We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to spoil yourself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Cascais
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want to spoil yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you want to spoil yourself, book a couple of nights at Grande Villa Italia. Lovely pool, excellent SPA, nice restaurant, and on top of it very professional, ever smiling staff.
(Special thanks to Thiago at la terraza restaurent, perhaps I will return to have your caricatures)

Room Tip: you may have to pay a extra fee to access SPA, but it's worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!
We are quite fortunate to have an excepcional staff such as Tiago wich you kindly mentioned.

We look forward to your return to the Villa Itália Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    126
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
149
413
18
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlshamn, Sweden
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Large, lovely rooms with big bathrooms (two showers!). The most amazing breakfast we have ever had. Very service-minded staff. Great pool area where the staff surprises you with different kind of fruity shots (non alcoholc, of course). It's a 5-10 minute walk into Cascais' center with many shops and restaurants. For us (a couple), this was a perfect and relaxing hotel. If you are travelling with younger children, I would recommend you stay somewhere else where they can play around a bit more and the pool is more shallow.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us.
We are always very grateful to receive positive feedback which we immediately share with our team.

Kind regards,

Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited his hotel in Aug 2012. My wife was 4 months pregnant at the time. Our criteria prior to booking was a luuxury hotel, not too far from a beach, not too far from the town centre and a relaxing pool. This hotel ticks all the boxes.
Delightful hotel, massive rooms and a short walk to the marina and town of Cascais. The food was good, the hotel lobby impressive and the pool was very relaxing. Our hotel room was one of the best that I have ever stayed in. Very large, impressive bathroom and large balcony, although the view to the pool was slightly obscured.
The only negative I experienced was the spa. Most five star hotel spa's that I have been to, do not charge to use the facilities if you are a guest of the hotel. Considering my wife was pregnant and could not use most of the spa treatments, I was disappointed that they wanted to charge a full price for the both of us to use the pool.
Aside from the cover charge to the spa, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Regarding our Thalasso Treatment Pool our policy is to charge because it's a Treatment facilitie not just an indoor pool.
We are sorry that it was an inconvinience for you.

We look forward to your return to the Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel with your baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I loved:
- the location
- the views
- the super service, every one was really very helpfull and friendly
- great food
- beautifull spa
- good massages
- the business centre & service

Will return here for business meetings combined with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback about our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Villa Itália Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We have enjoyed everything, from the moment we entered the hotel... Staff were really friendly and extremely helpfull, we were also upgraded to a sea view room (which was amazing, thank you!!!), breakfast on each morning was really really good.

Spa was amazing, girls know their job..

We didnt get to use the pool, but we are planning next time..

Cascais is a really beautiful place and local people were really friendly.

It was the best choise for our engagement mini vacation!

We are already planing to come back for our Wedding!

Thank you again - Darren & Guoda

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice sea view, nice pool, and excellent restaurants. Near downtown Cascais (the walk is very enjoyable and Cascais is a cool little town with lots of restaurants and nightlife).

The only problem is there is a road between the hotel and the sea.

We very much enjoyed our stay there; Lisbon is only an hour away by car and is a beautiful city to visit; and again, if you don't want to go that far, Cascais itself is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Grande Real Villa Itália Hotel and for all the nice coments.
The only problem you mencioned "the road betewen the hotel and the sea" it's a little complicated to solve, but we always try ;)

Kind Regards,

Diogo Fonseca Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a really nice and well balanced 5 star hotel! managed to keep the essence of de luxe hotel by the beach without letting "the beach" atmosphere decrease the quality and service. the rooms are ok for a 5x however the TV and radio service should be better (i.e. no radio on rooms and the TV actually doesn't work properly). Reception service is above standard.
The awkward thing in this hotel was the bar menu ... really nice tea selection... nice 5 o'clock tea cookies, however the spirits selection is just on the average basics and the prices of this list seems to have been done like all are expensive and very expensive... making any of these 2x or 3x more expensive then in any other 5x hotel in the region on even in some European 5x... really something unexpected...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiogoFonsecaSilva, Gerente geral at Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank very much for the glowing review provided to tripadvisor.
We trully apreciate all the details you noted including the service.
We are now changing our Bar concept and we hope you will have the chance to try it soon.

Kind regards,

Diogo Fonseca e Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Frei Nicolau de Oliveira 100, Cascais 2750-319, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#3 Family Hotel in Cascais
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
#3 Business Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Real Villa Italia is a result of the adaptation of the old houses where King Umberto II of Italy lived while exiled in Portugal from the 1950's to the 1980's.Located in the cosmopolitan city of Cascais, Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa represents excellence in design, sophistication and comfort.With the Atlantic Ocean as the predominant scenery, you can look towards the north and see the beautiful hills and castles of Sintra, while Lisbon is only a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel Cascais
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel And Spa
Grande Real Hotel Italia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.