We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeking out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tertulia do monte

Tertulia do monte
avenida saboia 515, Estoril, Cascais 2765-278, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 66 Restaurants in Estoril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth seeking out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very helpful and sweet, the made us up a table away from the door when they saw this was the only table for two. They had two large tables in that night but we were by no means neglected.
The food was excellent, well presented and not overpriced. My dessert was huge! It's a tiny little place with a really nice atmosphere. We didn't find anywhere else as good in estriol. We would come here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    46
    12
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Culinary high point of our trip to Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are an American couple who have traveled quite a bit throughout Europe--we've lived in France for a couple of years--and we love to find a truly exceptional restaurant. Tertulia do Monte was the culinary high point of our week's stay in Portugal. Everything was perfectly prepared, the flavors were adventurous and delicious, and the service was perfect. My only hesitation in giving this gem a rave is that it's a quiet, understated, cozy place--I believe that it's almost better to go in expecting a neighborhood eatery and then to be blown away. Tertulia do Monte is not fancy. It has no bells and whistles. It's just a place that honors and delights in serving customers amazing food in a warm and serene setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply a lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I wanted somewhere nice to take my wife for her birthday and my two daughters. I used to live in Portugal many years ago so know the typical food and appreciate that speaking a little Portuguese means you sometimes get a better reaction than being an out and out tourist.

Decided on Tertulia da Monte after reading through the reviews here, always take these reviews as a rough guide as some always seem hell bent on being a food critic and slamming places for no reason. We were not disappointed at all with Tertulia, in fact we were delighted. The food was delicious, the service great, there when you needed left alone when you were talking, for me exactly how it should be. The restaurant was pretty full, we had made a reservation which I would recommend, we could have got in without one but what take the risk?

Party of four, we had the converts (shown in the menu and you don't have to have them)' scallops, x2,which were delicious, bruschetta with foie gras, and bruschetta with tomato and Parmesan both really nice, bottle of house wine, sea bass with risotto, x2, hake gratin and cod with potatoes, all really well presented, fresh and really flavoursome. Chocolate mouse, grilled pineapple with cinnamon and chocolate cake to finish, various soft drinks, water and a bica (like an espresso but oh so much nicer) to finish, great meal, great service and at 140€ I reckon good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good food and decent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Probably amongst the 'classiest' establishments in Monte Estoril and very popular. Starters were the same price as main courses which confused me and resulted in my family and friends either sharing one or not bothering. My steak was disappointing though others were happy with their main courses. Puddings were very good. Service began well but deteriorated as the restaurant filled up.
There is no outdoor dining here.
Despite reviews, Tertulia is not the best restaurant in Monte Estoril.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local reastaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A cozy little reastaurant in Estoril. Everyhing on the menu looked great, the fish dishes we tried were wonderful, and the cheesecake for desert as well.. All in all a very nice place worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tertulia do monte also viewed

 

Been to Tertulia do monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tertulia do monte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.