We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place near to the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Vigia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quinta da Vigia to your Saves list
Quinta da Vigia
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua da praia pequena 20, Colares 2710, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place near to the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

First of all, I'd like to say I traveled to Quinta da Vigia with my family (parents, me and my brother) we had a rented car, because main reason for our stay in Portugal was to visit several places including Lisbon and other smaller towns near to it. We payed a lot of money for the entire holiday, in my opinion, but I have to say I loved it and I think that it might have been the best holiday I've ever been to.
And without this hotel it wouldn't be the same, I think. I was satisfied, because the view on ocean and the nearest beach was just lovely. The interior was a bit poor, but who cares. If I wanted a 5 star hotel, I'd choose something else. I could sleep, the bed was comfortable, I could wash myself and we could eat a breakfast in our room, too. The room was clean. All I need. The staff was very friendly and helpful, too, they even gave us a few tips where to go and we tried one of them and it was amazing!
I think it depends on what holiday you want, but this hotel was a perfect one for my dream holiday in Portugal, I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have rarely seen anything perfect in Portugual, but there are various levels of deterioration. Quinta da Vigia has a nice enough outdoor space, but there was a low wall that basically blocked any view of the ocean from the gardens. The rooms were furnished with very old, disheveled, and originally low quality couches and beds. Most of the rooms have some visible mold on the ceilings and in the corners, and the cupboards were very musty. It is hard to avoid this in Portugal, as it is so humid and warm, there is never a hard frost to kill off the spores.

For lower prices this may have been acceptable, but not for the published rates. Had we traveled from another country with prepaid reservations we would have been quite unhappy, but as it was we simply left after one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We happened upon this hotel as we ran into problems with accomodation that we had booked in the area, we were a party of 12 and were stuck last minute for somewhere to stay. The staff were so helpful, they had availability the following night and rang their sister hotel in Praia Maca's and got us 3 apts for the first night and we stayed in Quinta da Viga the following night.
The rooms are very clean and plenty of room, lovely ocen views and a lovely pool. You can walk along the coast to Praia Da Maca's which is short but you have to paddle across a stream so dont go dressed up! In Praia da Maca's there are some fab seafood restaurants and very good value.
I would highly reccomend Quinta Da Viga, service for breakfast is a bit slow but the staff are so nice that as long as you are not in a rush its fine.

Room Tip: The rooms at pool level were probably bigger, but I think they were two bedroomed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Could use some paint outdoors, mainhouse looks untouched since 70's but apts are simple & clean and reasonably equiped ( coffeemaker, waterboiler, small stove, microwave). fresh towels everyday. apts with seaview really give you a great view of the ocean. Gardenapts give you a lawn in front with a wall view :) staff is really nice & friendly. 200mtrs from beach. BIG waves, so kids must know how to swim.
Apt

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

We had an apartment for two people and it had plenty of room and it could actually sleep three more people. The lady that we dealt with when booking in did not speak english but we managed to communicate through pointing and gestures etc. The photos on the brochures look very flash but in reality the villa is looking quite neglected. I thought this was a real shame as it is a great location and was obviously built to a high standard. The only problem we had was the shower - it was a hose shower and the bracket on the wall was broken so you had to hold the shower head in your hand. Although the location is great keep in mind that it is well outside of Sintra and so a car is best. There was a tram but we couldn't work out if it went into Sintra and it also looked painfully slow.
I think I would return here as the price suited our budget and although the place was neglected we didn't experience any major problems because of it.

  • Liked — the size of the apartments
  • Disliked — neglected
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Vigia

Address: Rua da praia pequena 20, Colares 2710, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Vigia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quinta da Vigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Vigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.