We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent ambiance, good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adraga

Adraga
Praia Adraga, Colares 2710 , Portugal
21 929 08 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Colares
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Landsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent ambiance, good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We (party of 5) had a good time here for lunch. The food was good. service was good and the view was to die for - could have stayed all day for the view. Just as well the food was also good enough to make the time worthwhile. We even tried something we never had before - barnacles. very nice - recommend giving them a try. We all had various main dishes - all seafood and no complaints.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“FISH!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Located in a beautiful beach, normally we start with some clams and for the main course some fresh grilled fish. Great service, better book early, normally packed but surely worthy!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“If you love seafood - and a beautiful beach - don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

In 13 nights in Portugal, this was one of two restaurants that we hit twice because it was so good. The bonus here is, in addition to the food, the setting. Adraga is the name of a beach at the end of the road coming out of the village of Almocageme, just south of Colares. Turn off of 247 into Almocageme and (very carefully and slowly) follow the "praia" signs. And, when you get there, ask for Jorges. Jorges is very friendly and helpful and was a really enjoyable part of the whole experience.

Praia Adraga is one of the prettiest beaches north of Lisbon, with a big hole in the cliff right near the restaurant. And the restaurant looks right out on it. There is plenty of outdoor seating and they are open (and busy) for lunch as well. Leave time, or make time, for a walk on the beach (about five steps from the restaurant's front door).

Inside the place isn't anything fancy, with long tables situated to maximize the beach/ocean view. This is a very, very popular getaway restaurant for Lisboans and other Portuguese. If you're a tourist you will be in the minority.

And the seafood is fantastic. Over two nights, we had the grilled sea bass for two twice. It is perfectly cooked - light and moist - served with boiled potatoes. We went back the second time just to have the sea bass again. We had, for appetizers, clams (great - really great), octopus salad (very good) and barnacles (uh huh).

This is just a fun place. Everyone's there for a special time. No one's in a hurry and it is bustling and even a bit crazy and noisy as the evening goes on. But most of all, it's just a flat out great seafood restaurant.

It is NOT cheap if you have something like the freshly grilled sea bass for two. It's charged by the kilo so, if you're concerned about the tab, get an estimate ahead of time so you don't suffer sticker shock.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Try their excellent fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Excellent food (5*) but service a bit ropey (3*) which makes it a combined 4*. Portions are very generous and you must try the local Colares wine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious fish with a stunning view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We ate two meals at Adraga during our stay near Adraga Beach in October. The fish was exceptionally fresh and delicious - be sure to ask the price of the fish before you place your order or be prepared for a shock when you receive the check. That said, everything was tasty - especially the clams and prawns appetizer! The waiters were fun, friendly and offered great recommendations.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adraga also viewed

Colares, Sintra Municipality
Colares, Sintra Municipality
 
Colares, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Adraga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adraga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.