We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Colina Flora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colares
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta Colina Flora
Save
You added Quinta Colina Flora to your Saves list
Caminho Alegre 5 | Pe da Serra, Colares 2705-555, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Colares B&B and Inns
stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We can only echo what the previous reviews have said - this is a great find. After a very impersonal 2 night stay in a chain hotel in busy Lisbon, Colina Flora was the exact opposite. The hosts are super friendly and knowledgeable and really made our stay unique. James gave us some great recommendations for places to visit and eat which were tailored perfectly to our needs. The place itself is beautiful, we had our 1 year old daughter with us so had the room with the terrace and fire so could put her to bed and still stay up ourselves. Would thoroughly recommend to all types of traveller, it is great vaule for money too.

Room Tip: If you have children opt for the MArigold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
98
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had booked a suite in a five-star beach hotel south of Lisbon for part two of our honeymoon, but three weeks prior to departure we decided we wanted something more personal. After a quick search we found this place and instantly fell inn love just by reading about it. When we arrived there we knew we had made the right decision. If you have read the other reviews we can tell you that they are all true! Aasta and James took very good care of us and we felt very much at home. They knew everything that was going on in the area, and gave us good tips on where to go and what to see. Our almost two-year old daughter loved the garden, and became good friends with the family dog- Lucca.
We can safely reccomend this place since it is a perfect place for both families and couples and even if you are travelling alone you won't feel alone here!
A last thing to mention is the breakfast, Aastas homemade granola is one of the many things we will surely come back for.
We did not regret changing from the five-star hotel a second!

Love, Wilma, Wilhelm and Thale

PS: For families we would especially recommend the room with the fireplace outside. Its GREAT!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aastatorsen, Owner at Quinta Colina Flora, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thanks to all of our former guests for taking the time to write your reviews. We continue to strive to improve Colina Flora and create "a home away from home" for our guests to enjoy.. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Beautiful location in Sintra. Peace and serenity for body and spirit.
James and Aasta are very friendly hosts. They are always available for every request. Delicious breakfast strictly organic.
if you come to portugal you must see Sintra and you must have a stop at Colina Flora.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed every minute in this eco-friendly guest house, beautifully situated in a natural reserve surrounded by trees and hills with views of the nearby coast. The situation is ideal for visits to the surf beaches or the quieter waters of Caiscias, and the local places of interest in Sintra Park - don't miss the convent at Capuchos. The bus stop down the lane is very handy if you don't have a car for trips to the beach or Sintra.
The house is lovely; the room we stayed in, Marigold, has a large verandah with a fireplace which was very cosy in the evening for having a drink.
The hosts, Aaste and James, are magnificent. They go out of their way to help, providing all sorts of information on local walks, places to visit, restaurants and events. Breakfast is wonderful with fresh local produce and we had a superb dinner cooked by Aaste. James is very helpful with transport, he collected and delivered us from the airport and was always willing to take us to local towns or beaches so we did not need to hire a car.
A gem of a place and a very relaxing holiday - and they have a lovely little dog, Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virgina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hilltop retreat surpassed our expectations. The drive up to the inn from the ocean front highway was breathtaking. This was our first trans Atlantic vacation with a 21 month old, and we appreciated the care the inn keepers took in making it as smooth as possible by accomodating our dietary, sleeping, and safety requests. Other than the well appointed decor ( we stayed in two rooms: the Lilly and Camellia and adored the views from the Camellia and the shower with a skylight in the Lilly) and beautifully maintained grounds, the things that stand out the most are the attention to details that the inn keepers took. It was so lovely to have fresh squeezed OJ and home made granola for breakfast, a clean room to come to everyday, and the option for laundry service for a small fee. The inn keepers had lots of tips to ensure we got the most out of everyday we enjoyed in the area. We wish we had taken more advantage of the unbelievable home cooked meals the inn keepers can make upon request for dinner. Delicious! Bring some warm attire as the weather is not predicable, but most days were lovely by noon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We went there this summer for 4 nights and it was fantastic ! James and Aasta and of course Lucca,the dog , give you the feeling that you are at home. James ´tips and self-made maps are very good. I had the Camellia room which is very amazing. You should absolutely have dinner there at least once, the vegetarian food is gorgeous !

I would recommend this guesthouse and the region, too. You have there wonderful beaches ( I recommend the Adraga Beach ), gorgeous palaces and a fantastic nature. Also it´s very close to Lisbon ( about 45 minutes )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay! It really is the best! The accommodation is set in a beautiful location close to many Sintra attractions, the hosts Aasta, James and Lucca give a wonderful warm welcome, with also plenty of local advice! The breakfasts are fantastic too, fresh produce changes slightly each day with eggs cooked to order as you like them! Oh and for the room!!! Absolutely gorgeous, clean and comfortable beds with nice linen, a truly wonderful break!! We hired a car also as it combined with accommodation was the same price as other places around the area, this allowed us lots of freedom to explore!! Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Colina Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Colina Flora

Address: Caminho Alegre 5 | Pe da Serra, Colares 2705-555, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Colares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Colares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, "Green" country guesthouse with 5 lovely, individually styled en-suite rooms, peacefully located in the beautiful rural Sintra Natural Park (paradise for walkers/cyclists), ocean views, 1.5 Km to the quaint village of Almocageme with its small shops, restaurants and cafes. 5 Minute drive to amazing Adraga beach, sight seeing, 16 minutes to Sintra and Cascais, 40 minutes to Lisbon, organic vegetarian/vegan breakfast, delicious vegetarian meals, special dietary requests accommodated, airport and beach shuttle service, swimming pool. Nearby surfing, golf, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, kyacking, snorkling, wine tours, mountain biking. Yoga, Chi Kung, art classes and therapeutic massage upon request, weekend wellness workshops, winter specials ("stay 7 nights pay for 6 from 1 November to 28 February"), walking vacation week specials and retreats. Guest kitchen for self-caters. We strive to take care of the planet by recycling, composting, organic gardening, organic ingredients for our meals, supporting local farmers, low energy appliances, hanging the laundry and going slowly!!! Vegetarian/vegan friendly!!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Colina Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.