We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meals in our fortnight's holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tertulia do monte

Tertulia do monte
avenida saboia 515, Estoril 2765-278, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Estoril
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Wisbech
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best meals in our fortnight's holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place is a treasure. The ingredients are of the highest quality and cooked imaginatively, with flair, and most of all, extremely well. Together with a superb but reasonably priced wine list it made me realise what I miss back home. The service is attentive without being intrusive and the atmosphere welcoming. We couldn't beat this in Lisbon, Estoril or Cascais, even by paying more. It's a little hidden up the hill behind the garden, the Eden where we were staying and the Saboia near to Ray's Bar. Seek it out, but be early. It was usually full just after eight and that was at Easter time. Whether it's sea-food or meat that's your preference, you won't be disappointed. Oh, the desserts are superb as well!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    41
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Easter holidays 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Must be the best restaurant in monte estroil we have being going here for a couple of years now and the food must be the best we have eaten . Great service, great atmosphere and great prices . The quality of the food is always the same ,the presentation is lovely . Well worth a visit .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Food Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during our stay the second week in April in Monte Estoril (stayed a short 1.5 block away at Saboia Estoril) and absolutely loved both visits. As we were there in low season we were able to walk in without a reservation both times but I highly recommend making one just in case or for a group larger than two as the the restaurant is quite small, I had the Tagliatelli Carbonara and it was so good had it on both occasions. My husband had the fish one night and duck the next. Both were excellent. They are open six days a week Monday through Saturday. Closed Saturday at lunch and closed all day Sunday. Service is warm and friendly. The house wines were delicious (we only tried by the glass) and the food was worth moving to the neighborhood. The appetizers were almost the same cost as the main courses (around 10-15 Euro each) but the olives and bread brought at the beginning were very inexpensive. We did try the warm goat cheese with walnuts on bruschetta appetizer and it was so tasty. We would return in a heartbeat. We did not sample their dessert but based on everything else that came out of the kitchen I imagine that was great as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a great dinner with girlfriend. Duck legs were very tasty, and wine mixed very well with it. Some odd way starters are as expensive as main courses, but main courses are very cheap. Chocolate cake was very good dessert.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food, friendly, nice ambient..very cosy. The best in Monte Estoril!!! You feel so at ease..everything is perfect. I went in different ocasions with many friends and they all liked it.
Mousse au chocolat..Yammi Yammi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tertulia do monte also viewed

Estoril, Lisbon District
Estoril, Lisbon District
 
Estoril, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tertulia do monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tertulia do monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.