We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante BG bar - CLOSED

Restaurante BG bar
Alemeda Columbano, 6 | Monte Estoril, Estoril, Cascais 2765-406, Portugal
351 21 464 7013
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food - bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food here was really nice, and the reastaurant has a good location with an ocean view. The staff, however, made the experience a bit less charming, as we had to wait for a long time for everything.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited late July and whilst this was not the best meal out we had all week, we did enjoy this restaurant and thought they tried hard to please. We only had the cover and then we both had the pork which was presented well and was tasty, albeit there were not lots of different flavours on the plate. Service was good, we got chilly and they were happy to move us to a table just inside where we could still enjoy the view. Speaking of which, it is probably better to request a table just inside as this then obliterates the construction site next door which is an unfortunate eyesore and makes me glad to be English from a Health and Safety point of view! Good cocktails too. This was one of our cheapest meals out all week and for that, plus a nice atmosphere, great sea views (if you turn your back on the constructon site), and friendly staff, makes it worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great views and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is a good place to go as the sun goes down. Lovely colours and views over the ocean. The food selection is limited but of a very good quality. Lots of wine choice and great cocktails!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite good, nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Food was pretty good, inside was very pleasant and the waiters were reasonably attentive. Overall it was pretty good, couldn't bring it up to 4* because it just felt average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sallanches
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing to say, just try and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant has a real good loction with a splendid view. Inside, it's very well decorated, in a modern way, but not trash. The food is well presented, and it's good, the most important thing, no? The workers are very friendly and do their best to give you satisfaction. It's an adress that for sure i will recommend and i will come back in september.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante BG bar also viewed

 
Estoril, Cascais
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante BG bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.