We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oba Restaurante Obar!

Oba Restaurante Obar!
Edificio de Baia, 2nd floor | Largo de Camoes, Cascais 2750-699, Portugal
969033982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 314 Restaurants in Cascais
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Oba is up above the hustle and bustle of the main square in Cascais. It is a little tricky to get to, next to the Shabu Shabu Sushi and above the Sex Shop! But once you get up to the second floor of the building behind the Hotel Baia you will be rewarded with a beautiful space, great cocktails, fine food for all tastes including 14 vegetarian options. We will give you a warm welcome in a chic, understated alfresco environment. Oba!
South of England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Welcoming and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Only noticed this restaurant from the bay by accident as you need to go upstairs to find it but when we did, both my mum and I were delighted with the welcome and excellent service we received from the outset. Nothing was too much trouble and the waiter went to lengths to ensure we were happy with our table, our choice of wine and the dishes we chose. The food was lovely and we had a great meal.

The table next to us was set for a large group of people and when they arrived, although the noise levels went up (not in a bad way) that was the only difference we experienced. The attentive service remained the same and we felt very looked after.

Style wise, the restaurant has a simple, Portuguese feel to it (no white table cloths or silver service) but if you want a very high quality meal with lovely service and a great atmosphere this is the place to go. Price wise - excellent value for money. 60 euros for 3 courses and a bottle of wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

During our 7 day stay in Cascais we ended up eating here 3 times. We love fish and every dish we tasted was lovely and nicely prepared. There is a very reasonably priced set menu as well but we didn't try it, so can't comment on the quality or portions. The staff are friendly and attentive while the atmosphere is relaxed. Unfortunately the windy evenings stopped us enjoying views from the terrace but I was just as happy indoors. There are many restaurants in Cascais serving similarly priced food but we felt that Oba is a step above in both quality and cooking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I was surprised to see this restaurant, because i have never met it befor, although i live in cascais. I really enjoyed the roof top. It has a beautiful view. The staff was very nice and informative. I personally didnt enjoy the meal very much, not something i would give a high rating to. but in all, it is a nice place, candles and music. Very romantic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Has the potential to be a wonderful place, perfectly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm surprised to see the rating of this restaurant here! I went there for a birthday party, the food was average for the price, and so were the drinks.

The terrace is lovely, unfortunately the day was windy so we could not be in it as long as we would like!

The live jazz music added a nice touch at the end of the dinner.

I will definitely go there again, maybe for a drink at the end of an afternoon, and some light food, probably the place is perfect for that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“A treasure! Exceptional service, ambience, wine, and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A wonderful treasure right by the seafront. Our evening here is by far one of the best memories of the trip.

The menu is full of delicious renditions of classic regional dishes, striking the perfect balance between comfort food and gourmet reinvention. If you are hoping to try authentic Portuguese cuisine, this is the place to come. We especially liked the monkfish and rice, the grilled bacalhau, and the tenderloin potuguese. Thoughtful and tasty vegetarian options are also available. The wines were memorable, the wine-recommendations right on target, and the staff and manager were fun, generous and passionate about their restaurant.


Finally, Oba! Has a charming, casual elegance. The roof deck is beautiful, and a great jazz band sometimes plays around sunset-- a perfect close to a relaxing beach-side day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oba Restaurante Obar! also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Oba Restaurante Obar!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oba Restaurante Obar!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.