We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a spectacular view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nortada

Nortada
Avenida Alfredo Coelho 8 | Praia Grande Sintra 2705-329 COLARES, Colares, Portugal
219291516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Colares
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food with a spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I has some american friends over and I drove them from cascais via the scenic route to Praia Grande. We had lunch at Nortada. Some pimentos padron and a arroz de marisco as main course. The sangria made of white wine was excellent. The view is great and very friendly service. Afterwards we walked till the beach for a nap :-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Taste the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

An incredible fish restaurant with the most glorious views straight out onto the Atlantic. There's a relaxed outdoor area with benches scattered with cushions that must be great in the summer. The food is fish, done beautifully and very fresh The whole roasted octopus served on a bed of potatoes and roasted garlic was really good, others with us had Lobster crepes, hake in a light batter. We started with barnacles, olives and other tapas like dishes. Great food, great value. Don't be put off by the outside from the road, it looks like any other 70s Portuguese low seafront building painted in an ochre colour - wait until you get inside!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Great food to match its great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

With nothing really attractive on the outside, in fact it's just a box building really, we were just about to pass it by when we saw the place quite full of families on a Sunday lunch out. This was always a good sign, so we opted to stop, and didn't regret it.

The inside tables were all full or reserved, but at least we found one free place on the verandah seating. As it's on a cliff, the views from here are spectacular, but only if you get one of the few tables on the sea side. Otherwise, all you get to see is the tiny neglected playground alongside the eating area, and a spot of blue beyond, or even just the road. In short, come early if you want the best seats in the house.

Now the food. The food is wonderful. We had the shrimps in coconut milk, which is a typical dish of Moçambique, if I remember correctly. The shrimps were large and fresh, the sauce done and spiced just right. We also had the octopus in cream - very well done too, the octopus just softened to the right consistency - tender at the same time chewy. We were peeking at what those in other tables were getting, and saw grilled fish and codfish dishes in large and very appealing servings. Though our desserts were not extraordinary in taste or appearance, they were still good. We had the crepe with fresh fruits, and fresh cheese and apple compote.

Service was friendly, efficient, and quick. The price here, compared to the run-of-the-mill restaurants in beach places, is only marginally higher but still very reasonable considering the quality of the food, and its unique location (the rest of the restaurants in Praia Grande are bunched up below on the beach so they don't have the stunning view that Nortada has). Certainly a good place for family meals, and friends get-together, as there is a relaxed atmosphere. Reservations are advisable as the place is popular among the well-heeled locals, so the place fills up very quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great fish, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Like many Portuguese beach restaurants don't be put off by the exterior, you could almost drive past Nortada and you would have missed a great place. Nothing between your lunch and the Atlantic - amazing view. Service is ALWAYS excellent. Great mohitos!!!!!!! Starters....barnacles, serrano ham, prawns, clams in coriander, dressed crab, cheeses, olives, typically Portuguese and fabulous. Our favourite main is the lobster rice, my husband loves shellfish but isn't a fan of using his hands so this delicious rice dish with pieces of lobster, oil, onions & tomatoes in a pot - yummy and easy to eat with a fork. And if you are brave enough and can manage the "brain-freeze" try the limone sorbet with vodka desert. The restaurant ambience is lovely but for a fun lunch party try the slightly rustic conservatory with sociable banquette seating. One of our favourites.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly english speaking, helpful staff, excellent fresh seafood, great view over the ocean, great atmosphere, calm, modern style. We visited this Restaurant in october and were really enjoying the evening there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nortada also viewed

Colares, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Nortada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nortada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.