of the hotel.
That said, taxis are available from outside the hotel and cost approx €4.50 to the centers of both towns ( min charge is €3.90)
Now to the hotel facilities. The Eden is a 4 star Aparthotel and the rooms are very large with a fully equipped kitchenette, nice dining and lounge area, very comfortable beds and a great sea-view balcony. The hotel was very clean throughout and was in line with expectations of a 4 star property.
Safes were provided in the rooms at an additional cost of €2.20 per day ( I cannot understand why hotels charge for this most essential facility?). Flat screen modern televisions were provided in all rooms offering a wide range of channels in English.
The food ( we were booked half board) was probably the best I experienced from buffets in holiday hotels in general. However, my only criticism was that the hot food was served lukewarm and probably below recommended temperatures. Unfortunately there were no microwaves available in the dining room which would have been nice for those who like hot food hot!
Bottles of wine and water were generously provided at all evening meals at no additional cost which i thought was really great.
Most staff in the hotel were very friendly and competent however, the bar staff really left the hotel down with a bang! In particular, the younger guy ( whose name I could not make out) was really off-putting. He never smiled and was slow to serve customers as he was either watching TV or playing with his mobile phone. He really did not want to serve us and did his best to make us feel unwanted.
However, overall our experiences in this hotel were positive and I would be happy to spend another holiday there again at some future time.
The indoor and outdoor pools were great and the ladies in our group were very satisfied with the Spa treatments undertaken.
Our entire group enjoyed our October sun break and the weather could not have been better!

Room Tip: Look for a sea-view room on floor 3 or higher as below this level the vegetation in the pool area im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    95
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
45
72
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Advantages:
1. Compliments in the room on arrival - fruit and water.
2. Bidet
3. The cooking zone is fully equipped with dishes, plates, cutlery, pots, microwave, refrigerator, 2- ring stove and sink.
4. Iron is available upon request.
5. Nearby there is a train station and bus stop (for example, to go to Lisbon and Sintra, respectively)
6. There was no air-conditioner in the room, but it wasn’t hot.
7. The male part of the reception staff was polite and helpful (especially, Fabio). The woman seemed to us not too friendly.
8. Rather good breakfast.

Minuses:
1. The sauna must be booked in advance and isn’t included in the cost of the hotel. You have to pay it separately - 10 euros.
2. Poor cleaning: chambermaids don’t hoover in the rooms; the furniture on the balcony is dirty; the things are out of their places after cleaning. They make the beds poorly and often don’t put a whole set of toiletries. In addition, a chambermaid moved a bedside-table and damaged my Iphone charger which was in the receptacle behind the bedside-table.
3. In the evenings there were always wi-fi connection problems.
4. The water in the bath flows down badly, the shower isn’t removable and is fixed high. And a chambermaid doesn’t always set a shower cap.
5. Safe in the room is paid.
6. Sanitary engineering is worn and obsolete.
7. When the neighbors are cooking there is a smell of food in the room, because a hood in the kitchen area isn’t provided.
8. Disgusting coffee on breakfast.
9. When you pour boiling water for tea from a machine, some coffee always drips into your cup from a neighboring nozzle . All drink machines are obsolete.
10. When we asked at the reception to send our postcards, we were advised to go to the post-office ourselves. They explained us this by the fact that none of the hotel staff doesn’t want to go there!!!

The hotel is large and solid. But the service is too bad for a 4*hotel. There is a sense of despondency.
There is nothing to do in the hotel: a dull bar, a promised pianist played only once during a week that we spent in the hotel. But the reception staff kindly reserved us a table in Cascais Jazz Club when we asked them to do it for us.
In general this hotel disappointed us: it looks a lot better in photos than in real life. This is not a 4* hotel, but a good 3*.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Overall my stay in eden was good ... the room was massive, with a safe and good quality television - the bed was a bit lumpy but i got used to it - balcony view bearable ..the little kitchenette thing was handy with the fridge - good size bathroom with all necessary attachments ... for a british person perhaps not quite 4 stars ...but saying that as i was on my own - i feel i disappeared quite nicely ..the clientele over 55 generally - i am a young 40 , either Irish or German the week i was there ... visiting on a pilgrimage to Fatima !!.The breakfast was good - with the usual cold meets - fresh fruit and yoghurt and bacon and scrambled eggs ... and selection of pasties and cakes ... i ate there one evening and the food was to a good quality ... the indoor pool and out door pool area very good - but noisy as next to the road .....
but it was ideal for the train station which was across the busy road, near Cascais and the beach and Estoril casino if your into that

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I recently took my mum for her birthday. Having never visited Portugal at all we didn't entirely know what to expect but the Estoril area where the hotel is blew us away. It is beautiful and unspoilt and the beaches are just lovely.
The hotel itself is reasonably modern in a late 70s type of way! Very clean and you can tell it was quite grand when first built. I asked for a room on the 10th floor or above because there is a main road which runs directly next to the hotel and others had advised the noise would be less higher up. I have to say I am not convinced. If you want a beautiful sea view (and you really can't fault the stunning views from the balcony's) you do have to be prepared for the noise from the road no matter how high up your are. It is minimal if you close the balcony doors but it was very hot when we stayed and we were not keen on putting on the air con overnight - it did not bother us hugely as we are used to the city noise but I think it is important to mention.
The breakfasts weregreat, endless choice of all sorts of breakfast items from English fry-up to continental, fruits etc. etc. We ate at the hotel one night, it was a buffet and the quality of the food was poor - especailly for the price so I would not recommend going for this.
The pools are gorgeous both indoor and out and kept absolutely immaculate by the staff.
Staff and customer service in general was first class, everybody (other than one guy behind the front desk) was so polite and incredibly helpful with any questions we had. someone had even cottoned on to the fact it was my mum's birthday and when we came back to our room that afternoon they had left a bottle of port and the most beautiful tasty cake for us with 'happy birthday' written on. This really was wonderful and not something you would get everywhere.
Our rooms were cleaned daily and always left beautifully. We had a kitchenette meaning we could eat i for 2 nights and our twin room was massive with a sofa, modern telly with all channels available and free Wifi (connection in and out).
For what we paid I really feel it was fantastic value for money, very hot and quiet in September and so so well located for the station to get to Lisbon and just 10 mins walk from the magical town of Cascais. I would recommend this hotel to anyone but do be aware of the noise from the road when you go and in the shot months potentially some slight noise from the music on the beach-front bars, but really nothing major.

Room Tip: I would say as high up as possible to avoid the noise from the road and definitely state ocean-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is an aparthotel. So basically, the room has a kitchen with a fridge, some pans, some hobs, some cutleries, etc.
This can be quite useful if you do not want to eat out every day.

The location of the hotel is quite good as it is 50 meters at most from Monte Estoril station.
The minus about the location is that it is also 20 meters up. It is not a pb when you are young and healthy. But if you have troubles walking, it can be an issue.
The station being itself 10m away from the sea, you have a very nice view of the bay (if you do have a seafront view). There is a Jumbo supermarket (like Auchan) at about 15min walk away, near Cascais station.

It is a 4 star hotel so you get what you expect:
- big bathroom
- an indoor pool and an outdoor pool
- free wifi
- a big buffet breakfast

The staff were very nice especially at breakfast room.

The main minus I would give to this place is that it is starting to get old. You can notice that especially in the bathroom where you can notice some mold between tiles and some pipes starting to leak a bit.
,

Room Tip: Seafront is definitely better. However, in summer, be aware there is a bbq night every wednesday nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is located on top of a hill so that some rooms have a great view, and yet not all of them do. The quality of service is rather irregular: while some members of staff are very friendly others (including desk manager) can be simply rude.
The feeling is mostly of shabbiness, and it seems like this place has seen better times. Deco is definitely dated and not in a good way. Breakfast would be acceptable in another country with lesser quality food, for Portuguese standards it is poor and monotonous. The bars (in-door swimming pool and reception areas) are definitely not to recommend: are usually empty, are expensive and service- if any- appalling. It is accurate that it is at less than 5 minutes walk from the seafront and to Monte Estoril train station...and yet the site is boring with a rather ugly construction site just blocking a good part of the view. Further to this, to get to the esplanade you have to go under a highway and a train track and there is only one decent restaurant some 5 minutes away. Be alerted that the streets are very, very steep and should be avoided by anyone with respiratory or walking difficulties.
The housekeeping was on the slow side and the Wi-Fi (free in my case) had a rather poor connection. The kitchen area would be helpful if equipped at all...nope, not even detergent. So for instance, the only available glasses are plastic, and in the bathroom.
Toiletries extremely low quality for a four star hotel and the hairdryer useless. Mattress acceptable, pillows not so much so, towels good though. Lifts a true nightmare: not spacious, no way to know in which direction they go and slow.
I would say all in all that the dustbin in the bathroom is very iconic: an old but fairly decent bathroom and yet the dustbin is plastic (and the only one in the room also). I wouldn't recommend this place if you don't have a car or for stays longer than a couple of days. It isn't horrible, but you have much better options

Room Tip: Beware that requests are not necessarily honoured. Do ask for sea view in higher floors, otherwise v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Outdated Appliances and furniture, but ggod location and perfect ocean view. Hotel has old air conditioners, old furniture, bad wifi internet connection, some rooms and part of the hotel without internet because of the weak router.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estoril Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estoril Eden Hotel

Address: Avenida de Saboia 209 | Monte-Estoril, Estoril 2769-502, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estoril Eden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estoril Eden Hotel is located in the sea front, in Monte Estoril between Estoril and Cascais. The Hotel has 162 studio suites sound proofed, with balcony, air conditioning, TV LCD, phone, safe, mini bar and kitchenette. It also includes a panoramic restaurant, bar, pool bar and Disco Bar (only open on requset and for groups. Also 2 swimming pools (indoor heated and outdoor), jacuzzi, fitness center and Health Club with Sauna and Massage. The Hotel also has garage and parking places. Excelentconditions for Congresses, Meetings and Banqueting. The Hotel is vey well located concerning the Golf courses (special rates). FREE WI-FI available througout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Estoril Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estoril Eden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.