We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fado evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante a Adega

Restaurante a Adega
Largo Das Casas Novas 1, Colares 2705-177, Portugal
+351 933 925 658
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Colares
Cuisines: Portuguese, Tapas
Restaurant details
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fado evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The host made sure I had a good vegan-vegetarian options to enjoy and the evening was fun, with the singing providing an extra dimension to appreciate.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had the best lunch in 40 days of holiday.
I know what I am saying, and I did not eat sandwiches in this 40 days. I went from Belgrade in Serbia on my motorcycle via Venice, Portofino, Sanremo, Cannes, Barcelona, Mallorca, Valencia, Altea, Marbella, Cadiz, Sevilla, Lisbon and I had nice food in all these places, but, not tapas as I got in A ADEGA taberna (I say "taberna" since it does not look like proper restaurant). I had various tapas on the way, in Alicante, Cartagena, Almeria, Malaga, and I can say A ADEGA tapas are one of the best.
Tapas are not so Amazing as it is the place and atmospheres inside and excellent, discrete service.
I spent 2 hours, alone, eating tapas, drinking several bottle of water, a glass of nice wine, waiter recommended (200ml in a nice high glass for 1 eur).
First, when you seat, before ordering, you get nice piece (200gr. about) of excellent home made cheese and local olives (did look and tasted like kalamata olives in Greece). The bread comes in a colored textile bag !!! This they are calling couvert and it costed 2 eur. Then I ordered some tapas as salty roasted peppers (it was HOT), pork meat with shrimps... nice mix salad with lettuce, fresh grape, fresh figs, apple, strawberry, cherry tomatoes and I finished with some house dessert made of caramel, crunched cookies and cream. Excellent place and the bill was 25 eur only.
I will remember it for long time and I hope I will visit A ADEGA again.
Funny thing is that the day before yesterday 5time I visited the place) I was on the way from Cascais to Sintra and somehow navi redirect me in this street where A ADEGA is. I pass it and after 200m I decided to turn and go to have a lunch in that place I just passed... and the destiny was to stop there and have nice time.
Sasa Popovic

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Homely, excellent food and very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is the kind of restaurant you would wish to have in your own hometown. Very friendly atmosphere (mostly locals), excellent food and downright cheap. The restaurant is a tapas restaurant but has a la carte dishes as well. We had a combination of both and everything we got tasted delicious. Some of the dishes come with a twist. The serve fried potato skins with homemade mayonaise as an alternative to the standard french fries, and to our surprise this tasted much much better that any french fries we had. Restaurant is run by a couple, and when we were there it was packed and they still managed to run the place with only the two of them, and still pay attention to all the guests. In short, this restaurant was among our highlights in Portugal and can only be much much recommended!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“unique off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were fed up with all the touristy stuff in Cascais and decided to drive a bit up north, landed in this quirky spot with "laundry" hanging from the ceiling, loads of pictures and other decorations in this tiny place. The owner was friendly with a good sense of humor. Advising on us on what to try and eat. Food was great, tasty, and unlike other dishes we had in the area. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, united Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas in a pleasant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very welcoming and friendly English speaking owner (and friendly kitchen staff), in this great little local restaurant just off the main Sintra - Cascais road (N247) outside Almocageme. There is a small parking area out front, or it's an easy walk into the nearby village. Although the tapas menu was quite small, the individual dishes were of excellent quality and value and arrived quickly and frequently which was impressive given that another large (extended family) group was being supplied equally quickly with their many dishes.
We enjoyed a great family evening meal finished off with complementary local brandy. It's quite a cozy place, with a small busy kitchen visible to the main dining room and interesting decorations. If you are anywhere nearby we'd recommend an evening meal there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante a Adega also viewed

Colares, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 
Colares, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante a Adega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante a Adega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.