We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place , great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oba Restaurante Obar!

Oba Restaurante Obar!
Edificio de Baia, 2nd floor | Largo de Camoes, Cascais 2750-699, Portugal
969033982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 397 Restaurants in Cascais
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Oba is up above the hustle and bustle of the main square in Cascais. It is a little tricky to get to, next to the Shabu Shabu Sushi and above the Sex Shop! But once you get up to the second floor of the building behind the Hotel Baia you will be rewarded with a beautiful space, great cocktails, fine food for all tastes including 14 vegetarian options. We will give you a warm welcome in a chic, understated alfresco environment. Oba!
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place , great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The place to see and be seen friendly staff , great selection of cocktails, quality food and wines. Located on the rooftops of cascais this is THE bar in town. Especially Dave the bar man he knows how not to loose his audience. Even in so called off season it's buzzin OBA !
Try the MDIQ SPECIAL.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great atmosphere, great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

In Cascais for a long weekend, a few friends and I spent a very pleasant evening at OBA last Friday night.

It has quite a small menu but this was explained to me as being a deliberate policy in low season to ensure that quality of produce is maintained. The quality certainly was evident in what we served - excellent food, well presented and accompanied by fantastic (and great value) local wine recommended by the helpful and knowledgeable owner.

The place was buzzing with both tourists and locals - given the time of year, I was quite surprised to find it so busy. Nonetheless, there was plenty of room and the group of folk musicians playing an improvised set in the corner later on contributed perfectly to making the whole evening a truly memorable experience!

The bar is in a great location, set above the pretty streets of Cascais. Friendly and welcoming in the low season, I can see that it would be the perfect place to escape the heat and bustle in high season too - we will be back!

Finally, look out for Dave the bar-man, his pre-dinner cocktail making and London banter were very entertaining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I had a beautiful meal here recently. The menu was quite short as it was end of season but the quality of the food was excellent. We also had a couple of nice cocktails before the meal. Later on there was a guy playing guitar which added to the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Danmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Any food lover have to pay this Restaurant a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Due to my stay in Cascais, August 2012, I got the opportunity to visit Oba Restaurant and I must say that I haven't regret it at any time. The environment and the menu were incredible. The menu and the dishes are very high standard and I liked that the dished they served were special- not like the traditional menu card, you find in all other restaurants. The taste of the food was incredible and you could taste that the chef has put a lot of effort in every detail, to make the dish special.

Simple a place you must visit, whenever you pay Cascais a visit.

Cascais is only 30 minutes drive from Lisboa (It is easy to go by public transport as well)- so whenever you decide to travel to Lisboa I can fully recommend that you spend a day in the beautiful environment around Cascais, Sintra ect. and then you can perfectly finish your day with an outstanding meal at Oba Restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a magical location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Our second time there. First time for drinks, with a wonderful selection of cocktails. I had a Long Island Ice Tea, my wife a Carparinha, but what I liked about the location was the quiet terras overlooking the architectural beauties of Cascais. Really close to the central square, yet without the noise from the square. Also looking out over the beach and the historical center.

The second time we had dinner there. A good selection of Portugese and Brazilian influenced dishes. Also the recommendation on the wine selection was excellent. A relaxing atmosphere, great service, friendly staff, certainly worth another visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oba Restaurante Obar! also viewed

Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 
Cascais, Lisbon District
Cascais, Lisbon District
 

Been to Oba Restaurante Obar!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oba Restaurante Obar!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.