We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasures of Cascais” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Os Prazeres da Carne

Os Prazeres da Carne
Casa da Guia EN 247 - Estrada do Guincho, Cascais 2750, Portugal
+351 21 484 33 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pleasures of Cascais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We dined in a group of ten in this restaurant which although specializing in meat also does good fish. We went on a wet cool night and I suspect lunch on a sunny afternoon overlooking the sea could only enhance the experience.
Steaks were tender and perfectly cooked. In fact medium rare came if anything more on the rare side than medium something I never complain about. Entrees and desert were also good. Service was friendly and attentive. Cost including what seemed like a lot of wine was around €100 a couple. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    59
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited this restaurant in late September 2012. We had an amazing experience. Honestly the best restaurant so far. The view was amazing, the staff was very attentive, the food and wine were very very pleasant. It is indeed pricy but from my experience it was worth it. I regret only the fact that I forgot to tip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we have tried in Cascais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Service was first class and very friendly. Best overall experience in Cascais. Steak not as tender as Uk but nevertheless very good. My husband had Salmon which was excellent. Overall a very enjoyable evening with the best bottle of wine we have had since coming to Portugal shall return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best meal in Cascais”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This restaurant is excellent from start to finish. The location is right on the water, very peaceful and romantic. The service could not have been better. My husband and I returned for a second time and the lady who seated us remembered where we sat and what wine I had had from two evenings before! The food is delicious, the owners take obvious pride in what they do. I'd recommend this restaurant highly!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great meat and a fantastic view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited Os Prazeres da Carne twice in September.
The view was what made us chose the restaurant. They are definitely meat experts. We had great barbequed filets (mushroom sauce and porto sauce) with a tasty potato gratin and vegetable. It was nice no to have the expected french fries.
They have a rather nice selection of wine as well.
On the dessert side the cheesecake and the crema catalan are recommended.
The only truly negative point was for us to be served with what is called "couvert": dips of vegetables and cheese with toast without being told how much they cost (we thought they were free as they were served to us automatically). count 2.50 euros for the dips and 5.50 for the cheese (!). If you can book a table outside and be there early to enjoy the sunset.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Os Prazeres da Carne also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Os Prazeres da Carne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Os Prazeres da Carne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.