We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated - living off of its old world top 100 ranking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oitavos Dunes

Oitavos Dunes
Quinta da Marinha, Casa 25, Cascais 2750-004, Portugal
351 21 486 0600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 41 Activities in Cascais
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Overrated - living off of its old world top 100 ranking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Links golf course, back nine much more interesting and challenging than front. However, reception and welcome service was poor, almost rude. We rented golf clubs for 40 euro per day, (we paid 65 for the whole week from clubsforhire.com on the Algarve). One set was short a club and we had to go back to clubhouse to correct even after we asked a staff member if someone could bring out the missing club. Power carts were 70 euros (for 2). While they had lockers, we had to ask if we could use them and where to get keys as help was not forthcoming. Must say that the bar and restaurant service was much friendlier and most helpful. The condition of the course itself was not up to its billing as top 100 either. This place needs a tune-up all round.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    9
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best in Lisbon Area?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

First, an admission. I am very, very fond of links courses where the wind blows and you can, and sometimes have to, play the ball along the ground. I think it provides for a much more varied golfing experience than target golf (lobbing wedge after wedge into parkland-style greens). But, taste is personal...

Second, in rating this experience I am not comparing Oitavos with the best links courses in the British Isles. I guess most of you reading this have either already decided on Lisbon and are searching for golf courses in the area or are comparing Lisbon to different golfing destinations in similar climate zones.

With this in mind, I can wholeheartedly recommend Oitavos and I do so for four main reasons:
1) the layout of the course and the views: many tee shots are incredibly scenic,
2) the conditioning of the course: you can come here when other tracks are wet (not uncommon in the winter) and still not have a speck of mud on you shoes coming in, and
3) the 19th hole: we were very well treated when we had our late lunch after playing and the views are just as great as on the course.
4) fantastic hotel, literally on the course: I played with a PGA Pro scouting out the place and tagged along when he was shown around the hotel. Awesome!

Finally: why the headline?
I have stayed an played a week each at Penha Longa and Praia del Rey and this place easily beats them both on all four counts. The question mark is there because I have not been to enough other places in the area to be absolutely sure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arosa, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice golf - terrible service in the Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We were there with a group of Swiss golfers. Golftreatment was ok and professional, the course is nice and offers good views and holes. At the end we got a very unfriendly treatment in the restaurant, which spoiled the whole experience. A pitty!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

They make a very big deal of this being one of the top courses in the world. To be honest, I didn't see it.

There are some great views and some interesting holes, but nothing extraordinary. The bushes separating lots of holes had recently been burned out, which I presume is a part of course maintenance, but doesn't make for a wonderful playing experience.

At €115 it's not cheap. I would have been happy to save a few bucks and play at one of the other courses in the area again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Links Golf in Cascais”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Enjoyed the golf course very much. Some short holes, some long holes & some tricky holes.

Something for everybody.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oitavos Dunes also viewed

 
Estoril, Lisbon District
 

Been to Oitavos Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oitavos Dunes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.