We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cascais Miragem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cascais Miragem to your Saves list
Hotel Cascais Miragem
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Marginal N0 8554, Cascais 2754-536, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cascais
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Can I say at the outset that the Miragem is a lovely hotel in almost every respect,and I would echo all the nice things that has been said by previous guests.The staff are really nice welcoming and friendly.The hotel itself is beautiful,lovely rooms all overlooking the pool and sea.The food is lovely with a nice buffet lunch.It has a fantastic restaurant serving wonderful food.
So we are giving the Miragem top marks, we really enjoyed our stay,its a great hotel..................................IF............. you like this type of hotel.For all its fine furnishings, its grandeur ,its enormous lobby area with lovely sweeping staircase and beautiful fresh flower arangements,for me it lacked atmosphere.Its too big.It has no soul.I would have prefered something smaller more intimate.
A major disappoint to me also was the location vis a vis the beach.This is NOT a beach hotel.To get to the beach you have to go down 3 floors out through the main lobby cross a very busy duel carrageway walk 100m ,again cross the busy carrageway into a dank graffiti covered underpass and emerge on the other side of the rail line to a concrete area then walk back 100m to a very crowded tiny beach.
Once you are aware of these limitations you will have a wonderful stay at the Miragem.

So my search for a nice hotel ON a beach continues.Any advise from tripadvisarians??very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    101
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
111
244
19
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Our stay at the Miragem began on May 1st and ended on May 7th 2008. We were part of a large corporate group celebrating our achievements of the previous 18 months. My wife and I stayed on the 4th floor directly overlooking the beautiful pool.

The facilities are attractive, but we soon found that 5 Stars appears to mean something different when you are in the US versus overseas.

ISSUE:
We first noticed that there were no ironing boards or irons in the room. No problem. We requested 1 each and received them. The next day however, when housekeeping serviced our room, they also took the iron and ironing board. We went to the desk to ask why and were told that other guests needed these items. Very odd. According to the gentleman at the desk, they only had roughly 45 irons and boards for the entire hotel. I could always use their laundry service, he told me.

Our entire group ran into this problem and we ended up being placed on a waiting list to get an iron and a board! We checked back every day, twice a day for 4 days and finally received a set on the 4th day. After using the iron, I literally locked it in the safe inside the room and placed the board on top of the entertainment center/armoir to keep them from being removed. The events planned by our corporate sponsors required nice evening dress and the iron was a must and I was not about to be "forced" to use the hotel laundry service.

ISSUE: the outdoor pool was not heated. Very cold and no one could use it. The indoor pool was not available for use either. As well, the outdoor pool area closed at 7pm. Seemed rather early to us.

Minor ISSUE: The room was decently appointed but we noticed that there were only 3 hangers per side of the armoir for us to hang our week's worth of clothing. Could certainly use more of those.

Minor ISSUE: Food was just OK. Desserts were incredible.

Minor ISSUE: Alarm clocks are not a standard item in these rooms. You must request one.

Minor ISSUE: The GYM was only available for very short periods of time in the evening and was not open in the early morning.

Minor ISSUE: We wanted to enjoy our balcony in the evening and have some level of privacy to talk, drink coffee etc...the lights on each balcony are centrally controlled and cannot be turned off by guests. Lights will go off automatically at midnight. We found this annoying. Also a small issue is that there was not coffee or tea service within the rooms although the mini-bar was very well stocked.

Minor ISSUE: The Hotel Gift Shop/Store was closed on Europe's version of "Labor day" and was also closed on Sunday. We found that very odd.

BIG ISSUE: The Bed. Our Bed was not a King but was 2 Queen Beds pushed together. In addition, it was so hard that it caused me to have significant back pain. When I asked if there was anything they could do about the bed (ie: another bed/mattress/mattress topper pad etc...) I was simply told that I could use the spare bedspreads and blankets in our room and place them under my sheets to add padding. I was told that Housekeeping would do that for me but they never did. It did help some, but still, it was not a pleasant sleep. I spoke to many people in our group who were very dissatisfied with the beds.

ISSUE: I have read other reviews that comment about the noise from construction next door. Depending on the location of your room it can be very significant. Our room was far away from the construction site (2 Million Euro Condos being built) and we experienced some noise but not hugely significant. Others in our group were very bothered by the noise.

ISSUE: Our business requires internet service. We paid for internet service for a number of days during our stay so that we could stay on top of our business and make cheap international phone calls back to the US through SKYPE (great service-Skype- by the way). The internet service was very poor. Although it did work well WHEN it worked, it was very intermittent and could not be depended upon. YOU WILL NEED an ETHERNET cable. Wireless is not available.

My impression of the Cascais Miragem Hotel is that it is an attractive facility, with VERY nice staff but that the level of service that is offered is simply not up to par. A suggestion for the Management of the facility is to staff a Concierge desk with people who know how to meet the needs of their guests even if those needs are not typical of the "standard guest". I ended up feeling as if being an American made me somewhat of an oddity at the Miragem as if our expectations were out of keeping with what a 5 Star Hotel was supposed to be like.

In all fairness, the staff did what they could with what they were given and neither my wife nor I were displeased with the people or their efforts. They were all very kind and hard working. But, the Miragem's overall performance left us wondering where their extra stars came from.

  • Liked — The Views and Location
  • Disliked — Overall Services Offered Seemed Sub-Par
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed for three nights over the Easter week-end. This is deservedly a five star hotel. The service is fantastic, and friendly without being stuffy. Breakfasts are delicious and the bar food excellent. We were offered complimentary champagne on arrival which was a nice touch. The room and terrace were huge and luxurious, especially the pink marble bathroom. The view over the pool to the sea and coast is beautiful.
I used the spa which was top class also.
It is only a five minute walk along the promenade to get to the old town where all the restaurants and bars are, and the train leaves from 2 minutes away to get into central Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

I stayed in the Cascais Miragem in the summer of last year. The hotel is a modern, beautiful building. It is easily the most imposing building along that part of the coastline. The hotel entrance has a large marble driveway and once inside the hotel it is stunning, with a huge marble foyer, glass elevators and a grand staircase. You can park in the secure hotel car park, however it is quite expensive and there are plenty of small streets behind the hotel. The staff on reception are very friendly and helpful. The room was really modern and spacious. We stayed in the deluxe type. It had a large bathroom with double sinks and a separate wet room area. The balcony was large with two nice sunloungers and a stunning view of the pool and sea. I think most rooms have this view as all the balconies are on mainly one side of the hotel. The pool is average size and has an infinity edge and nice views through the glass balcony, of the sea. There are sunloungers and beanbags around the pool, however if you arrived later in the day you often couldn't find one as it was quite busy. A downside is that there is only one pool and the area around it doesnt have any gardens.
Around the hotel several lots of building work were going on, but to be honest it wasn't that noticable. To get to the beach you had to walk 200m along the road to an graffited underpass, then once under another 200m to the actual beach. The beach was very busy, full of mainly portuguese with very few english. There was also an area of parasols, which if you ask at reception you could receive a ticket for so you didn't have to pay. But they were limited and often were all full.
Along the beach front there were several nice beach bars where you could get a snack or an ice cream. For the nicer resteraunts you had to go in the other direction into the centre of Cascais. There you will find a large, varied choice of places to eat.

  • Liked — The spacious room
  • Disliked — The Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Absolutely stunning hotel, room was spotless and very well equipped, bathroom even had sea view, we stayed on the top floor and our balcony was massive plenty of room to sunbathe.
Although there is some demolishing work going on to the property next door it never was a problem as it seamed to be screened off, would certaily recommend this hotel but discounts are available so ask first,

  • Liked — Spectacular view, cleanliness, size of room, staff
  • Disliked — I did not manage to stay long enough!!!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

If you are considering visiting Cascais/Estoril you can not do any better than this hotel as it is excellent in every way.

The rooms are massive and the bathrooms wonderful. The staff can not do enough for you and it is kept spotless. Free internet access, great pool area, fantastic views and luxurious surroundings.

Only negative I would say (and it is a very minor negative) is that if you have children over 7 there is very little for them to do. A pool table or table tennis for the children/teenagers would be a good idea. There is a play room but it is really for much younger children.

Bar prices are too expensive as well, so best to eat and take drinks at a local bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed in the Miragem for 12 nights in July 2007.
Pluses: This is a beautiful hotel. No expense has been spared in the construction of the building, and the public rooms are stunning. The staff were faultless, from the desk to the pool. The restaurant is amazing, though very pricey, but worth it for a special night. Great pool area and plenty of beds. Cascais itself is also a plus, and a great place to visit. Good restaurants (we particularly liked the Indian 'Masala' on the main street Rua Frederico, and especially the Italian place a bit further on the left with the window open to the street (this is a great place to eat). Another plus is the train to Lisbon, which takes 30 minutes from Cascais or Monte Estoril, both stations a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. Lisbon is a wonderful city. We took a taxi to Sintra. We intended to hire a car, but the taxis are cheap, and Portuguese drivers are crazy. Don't go to Sintra on a Monday, as we did, because it's shut.
Minuses: Unfortunately the hotel is next door to the biggest demolition site on the coast. They have to knock down an enormous apartment block (brick by brick with a pneumatic drill)and then they are going to build another enormous building. One Thursday the noise started at 8.30 am and continued virtually uninterrupted until 7 pm. It is very intrusive. We raised the issue with several members of staff and were told that it was worth the inconvenience as the new building would be beautiful - no doubt it will, but this is no place to take a holiday while the demolition and building is going on.
I note the management's comments that the noise is not audible inside the hotel. This is true, and is no doubt intended to reassure the conference crowd which makes up a large proportion of the hotel's business. However, it is no consolation to the people sitting by the pool.
Verdict: We would definitely return to this hotel, but not until the demolition and building work next door has been completed.

  • Liked — Class rooms and very good staff
  • Disliked — The building site next door
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cascais Miragem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cascais Miragem

Address: Av. Marginal N0 8554, Cascais 2754-536, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cascais
#2 Business Hotel in Cascais
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#2 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Cascais Miragem 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the exclusive Estoril coast, the five star Hotel Cascais Miragem is set in a spectacular situation facing the Atlantic Ocean with views over the Marina of Cascais. The 192 elegantly decorated rooms and suites are spacious with all the modern comfort. Relax at the Cristovao Colombo Bar for a pre-dinner drink of Porto or Champagne before dining in the award winning Gourmet restaurant overlooking The Marina. Traditional Portuguese recipes with international influences create trans-ethnic cuisine prepared using only the finest ingredients. Located on the third floor the “infinity edge” of the swimming pool merges with the deep blue of the Atlantic Ocean. All guests have complementary access to the Health Club, Holmes Place, offering over 3000 square meter of cardiovascular and body building equipment studios with different classes and activities: heated pool with views over the ocean, Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and a service of personal trainers. The Zensations Spa at the Hotel opens the door to an intimate world dedicated to the restoration of strength, beauty and balance of the body, mind and soul. The Day Spa features 7 treatment rooms including an Oceanic Suite and a relaxing area with views over the Ocean. You can choose from the last generation of treatments, aesthetic & wellness products and Aromatherapy care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cascais Miragem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascais Miragem Hotel
Miragem Hotel Cascais

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cascais Miragem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.