We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise and although it didn't have an amazing view we had an amazing stay in this room. Staff were all very helpful and kind and nothing was a problem to them. My partner and I were treated like VIPs for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was the best and I could not fault it. It filled is up for most of the day. We visited the thermal spa which was a great experience and worth the money. Great location to Cascais town. Lovely flat walk with good restaurants recommended to us by the hotel reception. We will definitely visit again.

The only disappointing part of the hotel is the cost of drinks such as beer, water, and cola which are way above the going rate for such items.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to guests already planning their return trip, as you are. It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for mentioning the point that in your opinion could be better and be assured that It will be taken into consideration.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    118
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
143
381
14
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I just spent a few days of our honeymoon at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel, located only 5-10 minutes away from the historic downtown area in Cascais.
Breakfast buffet is great, hopefully you can get it included in your stay, otherwise it will be 26 euros. Overall, food and drinks were pricey for what they were.
I'm not giving this hotel an 'excellent' review because of the staff. This is supposed to be a 5 star hotel and the staff was not consistent in their delivery. A couple of the staff members were outstanding, but they couldn't make it up for a few more that were less than that. We had too many mishaps in our 5-day stay for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.

We regret if the service provided on one occasion did not correspond to our usual high standards. Your comment has been passed on to the department head in charge and we assure you that we will try our utmost to provide a constant, high-quality service at all times and in all areas

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located just a lovely 5 min walk from Cascais town. It has a 2 great pools, one for toddlers. We brought our little girl just 13 months old and the staff were just great with her.
Make sure you make a booking for dinner on terrace though, unfortunately we didn't and it was booked out so we had to eat up in the town. Close to Sintra also, our advice take a taxi for just €16 straight to the town.
The breakfast is amazing, lots on offer and the staff will do anything to help you.
The spa area is also out of this world, fantastic massage in lovely surrounding, didn't check out the spa area as it was just too warm to be inside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure to read your review and how much you enjoyed your stay with us and especially our breakfast and spa. We also appreciate the compliments regarding our staff.
Regret not having been able to experience our restaurant. We hope you do in next occasion.

Thank you so much for your review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again and remain at your entire disposal.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Please disregard any negative reviews as well seasoned travellers this hotel is a gem. Staff are exemplary nothing is too much trouble . Room overlooking Atlantic was fabulous serviced well toiletries in abundance towels changed twice daily. breakfast was great prossecco on tap what to dislike.

Room Tip: ask for sea view or Villa D,este
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.

It is with great pleasure that we see that we likened to a gem. We seek to improve the service we provide in every detail and so it is great to have this recognition.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent all round and we cannot fault it in any way.
The staff are just wonderful and caring and make it a pleasure to be alive. The rooms are just luxurious - we expected good but these are just perfect in everyway.
Breakfasts have everything you need and if it is not there just ask it appears as if by magic -Loved every minute of our stay ans will come again. Do not miss the dining experience - not expensive and in a wonderful setting served by lovely caring staff Just Superb.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe Garden room - we had 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.

It is really gratifying to see how enjoyable your stay was and that you were pleased with our service and staff. Exceed expectations and give portugality feelling to our guests is part of our mission.

We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa italia Hotel & SPA.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and it as to be one of the best hotels I've experienced. Had a sea view retreat room. Large rooms, large well fitted bathrooms, big balconies with loungers, overlooking the sea and quiet-would definitely recommend one of these. Breakfast is great with a large selection of almost anything you could want, even fizzy and Bloody Marys. The staff are friendly and attentive but not overbearing. I spent a lot of time by the pool and the service was excellent-obviously the drinks aren't cheap though. Downsides are small...a few stains on the upholstery in the room, loungers quite close together by the pool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Manager at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the conditions and the location of the hotel, beyond our breakfast.

Thank you very much for mentioning the points that in your opinion could be better and be assured that they will be taken into consideration.
It was especially gratifying to learn that you would definitely recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We returned to Grande Real Villa Italia because we had such a lovely time last year, and we were not disappointed. The stay was as wonderful as last time. We stayed in the Villa D'Este and the rooms were beautiful. We had a large balcony facing the sea. The only negative is that I find the beds a bit hard.

We enjoy the location, the hotel is close to the beach walk where you can run or bike to Guincho. The breakfast buffet is a bit crowded but there is a great variety. The pool area is very nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.