We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, full of soul...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Celeiro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa do Celeiro
Pe da Serra,, Colares 2705-255, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place, full of soul...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Unforgetable Holidays. The house is comfortable and really cosy.
The views, specially from the swimming pool are gorgeous.
The owners live just beside and were very respectfull of our privacy.
We had a really great time and we made many delicious barbecues...
Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alho, Owner at Casa do Celeiro, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
We were delighted with the charming young Argentinian / Spanish connection from Buenos Aires / Madrid. The couple who organised the hoiday invited friends and family and appeared to enjoy the reunion amidst BBQs, beach outings, trips to Lisbon and just relaxing. Alma our dog also took great delight in being part of their company. We do hope they return and tell their friends as Spain being our neighbour is just a few hours away by car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We spent two wonderful weeks at the Casa do Celeiro with our twins (12), and with our parents and we enjoyed every minute of it. The house and garden are beautiful and in an ideal spot. Secluded, but not remote, with the most stunning view of Almocageme and the Atlantik, an individual, tranquil and very private place that felt like home after just a few hours.

Mary and Alan were the kindest hosts. They made us feel very welcome and were always ready to help or advise - a walk, a beach or a restaurant or local events. We enjoyed their easy going, warm and entirely unobtrusive hospitality very much.

The combination of the house and the separate bedrooms in the hall and in the 'Annex' fit our needs for a stay with our children and our parents perfectly. The garden has beautiful spots to sit and chill in and we enjoyed catering for ourselves as much as we enjoyed the local restaurants.

In the middle of October we were lucky enough to have 10 days of warm, sunny weather and could explore everything, the beautiful area has to offer. It is great for sports - kite surfing, surfing, golf, mountainbiking as well as hiking and running - or for putting your motor bike to a test on the winding roads to Colares and beyond. A beautiful combination of nature and also for culture, with Sintra and Lisbon - and Mary's art gallery in Almocageme! - just around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alho, Owner at Casa do Celeiro, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
I have just discovered this option of responding to guests' reviews. Fortunately I remember well the very charming family from Germany who were so appreciative of us, the house and the area. We did spend a good time chatting and getting to know one another. Indeed they were very lucky with the weather as being in a microclimate keeps you guessing. Fortunate thing is that if we are in the clouds on our perch you almost always have sun in the lower areas which are 10 minutes away,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Casa do Celeiro. The house, the setting, the location, the surroundings and the views are fabulous. There are so many activities to do and things to see in the area that all the members of my familiy were entertained and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It is even suitable for children, my 2 year old son loved it, spent most of the days either in the house's pool or on the beach. Lisbon Zoo and Oceanario are also great attractions for the children.
There are plenty of things to do and see, for all different types of people. Fun and exciting things for the youngsters, quiet relaxing activities for families, romantic and charming for couples and all sorts of activities or sports for those more into adventure. As I said before anybody who travels in the Sintra area can find great things to do and see and really enjoy themselves. Casa do Celeiro is the perfect location to get to any place or any attraction in the area.
Mary and Alan were wonderful hosts. Very welcoming, helpful and even though they live in the same courtyard you can barely notice they are there. When you do see them however they are all smiles and ready to offer advice or help. Their house and its location provided us all with the perfect retreat to relax and enjoy ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

For anyone seeking a marvelously hidden yet also amazingly accessible hideaway in the Serra di Sintra--with forested walking paths, spectacular views of the Atlantic coast below, and the knowledgeable, attentive, and delightful hosts, Mary and Alan St.George,-- I can't imagine a more ideal place. Close to the countless architectural attractions of Sintra and vicinity yet extremely private and quiet, this is a unique refuge where you can readily choose your own satisfying mix of "touristic" activities and pure relaxation. The St. Georges also have a very attractive circular swimming pool and deck just behind and above their quaint inner courtyard, from which you can revel in a gorgeous panoramic view of the Atlantic below, whether you choose to enter the water or not.

We can hardly wait to return.

Dr.Stevens Garlick
1831 Brenda Court
Charlottesville, VA 22901

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Relaxed, friendly and helpful hosts, fantastic views, spacious informal self catering accomodation, plenty of outdoor space and seating. Lots of plants, green space and trees give a sense of seclusion. The owners paintings, etchings and sculpure add additional character. Beautiful unspoilt beaches close by and the forts and palaces in the Sintra area are in stunning situations.
Whilst it is useful to have a car there is a bus stop at the bottom of the (steep) drive and buses run between Cascais on the coast to Sintra in the hills, roughly every 1.5 hours.
Local village has good food supplies and cafes.
We only had 4 days to stay but would happily have made it our base for much longer.

  • Liked — Informality, space, natural surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

we stayed at casa do celeiro in august 2008. If you are looking for somewhere a little different with its own individual charm and delightfully friendly hosts then we'd recommend it. Alan and Mary are very welcoming and did everything to make our stay as pleasent as possible - from coffee and biscuits on the first morning to advice and even the use of a mountain bike to explore the area.
The house is on a steep hill with views stretching away to the sea a few miles away. There is a circular pool reached by steps and a large garden dotted with sculptures. The two bedrooms in the main house have lovely views to the coast. A kitchen and sitting area below open onto the garden where there's a lovely spot for barbecues and al fresco eating. Across the courtyard is an annexe for two.
Nearby are the palaces of Sintra, Lisbon by train, and lots of local sandy beaches. The sea on the west coast can be wild so be prepared for big waves. Alan and Mary occupy the other half of the house across the hallway but you have complete privacy. All in all a place of great charm.

  • Liked — the friendly hosts and the area
  • Disliked — need a car to get to anywhere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at Casa do Celeiro for 10 days in July and could not have chosen a better place to unwind. The owners, who are architects and artists, built the house on the site of an old farm store, which oozes rustic appeal. You must head up to the circular swimming pool nestled up behind the house surrounded by lush planting. Here you are spoilt by the great views of the Atlantic Ocean, straight out over the Portuguese style roof of the house, from the comfort of the sun-loungers. It can sometimes get cooler at the house due to the height, which is really refreshing if you’ve spent all day at the beach!

The house is located in the Sintra Hills just north of Lisbon and is ideally located if you want to get away from it all. Getting to the local beaches is a 5-10 minute drive away or bike ride if you fancy it (ask Mary about bikes) and you should go to ‘Apple Beach’ for surfing, tennis courts and typical cafes and restaurants. There are footpaths leading straight out of the back of the house up into the Sintra hills where you can work your way up to an old monastery (Peninha) with breath taking panoramic views of the Atlantic. The attractions of Sintra and Cascais are a scenic 20 minute drives in opposite directions from the house and Lisbon is an easy train ride from either of them for day trips into Lisbon. A wonderful combination city, coastline and countryside!

The house has its own kitchen and living room area, with direct access onto a private patio with a grape vine pergola overlooking the coastline. Mary and Alan’s artworks and sculpture are liberally sprinkled around the house for you to admire. They live next door but give you total privacy and are very friendly and welcoming should you have any questions or need any help.

If you want an laid back break in a rustic setting, we’d recommend staying here. Thank you Mary and Alan!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa do Celeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Celeiro

Address: Pe da Serra,, Colares 2705-255, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a spectacular setting in the Serra de Sintra (World Heritage site) one hour from Lisbon / lovingly restored & converted 17th century farmhouse in wooded hills overlooking Atlantic by architect/artists owners / Self-catering accommodation sleeps 8 adults(4 bedrooms) / B&B / Art courses optional / built into a hill enclosing a cobbled courtyard / front garden & fruit trees sloping down from terrace with pergola / pool at top of property all with panoramic views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Celeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa do Celeiro to your Saves list