We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Porto, 1, Estoril 2765-271, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Estoril
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Changed my room from a very old fashioned, rather shabby room near the elevator on the 4th floor to one of their modern rooms - but these are on the road, so noisy when the trucks start up in the early morning. Not a four star experience, although good shower. Horrid hair dryer, no tea or coffee facility and cheaply put together. Minimal breakfast, although in my experience the staff were kind and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    65
    31
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
57
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel has a new and old part. I was residing in the old part. Rooms are clean and ok. However, they are missing the ameneties of a four star hotel. You have to pay for the safe, the internet is not really functioning properly and the breakfast doesn't offer too much variation for the price you have to pay. However, they have a very beautiful new pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Estoril is no doubts a charming place near Lisboa :) And Inglaterra is in very good location - near Centro do Congressos, casino and 5 minutes to railway station. 24-hour access to swimming pool. The staff is friendly. But some small drawbacks exist: the buffet breakfast was the same for all 6 days (no vegetables or different products); Internet Wi-Fi was slow, and on the -1 floor one should look for it at all corners of a room. In addition, it is really uncomfortable to run to the lobby every day for a new Wi-Fi password; bathrobes were old and nipped into holes. Thanx for fresh apples in lobby, and hope, the hotel management will find energy for improvement!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montacute, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for one week. Staff really not interested. Breakfast room too small for size of Hotel. Restaurant or bar never seemed to be open. Bathroom in our suite was tiny, your knees were touching the hand basin when using the toilet. Decor pretty shabby. I could go on, very disappointing. Only good thing was location.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel near the beach with friendly front desk staff. This was our second visit (also came July 2012) and this time we stayed 4 days. Since our last visit the hotel and pool area had been beautifully renovated (there are now18 news rooms).
First we had a room in the 'old' section on the 5th floor, it is very classic and cozy, simply put a decent room, but with an out of date bathroom and the airco was not working and with temperatures well above 30 C (100F) it was much needed.
So after three trips down to the front desk, and 2 check-ups later, we got moved to a room in the new section which was great!! New, mordern bathrooms, a balcony and airco!
Breakfast is decent (and included), but not a wide selection - 3 types of breads, yoghurt, some fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs and jam and cheese - could be more elaborate. It is served until 10.30am and by 10.15ish they start clearing the tables but on the website it says 'Breakfast service guaranteed' so I’m not sure how they go about that. My tip would be to extend breakfast until at least 11am.
We enjoyed the pool and lounge area and I also got a massage (well priced!) but the gym is absolutely useless, only broken down and out of order equipment, hope it will be the next project the hotel tackles! Also the drinks and food by the pool are expensive (€4 for a small beer).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were fortunate to arrive when they opened 12 new rooms and had on of them. These rooms are well appointed however I understand that rooms in the older part of the hotel maybe be small and require some refurbishment. The staff were helpful and accommodate all our needs. The hotel is well positioned and an easy walk to the promenade. Breakfast was very adequate however the one dinner we had in the hotel was disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to secure a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Inglaterra's location, once you've decided to stay in Estoril, is great: a short walk from the beach and train station, but on a relatively quiet street. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you're too lazy to walk down to the beach there's a pool and an outside area which are nice and well-maintained. The hotel itself, however, has seen its best day and is in need of investment. In the beginning we were put up in a room on the ground floor that smelled of mildew, but we complained and were given a room on another floor immediately. The room was ok, but all the equipment in it was used up, shabby, out-of-time. Old bed, wallpaper that has seen its best days a decade ago, an old TV set... The room was rather clean, though.
Another real mishap was the breakfast. It was monotonous, without much variety and not very healthy. One day we were served fruit juice that went bad.
I did like Estoril, it's close enough to Lisbon for an evening out in the city and far enough to be a quiet and stress-free resort town. But if I were to stay in the area I'd look hard for another hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floors facing Rua Porto, it's quieter and will probably not smell of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Rua do Porto, 1, Estoril 2765-271, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Estoril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Estoril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming and charismatic Hotel Inglaterra is located in the centre of famous Estoril walking distance to the rail station, casino and beach. The building of great architectonic beauty is a palace dating back to the start the 20th century with a personalized decoration in perfect balance of classic and contemporaneous comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Estoril
Best Western Estoril
Estoril Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.